Anandtech: The Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750FX 750W PSU Review: SeaSonic Quality at Mainstream Prices

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by Snowdog, May 16, 2019.

  1. Snowdog

    Snowdog Pasty Nerd with Poor Cardio

    Messages:
    8,312
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    A review of Mainstream Seasonic PSU:

    https://www.anandtech.com/show/14338/the-seasonic-focus-plus-gold-750fx-750w-psu-review

    SEASONIC_FOCUS_PLUS_GOLD_750FX_04_678x452.jpg
     
    anthrex likes this.
  2. Ur_Mom

    Ur_Mom I'm Not Serious

    Messages:
    19,606
    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Nice. I haven't bought a cheap PSU for myself or any build in a long time. Seasonic is at the top of my list, and it's about all I'll use in my own PC these days. Their reputation and quality is top notch. I bought my first one because of the high recommendations of [H] and haven't looked back.
     
    anthrex and jeffj7 like this.
  3. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    The FP Gold lines are iffy. They are great if you are running lower loads (say 400-600W on the 850Ws). Anything higher and they start to warm up (as mentioned). Seasonic also cheapened out on their new cabling vs the x series Gold line these replaced.


    This being said, I am running a 1KW FP Gold in my sig rig that replaced 2 faulty 850s (they had a problem with current surge with AMD Vegas which would result in the PSU tripping it's OCP and the system hard powering off).

    Seasonic tech support was great, and the upgrade made things better from a feel good point of view.
     
    sleepeeg3 likes this.
  4. Ebernanut

    Ebernanut Gawd

    Messages:
    965
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    I've been using this PSU and the voltage regulation isn't nearly as tight as all the other gold rated PSUs I've used, it's well within ATX allowable tolerances but just a hair outside the tolerance listed in the specs for it.

    It seems like a lot of the gold rated PSUs are getting smaller and lighter so it wouldn't surprise me if many of them are getting worse, it almost makes me want to go pick up a couple of old EVGA G2s before they're all gone.
     
    sleepeeg3 likes this.
  5. TXE36

    TXE36 n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Am I the only one missing a genuine [H] power supply review here?

    -Mike
     
    Wade88, Brian_B, anthrex and 3 others like this.
  6. Niner21

    Niner21 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    I used the 550w version of this in a recent build and it was my first Seasonic power supply. I was impressed with the build quality.
     
  7. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,315
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    I snagged a 1000 watt Focus+ Gold over black friday. It was too good a deal to pass up. It's way overspecced for the build it's meant for and should it make too much noise I'll sell it here cheap.

    Edit
    Egads that's a weak review.
     
  8. AlphaQup

    AlphaQup Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    268
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    My GF is running the FP Gold 650W version on my old 4690k (mild 4.2GHz OC) with a slim 1050Ti.

    Build quality wise, I agree with ccityinstaller, I wasn't impressed with the cables supplied, but everything else has been running just fine with it so far.
     
  9. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    5,677
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Seasonic: PC Power & Cooling who?
     
  10. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Do the cables have capacitors in them?
     
  11. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Never buy a cheap power supply or one that's marketed as "Affordable".
     
    Ur_Mom likes this.
  12. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    They do not from the factory but there are aftermarket sets (think like cablemods) that do have them.

    In fact the OCP issue with VEGA could be negated with aftermarket cables according to SS.

    I forgot to mention that I had to pay $30 via PP to "upgrade" from the 850W to the 1kW unit. I got a new unit, not a refurb but I felt given the 2 failed units and the time involved in troubleshooting, SS really should have given me the 1kW unit free with overnight shipping or let me spend $50 to upgrade to a 1kW Prime Titanium.

    I have used over 4 dozen SS units in builds, and the FP+ were the ones that have me the most trouble. I had an 850W X series die after 4 years of 24/7 use and thry replaced that with a new looking 860W Platinum x series so I was happy with that result.


    The crazy thing is that the 850W Gold X series (it was the last revision they made with that excellent $30 server fan in it)weighs as much as 1.7 FP Gold 850W units.
     
  13. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    5,677
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    I haven't read a PSU review in a long time. Is this actually a thing for extra power conditioning?
     
  14. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,122
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    $110?????? I bought a Seasonic 1KW High end power supply for that much back at the end of 2016! (It was on sale, brand new, from Newegg and I am using it in the machine I am typing on right now.)
     
  15. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,122
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Good thing Seasonic and Thermaltake are not cheap power supplies then. :)
     
    Ur_Mom likes this.
  16. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    They do it on these smaller power supplies to save space. The problem is, they like to fail or give off an electrical whine. Sometimes as stated above and with a few users here they have problems with graphics cards too.
     
  17. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,318
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    They're not, but I'd be weary of their "budget" series models.
     
  18. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,315
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
  19. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,176
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    didn't Seasonic have some issues a few months back with some GPU's under heavy load?
     
  20. pclov3r

    pclov3r Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    People want to blame Seasonic for that one but the issue is AMD. Vega 56 and 64 have stupid transient spikes and OCP was kicking in. Vega 64 was having transients in excess of 40 Amps. I'm thinking it's due to the designs not having enough caps or big enough caps to smooth that out.
     
  21. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    You have first hand experience with Vega? How about 7 of them, and the PSU in question? Do you have an EE degree? I can answer yes to all those questions. The design flaw was Seasonic's issue.

    Did you forget about the issue the SAME PSU had with an Asus GTX 970? You know, an Nvidia branded card?

    It's fine if you are a Seasonic fanboy, hell I was and still mostly am, but I lay the blame where it belongs; at their feet. They gave me a the "upgrade" to the 1kW unit to keep me from pushing back when I debunked every half baked theory they used. Oh 850W isn't enough for 2 Vegas. Well when they are power capped and running at 70% of their rated speed it's enough for double that. I measured the current draw myself with 2 different meters (don't have a 'scope at home anymore since my old hand me down died and I haven't bothered to ship it here from MD to fix it). The cards were drawing within .02A of what the software monitoring was reporting.

    I used a friend's Corsair Ax860 Platinum (which is a Seasonic x860P with Corsair's name on the side) with ZERO issues. When I told SS this, they first tried to tell me it was impossible, but when presented with evidence of it working just fine with the x860W-Plat they themselves send me back as an RMA replacement the denial stopped and they did a 180.

    It's time for the fanboy stuff to die, or these companies are going to keep pulling this stuff and trying to keep it quiet.
     
    SvenBent, Nicepants42 and sleepeeg3 like this.
  22. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    21,106
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    i'm using a vega 56 with the 650w varient of this psu, have had absolutely no issues with it.
     
  23. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    The issues were with the higher wattage units and SS claimed to have made a silent revision so only units made before Jan 2018 had the problem.

    I had 2 fail, including one that was made in April or May of 2018.
     
  24. pclov3r

    pclov3r Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Nevermind delete my post not the argument that likely will start.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2019
  25. Paul_Johnson

    Paul_Johnson [H] PSU Editor & Admin Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,440
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    No, they don't do it to save space and the caps in the cables don't like to give off an electrical whine.
     
    alxlwson, SvenBent and Jim Kim like this.
  26. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    I did not mean to come off super agro, so I apologize for that. I just have a TON of experience with the VEGA uarch and have set up well over 100 of them with 7 of my own.

    SS used every excuse in the book to try to get me to drop the issue, DESPITE their press release acknowledging the issue(s). Blaming VEGA was the lazy way out. The reference VEGA design, which was every one I worked with, would have never been PCI-E certified of that were the case.



    I thought I quoted his reply earlier but just realized I didn't and while you need no back up, I was just going to further add they are used to further reduce ripple. Corsair got a bunch of crap a few years back since their SS based Ax designs used caps and it made the super coool sleeved cables have a funny buldge that the Reddit crowd hated and thought it was due to Corsair being "cheap"....
     
  27. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,666
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I just purchased this Corsair unit a few weeks ago to replace a faulty EVGA 850 B2.
    Is it normal for the efficiency to go over 100%? It seems to do that when under a load like opening a program.

    corsair-hx750i-107percent-efficiency.jpg
     
  28. pclov3r

    pclov3r Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    The problem is it's been well documented that Vega 56 and 64 DO have transient problems. You need a scope to see it as other measurements tools are more then likely not fast enough to catch the transient. We are talking sub 10ms


    Here is a post of it tripping the RM850i in muti-rail mode https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/vega-64-on-multi-rail-psu.418128/

    They got lucky and managed to catch a 47A transient which 47 * 12 = 564 Watts. OCP SHOULD trip in this case since other parts are likely pushing it well beyond rated current for the rail with a lower wattage PSU model.

    Here is a screenshot of somebody testing two Vega 56s in crossfire with furmark having a 102a transient. This is not OK by any means. https://d33v4339jhl8k0.cloudfront.n.../5bf675b22c7d3a31944e3e5c/file-Af5QnaoIYo.jpg

    Blaming Seasonic here is really short sighted IMO.

    Also FWIW Seasonic is only one of the few vendors that sends out retail samples directly from a retailer to people for review to avoid being accused of cherry picking that some others have been accused of doing.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2019
    Nicepants42 likes this.
  29. legcramp

    legcramp [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,786
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Seasonic is pretty much the eVGA for customer care in my experience.. top-notch.
     
    alxlwson likes this.
  30. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    21,106
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    it's most likely a bug in the refresh cycle of the application so that the power in and out aren't refreshing at the same intervals so it shows above 100% efficiency.
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  31. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    That's interesting, and I will investigate further. As I mentioned, my old scope is beck East and while the current meters I was using are great, they aren't the end all of measuring.


    One thing to note is that SS is the ODM of the Corsair RM series unless I an mistaken. I would never use a multi rail PSU with high end GPUs, but that is just my preference. If you balance the load, in theory each rail should have the exact same characteristics. In practice I've seen units that have double or even triple the amount of 12£V ripple.

    I know SS makes 90%+ of the quality "name brand" units. My issue was soley with the FP Gold 850W units, anf their attempt to make m forget my own findings by linking me to a random YouTube video about crossfire power useage anr ignoring their own press release with promises to replace faulty units. They claim it was isolated to a certain bstch but that is not true.

    Also, why hasn't AMD been called to carpet over this? I'm curious to know and thanks for the links .
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019 at 8:47 AM
    Nicepants42 likes this.
  32. pclov3r

    pclov3r Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Last edited: May 20, 2019
  33. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    I'm glad yours has run great. Every other SS unit I have ever purchased has been great. I'm not dinging them for the issue so much as the run around and denial/deflect routine they did when I had the EXACT issue they issued a PR about and claimed they would take care of those of us that had issues.

    The FP+ line also had Much cheaper looking (and feeling) cables vs the excellent X series they "replaced".

    I forgot that Channelwell made the RM series. It was nagging at me this morning while I was waiting for the IV med to kick in for my spine procedure this morning. I just became lucid enough to see letters properly so thanks for fixing my mistake.

    I am happy to say that so far I have not seen an issue with the FP+ 1KW unit and my sig setup, although I am using the much higher quality cabling that came with my X series. SS informed me in writing they were pin compatible and gave me permission to use them if I preferred.
     
  34. Paul_Johnson

    Paul_Johnson [H] PSU Editor & Admin Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,440
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    The focus plus did not replace the X series. The Prime units did.
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  35. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,842
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    The FP+ Gold units were direct replacements for the X series Gold units. This is straight from Seasonic. They are pin compatible cable wise. They slotted the FP+ GoLd units, pre mining craze, into the price bracket of the X series. I know a lot of the news crawlers stated this but you know how that goes.


    The Prime units are all Platinum/Titanium rated are they not?

    Interestingly, I just saw that SS offers a Prime ULTRA Gold which I have not seen much of, but they do seem to be a premium model which would be a proper replacement of the X series.

    As far as SS tech support (I know I know) knows, their line is that the FP+ Gold are the direct replacements for the X series.

    Had I known they offered a Prime ULTRA Gold I would have asked for that as a replacement instead of s slightly higher wattage FP+ Gold unit...:(
     
  36. Paul_Johnson

    Paul_Johnson [H] PSU Editor & Admin Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,440
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Product segment replacement has nothing to do with pin compatibility. The FP Gold units are not X Series replacements.


    No, they are not. For instance: https://www.hardocp.com/article/2018/02/28/seasonic_prime_750w_gold_power_supply_review/
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  37. Jim Kim

    Jim Kim 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,315
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
Tags: