any screen capture software that is free ware and can do 5 min.?

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,776
I am using Screen cast o matic, that gives 15 min. of video

but the software is very slow, is there other choices?
 

kennyluu87

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 4, 2020
Messages
97
FlashBack express is my recommended choice. If not you can use OBS, CamStudio, Captura. Just search open source screen recorder on google.
 

waderunner

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
1,094
nvidia share, if you've got an nvidia card and don't mind installing geforce experience
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,707
I use the one built into Nvidia's GeForce Experience, just need to a Nvidia GPU in your system I believe.
I use it to record my gameplay as well as the desktop if I want to capture some video that I can't capture with video downloaders.
I can record for hours with it.

here is a 5 min clip,
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,776
so I download and install the software. The game I want to capture, it's just a free online facebook game. It doesn't use up the whole screen. Where's the optoin to select screen size?
 

kennyluu87

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 4, 2020
Messages
97
Can you change the save file format from FBR to MP4? if so, how ?

By default it saves it into fbr files. You have to export to mp4 after you edit the video.

Here is the link on how to change the file format to mp4.
https://community.flashbackrecorder...my-recording-as-an-mp4-or-other-video-format-

so I download and install the software. The game I want to capture, it's just a free online facebook game. It doesn't use up the whole screen. Where's the optoin to select screen size?

When you open the screen recorder. Before clicking record. Locate "Area" there is a dropdown menu on the right of it. You can select fullscreen/window/region. Full screen will record the complete screen. Window will allow you to select a specific program or application to record like only recording game screenplay. Region allows you to customize a specific area to record.
 
Last edited:

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,776
so I have finished off test driving the filmora software. It seems that it doesn't have a pause button to temporary stop the recording, so when I play a game, I can pause the game, but it seems to keep recording. Say if I need to use the bathroom or on the phone, then we can't pause.

As to Nvidia Experience, I can't find the AREA drop down menu. I go thru this tutorial, and this guy doesn't say where it is neither.

 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,707
so I have finished off test driving the filmora software. It seems that it doesn't have a pause button to temporary stop the recording, so when I play a game, I can pause the game, but it seems to keep recording. Say if I need to use the bathroom or on the phone, then we can't pause.

As to Nvidia Experience, I can't find the AREA drop down menu. I go thru this tutorial, and this guy doesn't say where it is neither.

ALT+Z brings up the menu
And this only records the entire screen , you can't select an area of the screen to record.
If I need to record a part of the screen, I'll record the entire screen then bring the clip into Adobe Premiere and select the area I want on the export screen.
 

skatieee

n00b
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
3
You can do 10 minutes of screen recording with free version of Bandicam screen recorder.
 
Top