Any of these 1000W+ PSUs any good?

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110

Edit for UPDATE-

Ended up buying Corsair HX1000 (1000W)
___



I am trying to build a work related PC and like everyone struggling to get hold of parts! Some 1000W+ PSUs just came in a shop nothing else available, so I am debating if Be Quiet is a good brand? Normally I have bought Corsair PSUs. Also, what wattage should I get?

A- be quiet! Dark Power Pro 12, 1500W, $400 (Within a month), 7 year warranty
B- be quiet! Straight Power 11, 1200W, $222 (This available now), 5 year warranty

Be quiet recommendation-

PSU2.png

Newegg -

PSU.png
 
Last edited:

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,707
Why are you getting speccing two RTX 3080s? SLI doesn't exist anymore outside the 3090 and good luck getting more than one of any of these cards.

1200W and 1500W power supplies are complete overkill for a single 3080 and a 5950x, unless you plan on loading up your box with mechanical drives. 750W would be fine, 850W at most.
 

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110
Why are you getting speccing two RTX 3080s? SLI doesn't exist anymore outside the 3090 and good luck getting more than one of any of these cards.

1200W and 1500W power supplies are complete overkill for a single 3080 and a 5950x, unless you plan on loading up your box with mechanical drives. 750W would be fine, 850W at most.

I am a content creator, 3D rendering does not require SLI, if I had the money, I would have used 4 x 3080s ;-) All would have got 100% usage when 3d rendering.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: tived
like this

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,707
The 1200W unit will be fine and still have headroom unless you plan on heavily overclocking.
 

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110
As soon as I started this thread the PSUs got sold :-(
Waiting time for 1000W+ PSUs back to June!!!!!

EDIT- be quiet! Dark Power Pro 12, 1200W I can have next month! Shall I get it? $369!


CUTTING EDGE TECHNOLOGIES AND PERFORMANCE
The be quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1200W offers 80 PLUS® Titanium efficiency and world class performance due to fully digital control and frameless fan concept.
  • 80 PLUS Titanium efficiency (up to 94.7%)
  • Fully digital control (PFC, LLC, SR/12V) and full bridge topology
  • Patented frameless Silent Wings fan for virtually inaudible operation at ordinary load
  • Full mesh PSU front with redesigned funnel-shaped air inlet
  • Overclocking key switches between six 12V rails and one massive 12V rail
  • Japanese 105°C capacitors ensure highest stability and reliability
  • Aluminum case and modular individually sleeved cables for magnificent appearance
  • Ten-year manufacturer’s warranty
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,707
If you can get it at non-scalper prices.

It's best to go on reviews of the unit rather than marketing nonsense. I found a few reviews on the unit with a quick Google search and they say it's good.

The "80 PLUS" rating is worthless. As long as you fork over the $21,000 to have your unit tested, it will most certainly pass. Even if it doesn't, Plug Load Solutions doesn't police their standard and take down offenders using fake ratings.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
952
FWIW I just snagged a 1500 Dark Power Pro 12 from Amazon, supposed shipping date April 9th.
My research on German/EU forums suggests it's a very high quality power supply.
 

dvsman

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,495
Did you check eBay? Worth a shot.

Normally, I'd suggest just checking the forums but I don't see anything at the moment. I bought the PS from both of my current rigs from here. One was a Enermax Max Tytan 1250 and the other was an Antec HCP 1300. Both are still chugging along as we speak.
 

Zedicus

Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
948
I know PCPower was the shit back in the day but I though their quality has fallen of. I didn't even know they were still around. Those are some pretty good prices.
there was a time towards the end of OCZ that they had some issues, they are back on top again though.
 

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110
Still have not been able to pull the trigger due to availability issues of various components! This is what I have access to right now in Europe, prices roughly in $ underneath.

Ryzen 5950x + 2 x RTX 3090 will definitely require more than 1200W from what people have told me first hand. As the PC will be for 3d design work, when rendering, the GPU will be working 100%!
So Dark Power 1500W will be the only option.

If I go with one RTX 3090 for rendering and a cheaper 2nd GPU like 1660 to drive the monitors only, then I can go with the lower wattage PSUs.

PSU.JPG
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,707
Gotta be careful mixing and matching GPUs, it often doesn't work properly. Both Nvidia and AMD drivers have expected a homogenous set of GPUs installed in the system, or at least from the same family. All bets are off when running different video card lines and especially from different manufacturers. Nvidia has been caught more than once sabotaging their drivers with hidden mines that cause problems with different GPUs being detected.
 

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110
Gotta be careful mixing and matching GPUs, it often doesn't work properly. Both Nvidia and AMD drivers have expected a homogenous set of GPUs installed in the system, or at least from the same family. All bets are off when running different video card lines and especially from different manufacturers. Nvidia has been caught more than once sabotaging their drivers with hidden mines that cause problems with different GPUs being detected.

Sorry by 1660 I meant something like Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660 to drive the 32" 4k display and something like RTX 3090 or 3080 to do the 3d rendering computation part. In the 3d software I just have to choose that for rendering use the RTX3090. The 4k display will be connected to the GTX 1660, the RTX3090 plays no part in driving the screen.
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,707
It doesn't matter what you're doing with the GPUs, the problem is them being installed in the same physical system. You can try and run such a configuration, but beware of dragons.
 

vegeta535

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
6,559
Still have not been able to pull the trigger due to availability issues of various components! This is what I have access to right now in Europe, prices roughly in $ underneath.

Ryzen 5950x + 2 x RTX 3090 will definitely require more than 1200W from what people have told me first hand. As the PC will be for 3d design work, when rendering, the GPU will be working 100%!
So Dark Power 1500W will be the only option.

If I go with one RTX 3090 for rendering and a cheaper 2nd GPU like 1660 to drive the monitors only, then I can go with the lower wattage PSUs.

View attachment 340944
1200w should be enough at stock settings. If you want to push overclocking then yes you would need a bigger psu.
 

[Spectre]

[H] Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
17,642
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
952
FWIW the Dark Power Pro 12 I ordered on Amazon with initial delivery in April was dropped off today.
So I'd recommend keeping an eye on Amazon and maybe signing up for B&H Photo's Be Quiet PSU notifications as well.
 

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110
FWIW the Dark Power Pro 12 I ordered on Amazon with initial delivery in April was dropped off today.
So I'd recommend keeping an eye on Amazon and maybe signing up for B&H Photo's Be Quiet PSU notifications as well.
My local shop in Europe has Dark Power Pro 12 in stock, both the 1200W one and the 1500W version.
The difference in price is only $40. I am just worried if it really is a good PSU? Also if I end up with one GPU only + Ryzen 5950X won't I waste electricity and efficiency on a 1500W PSU?

P.S- Btw by luck, I just now got notification of my MOBO becoming available. Managed to order ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VIII DARK HERO :) So the new PC building has moved from planing to buying stage!


Stick with SeaSonic; you won't regret it.

That is all good but here they are sold out!
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: noko
like this
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
952
There is no risk of using more power when running a higher wattage PSU at lower load, in fact iirc you actually run in a more efficient region at lower load.

So far the PSU is working out for me - and again, based on looking at some German forums and reviews it looks like the Dark Power Pro 12 is a very high quality PSU.
 

VirtualMirage

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
470
There is no risk of using more power when running a higher wattage PSU at lower load, in fact iirc you actually run in a more efficient region at lower load.

So far the PSU is working out for me - and again, based on looking at some German forums and reviews it looks like the Dark Power Pro 12 is a very high quality PSU.
While running under load this may be true since it puts you into a lower load on the PSU, it could cause efficiency losses running too high of a rated PSU when idling or doing low load work. If you leave your machine on all the time, most of your time consuming power will be idling and low load. Luckily, Dark Power Pro 12 series are 80 Plus Titanium, which to meet that compliance the power supply needs to be at least 90% efficient at a 10% load.

So with the 1200w vs 1500w model, a 10% load would need to be 120w or 150w, respectively. I can tell you that with my machine (R9 3900XT OC'd, RTX 3090 FE OC'd, custom water cooling loop, 11 fans, 3x SSDs, 2x M.2s, and several USB powered devices) at idle I am maybe 100-110w max. My UPS is registering 138w coming from the wall but that also includes my router that is rated for 35w max and my cable modem that is rated at 30w max. I figured if I took that 65w and cut it in half, that is probably what I am averaging between the two, about 35w. Anyways...if I had either of these power supplies, I would most likely be below 90% efficiency most of the day (I haven't seen any sites measure below 10%, so it is hard to say). But I have a Corsair AX1000, which is also 80 Plus Titanium, and is much better sized for efficiency and my needs when it comes to both idling and for full loads.

Many people tend to spend more time focusing on their max load and efficiency but tend to forget what they may be sitting at for majority of the day and what their efficiency will be there. Many may not care, but it can be a challenge to find a fine balance between the two for those that leave their PC on 24/7. I was originally looking for an 850w at the time, but they were all sold out and on back order for the 80 Plus Titanium and even Platinum models. So I ended up going one level up to a 1000w and 80 Plus Titanium.

While I only have 1 3090FE, if going by my max power consumption under load, I don't see why a 1000w couldn't handle two 3090s unless both are heavily overclocked and power limits maxed out. My UPS has only registered around 750w max coming from the wall under peak CPU and GPU load (power limit set to 114% and OC'd, ~405w) and that also included my monitor, router, and modem into that power mix (which are not drawing from the PSU).
 
Last edited:

tived

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
185
I am trying to build a work related PC and like everyone struggling to get hold of parts! Some 1000W+ PSUs just came in a shop nothing else available, so I am debating if Be Quiet is a good brand? Normally I have bought Corsair PSUs. Also, what wattage should I get?

A- be quiet! Dark Power Pro 12, 1500W, $400 (Within a month), 7 year warranty
B- be quiet! Straight Power 11, 1200W, $222 (This available now), 5 year warranty

Be quiet recommendation-

View attachment 330570

Newegg -

View attachment 330571
I would go for the larger units if $$$ isn’t an issue
corsair, evga would also have some contenders

good luck - ohh by the way, are you planning to have anything else in terms of PCIE cards? You only have 24-lanes on the chipset and CPU series, you need to look at Threadripper if you want more pcie lanes

justnso you don’t make the mistake I made 🤦‍♂️
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
2,328
While running under load this may be true since it puts you into a lower load on the PSU, it could cause efficiency losses running too high of a rated PSU when idling or doing low load work. If you leave your machine on all the time, most of your time consuming power will be idling and low load. Luckily, Dark Power Pro 12 series are 80 Plus Titanium, which to meet that compliance the power supply needs to be at least 90% efficient at a 10% load.

So with the 1200w vs 1500w model, a 10% load would need to be 120w or 150w, respectively. I can tell you that with my machine (R9 3900XT OC'd, RTX 3090 FR OC'd, custom water cooling loop, 11 fans, 3x SSDs, 2x M.2s, and several USB powered devices) at idle I am maybe 100-110w max. My UPS is registering 138w coming from the wall but that also includes my router that is rated for 35w max and my cable modem that is rated at 30w max. I figured if I took that 65w and cut it in half, that is probably what I am averaging between the two, about 35w. Anyways...if I had either of these power supplies, I would most likely be below 90% efficiency most of the day (I haven't seen any sites measure below 10%, so it is hard to say). But I have a Corsair AX1000, which is also 80 Plus Titanium, and is much better sized for efficiency and my needs when it comes to both idling and for full loads.

Many people tend to spend more time focusing on their max load and efficiency but tend to forget what they may be sitting at for majority of the day and what their efficiency will be there. Many may not care, but it can be a challenge to find a fine balance between the two for those that leave their PC on 24/7. I was originally looking for an 850w at the time, but they were all sold out and on back order for the 80 Plus Titanium and even Platinum models. So I ended up going one level up to a 1000w and 80 Plus Titanium.

While I only have 1 3090FE, if going by my max power consumption under load, I don't see why a 1000w couldn't handle two 3090s unless both are heavily overclocked and power limits maxed out. My UPS has only registered around 750w max coming from the wall under peak CPU and GPU load (power limit set to 114% and OC'd, ~405w) and that also included my monitor, router, and modem into that power mix (which are not drawing from the PSU).
Most people go way overboard on PSU.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,280
Most people go way overboard on PSU.
Just fried a cheap 1000w PS. Running 3 video cards and system. If one wants better future options, I think going bigger can work out well. Bought a 850w EVGA for an iTX system and at the time running a Ryzen 2700 (65w CPU) and Vega FE (250w). That system now has a 3090 and a Ryzen 5800x, power supply prices skyrocketed to ridiculous pricing in the mean time. I think that PS cost me $89 when bought. Have a 1600w EVGA on the TR system and that cost me around $275 at that time.
 

legcramp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
11,573
Just fried a cheap 1000w PS. Running 3 video cards and system. If one wants better future options, I think going bigger can work out well. Bought a 850w EVGA for an iTX system and at the time running a Ryzen 2700 (65w CPU) and Vega FE (250w). That system now has a 3090 and a Ryzen 5800x, power supply prices skyrocketed to ridiculous pricing in the mean time. I think that PS cost me $89 when bought. Have a 1600w EVGA on the TR system and that cost me around $275 at that time.

What was the cheap 1000w PSU that broke on you?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
2,328
Just fried a cheap 1000w PS. Running 3 video cards and system. If one wants better future options, I think going bigger can work out well. Bought a 850w EVGA for an iTX system and at the time running a Ryzen 2700 (65w CPU) and Vega FE (250w). That system now has a 3090 and a Ryzen 5800x, power supply prices skyrocketed to ridiculous pricing in the mean time. I think that PS cost me $89 when bought. Have a 1600w EVGA on the TR system and that cost me around $275 at that time.
Makes sense for 3x GPU to get a 1KW PSU. I've seen people buying 1KW just for 1 gpu.
 

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110
good luck - ohh by the way, are you planning to have anything else in terms of PCIE cards? You only have 24-lanes on the chipset and CPU series, you need to look at Threadripper if you want more pcie lanes

justnso you don’t make the mistake I made 🤦‍♂️

I will have 1 to 2 GPUs and 1 M.2 drive with my non-existent Ryzen 5950X on Asus Dark Hero Mobo, nothing else, will that be ok?
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,280
What was the cheap 1000w PSU that broke on you?

RAIDMAX Vampire RX-1000GH​

https://www.newegg.com/raidmax-vamp...-watts/p/N82E16817152059?Item=N82E16817152059

The power rail(s) on the board melted through the circuit board, should have taken pictures, glad it didn't wipe out anything. The 20a 230v circuit breaker tripped supplying the computers, not even the overload on the Cyberpower Distribution Unit tripped. Anyways the jest is it is not always the rating on the power supply that is important but quality of that power supply. That power supply was seeing about 700w max when under load.
 

GiGaBiTe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
1,707
Raidmax? More like Failmax. Cyberpower is the same crap tier stuff in my experience. If your PDU didn't shut off, it probably doesn't have any sort of overload protection, or it can't detect fault currents.

If the mains breaker tripped, the PSU probably had current leakage to ground from going thermonuclear and things never designed to cross, crossed.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,280
Raidmax? More like Failmax. Cyberpower is the same crap tier stuff in my experience. If your PDU didn't shut off, it probably doesn't have any sort of overload protection, or it can't detect fault currents.

If the mains breaker tripped, the PSU probably had current leakage to ground from going thermonuclear and things never designed to cross, crossed.
yes, it went nuclear. The PDU has 16A overload Protection, the 20A circuit breaker was able to react faster than the PDU.

https://www.cyberpowersystems.com/product/pdu/basic/pdu20bhvt8r/
 

professional loser

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 22, 2018
Messages
110
As the OP, just bringing this thread to conclusion. I ended up buying, Corsair HX1000 W PSU ($200), it will arrive tomorrow. They got instantly sold out, so luckily I was quick.
For 1 RTX3090 and Ryzen 5950X it will be enough. My original plan of getting 2 RTX cards won't be becoming reality anytime soon, so I did not see the point of getting a higher wattage PSU and made the sensible conclusion of going with a 1000W PSU.
 

Mizzer

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 21, 2021
Messages
143
As the OP, just bringing this thread to conclusion. I ended up buying, Corsair HX1000 W PSU ($200), it will arrive tomorrow. They got instantly sold out, so luckily I was quick.
For 1 RTX3090 and Ryzen 5950X it will be enough. My original plan of getting 2 RTX cards won't be becoming reality anytime soon, so I did not see the point of getting a higher wattage PSU and made the sensible conclusion of going with a 1000W PSU.
That’s the one I have. Bought it after great performance from the HX850W unit. Runs quiet as a mouse fart.
 
Top