any .net developers? a few questions

Leb_CRX

Gawd
I'm currently a PHP developer and looking to learn .net for building software, not web apps...I've toyed around with VB6, but it's been a longgg while...before I begin I just have a few Q's

-seems like WPF is the new way to go for developing software front ends...are there any drawbacks to using it? or 100% FTW?
-is vb.net these days as powerful as c# or does one still hold power over the other?
-what's the most common database used when developing .net apps? with PHP it's all MySQL, so just curious if there's an equivalent.
-is MySQL well supported with .net? anything I should be weary before deciding to use it? limitations?
-is there a good resource for finding .net code around? seems ot be a LOT harder to find resources then PHP ever was? I am guessing cause it's not open source.
-any books y'all can recommend? I just need to know the structure of doing things with .net...I have about 4 years exp with php, so I got it locked down :eek:

There's TONS of .Net code around, more so than even PHP since its general purpose. Yes WPF and Silverlight are the future. Silverlight is cross platform and is a subset of WPF.

Download Visual Studio 2010 Beta 2 as well.

-seems like WPF is the new way to go for developing software front ends...are there any drawbacks to using it? or 100% FTW?

Haven't gotten into VS 2010 much, but at least in 2008 / Blend the designers for WPF have been much weaker than the winforms / webforms.
You're digging into the markup to tweak settings and get the look and layout right.

-is vb.net these days as powerful as c# or does one still hold power over the other?

There may be some performance preferences because the compiler's are different, similar syntax won't always create the same MSIL, but that tends to be very minor.