AMD's Ryzen CPUs will launch at or before GDC 2017

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by TaintedSquirrel, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Very nice. Can't wait now. I have some $$ set aside to spurge on a new build.
     
  2. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,592
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Hoping for a ~$300 6core w/ decently priced mobos.
     
    Napoleon and Doodlehed like this.
  3. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Hoping to have a $400 8 core with that Asrock X370 Taichi mobo ~ around $550 - 600 out the door. I'll sell my 6800k mobo and CPU and benchmarks prove to have an edge. Will love to have the extra cores.

    I have the X99 Taichi and its hands down the best X99 motherboard I have used to date.

    I know this will be somewhat of a sidegrade but having something different to play with that hasn't felt the same since Haswell is a very warm welcome.
     
  4. Sulphademus

    Sulphademus Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    150
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Same!
     
  5. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,080
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    That would work very well for my linux based PVR / fileserver upgrade. That is if it supports ECC.
     
  6. OrangeKhrush

    OrangeKhrush Gawd

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    I would be happy with a 4/8 SR3, still think, IPC will be somewhere between Haswell and Broadwell so a nice high clock (4/4.4) SKU would be like a 4790. All a gaming rig needs
     
  7. /usr/sbin

    /usr/sbin Successfully Trolled by Megalith

    Messages:
    4,197
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Hoping for a $300 6 core or $380 8 core with Haswell level IPC or better. If that happens I have my money ready. If not, my 2500K will keep chugging along. I have spare a Sandy/Ivy Mobo as well, so I should be able to use this platform for 3 more years if needed.

    Also, apparently over on Slashdot they are saying 2/29 launch, though who knows how accurate that assertion is.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
  8. Parja

    Parja [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,205
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    I'd say not very considering there is no 2/29 this year. ;)
     
    leadays, CSI_PC, cybereality and 4 others like this.
  9. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,576
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Gonna build an 8 core itx with 32gb ram and 490 gpu
     
    Armenius likes this.
  10. Armenius

    Armenius [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,460
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Actually thinking the same thing at this point.
     
    leadays and tangoseal like this.
  11. Doodlehed

    Doodlehed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    How do they go into production so fast if they're still revising steppings. I don't know anything about that but....Does the foundry do all the work? Do they hold them and then just start stamping out the final revision? I don't know how you can go from final stepping to end user hands in a month?
     
  12. Shintai

    Shintai 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,230
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    They dont. Either you see revisions done long ago or you see future revisions that wont be at launch.

    It takes ~3 months just to make the chips. Then they need to be diffused, packaged and distributed afterwards.
     
  13. buttons

    buttons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,711
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    I thought i read somewhere the low clocked 8 core was $349 -- so a 6 core should be under 300 i would think...
     
  14. Endgame

    Endgame Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    The lower speed chips can also be the earlier steppings depending on yields. Might be why they left everything unlocked for overclocking - good luck getting that low end, stepping 0 chip to overclock in any real amount.
     
  15. bobzdar

    bobzdar Gawd

    Messages:
    928
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    That doesn't matter, the revised chips could have been put in the pipeline 3 months ago and are just coming out now. You can have a new revision come out every other day if you want, the production time has a minor influence on how quickly you can get revisions out of the back end - it only matters if you have a front end of line change that has to be tested at the very back end and has to run at normal lot speed, which isn't common for major revisions - that's usually minor tweaks. If you make a back end metal layer change, the time is much, much shorter.

    They also have high speed lots that process through much faster than that - called 'rocket lots' at the company I worked at when I worked in the industry. They would jump to the front of the queue at every process and usually take 20-30 days instead of 3 months so you could get an early look at process changes or mask changes that occurred early in the line and needed full processing and testing to assess.

    There is also testing through the production process so you don't have to wait for the final product for feedback on a process change in the front of the line. They'll pull some test wafers after gate formation is complete and test changes there, do lithography checks etc. throughout the line so changes can be made at the next batch of lots that flow through instead of waiting to assess once the chip is packaged. So unless you're making a major mask revision at the very front end of the line that requires all following processes to change, requires a back end reliablity study beyond burn in, and for some reason you have other high speed lots taking all of the priority queue spots, you should have feedback in a month or less on any process change. Usually much faster.
     
    Astral Abyss likes this.
  16. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    It does NOT take 3 months to produce a wafer of chips. It doesn't even take 3 months to to produce them and fill the distribution channel. It takes 6 weeks to produce enough chips and fill the distribution channel.The silicon was finalized the end of December and started production the first week of January. There were already samples with higher steps in the hands of preferred AMD customers for testing than those seen at CES. AMD is on top of their game. Every aspect of marketing , production, distribution has been planned and executed with care. Even their leaks are not accidents. This is not the same company it was 5 years ago. It is a much more astute and skilled management with superior engineering leaders in command.
     
  17. Shintai

    Shintai 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,230
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Do you have anything showing its only 6 weeks for mass production? It would be amazingly short in my view.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  18. Mav451

    Mav451 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,115
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Well 'recently launched' is not the same as wide, retail availability.
    So while I'm cautiously optimistic (for something), I'm expecting more of a trickle of information in March.

    That way if it's anything more than just a paper launch, I'll be pleasantly surprised.
     
  19. piratepress

    piratepress [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,163
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    This is the most excited I've been about an AMD CPU in ten years!
     
  20. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Since the release date is somwhere between February24 and Feb 27, It is between 6 to 7 weeks from production that began By January 9th. That date is based on silicon being finalized by January 1 and production being setup by January 9 and then commenced. It is unlikely the silicon was finalized much before December 31. Optimizing the silicon from time of New Horizons demo would have required some time . If you think that production started in December, I am interested on what you base that theiry on. I did not say production lasted only 6 weeks. Obviously it is a continuous process, but on release date the channel has to be full or it would not make sense to release the chip. You want to maximize sales and keep the customer experience positive. If Ryzen demand is wildly higher than anticipated of course that could cause strsins inthe supply chain, but with both Samsung and Global Foundries producing these chips, supply shortages should not be severe. Samsung has plenty of unused capacity in fabrication to rsmp production higher.
     
  21. Shintai

    Shintai 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,230
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Who says the Horizon demo used the latest at the time? Also who says Samsung is producing any of these? Also note that while its the same node, GloFo and Samsung isn't cross compatible due to different tools.

    If you talk about logistics, then distribution centers should have started getting retail packed chips already assuming a late feb/early march release that wont be something almost impossible to get. Same for boards.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
  22. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    I never said New Hoizon used the latest engineering sample, what I said, which is based on Lisa Su's speech at New Horizon that they werecstill optimizing the chip to raise its frequency. There are respectedvsources that sau the chis were finalized by December's end and went for fabrication. You check out semiaccurate.com I am not going have you make m e wade through 3 weeks of posts to find it, but you are dead wrong on this. What you said makes no sense based on statements coming from AMD itself let alone partners associated with them. Samsung if you bother to search is a second producer for Ryzen, as Global Foundries does not have enough capacity to meet anticipated demand. That was an important part of the reason AMD modiied its contract to GF and is paying a handsome fee to GF so that other foundries can be utilized for production. I really don't know where you have been the past 6 months. You may also want to check out Tom's Hardware forums as well. The chips have started shipping by now. They are being made mostly overseas, so it will be 2 weeks before they start to fill the channel.
     
  23. Shintai

    Shintai 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,230
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    The CEO wasnt going to tell you exact specs for a reason. And it got nothing to do with production.

    The Xbox S SoC is made at TSMC by AMD.

    There isn't any indications that Ryzen will also be made at Samsung or that GloFo should be capacity constrained. The CPU only Ryzen products will be a relatively small volume product as well. Its the APUs that will be high volume parts.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
  24. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    What does X Box being made for AMD at TSMC have to do with the orice of tea in China? You are too lazy to check the semiaacurate and Tomshardware threads, then that is on you. You are delusional. Samsung is the the second foundry after GF at this point. whether you believe it ir not. You just can't stand any disagreement with your postulations. I do not manufacture stories nor do I accept the word of others as fact, unless they have a proven record of being correct and obviously have sources close to AMD as they are in the industry and have extensive knowledge.
     
  25. Shintai

    Shintai 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,230
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    If you wish to show something, link it.

    Xbox S is manufactured by AMD at TSMC and not Glofo as example to the WSA amendments you refer to.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
  26. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,333
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Same here, I kept my 3200mhz CL14 RAm from the Skylake machine and sold the rest, got a nice budget kicking around for a Ryzen CPU and board. Wonder when we'll see the Asus offerings.
     
  27. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Fottemberg, who is a regular poster on Semiaccurate and is somebody who has an extraordinary record of accuracy in his statements about semiconductor fabrication and AMD strategies, states that Ryzen will be fabricated at Samsung because Polaris , soon to be Vega, and soon to be Naples server chips will tie up a good portion of the capacity of GF 8 Foundry located in Saratoga County, NY. He states that in order to avoid any bottlenecks in Ryzen production there that AMD will use Samsung foundries. There is one poster there who disagrees but his arithmetic regarding the capacity at GF 8 and the estimates of volume of products being produced there now are suspect. Fottemberg has ties to the industry that have led to many accurate estimates of various events with AMD and Intel over the years. I trust his judgement above others.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2017
  28. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 Gawd

    Messages:
    771
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Not saying you are wrong but that sounds funny to me. I though Naples was an MCM of 4x Summit Ridge dies. If that's the case they wouldn't need separate wafer runs for Naples; only the binning, packaging and testing would differ.

    Unless of course they expect to get better results from GF and want to save the good chips for the pricey parts
     
    Shintai likes this.
  29. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    If that is the case why does Naples support quad core memory unlike Sunmmit Ridge ? They probably will get better results at GF. They have made great strides over the past 3 years, especially since they acquired IBM's foundry in Fishkill, tens of thousnds of IBM patents, and all their skilled engineers. Staff morale is at an all-time high. Samsung has zero experience with server chips and zero experience building large core cpu's.I expect willsend some consulting engineers over to Samsung to aid them in the production process.
     
  30. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 Gawd

    Messages:
    771
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Its 4x SR dies on one package, 2x memory channels each. It actually has 8 channels worth of memory controller between them and recent articles still rumor that. In example:
    http://wccftech.com/amd-zen-naples-server-cpu-vega-gpu-platform/

    They have already been doing similar stuff with older Opterons
     
    Shintai likes this.
  31. Sodapopjones

    Sodapopjones [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,314
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Waiting to see what the 4/8 and 6/12 part can do as well as what the OC'ing on the B350 boards is like, If the clockspeed isn't much better, may as well just pony up for the 8 core, X370 chipset and not worry for another 5 years lol...
     
  32. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    I expect you will be disappointed with B350 boards for overclocking. Their power phase control is likely to be inadequate for the vrm's. Best bet is the x370 boards. Gigabyte has an 8x2 phase board their top of the line "gaming" board. I am sure when Asus gets off their asses and announces their Sabertooth and ROG x370 boards they will be top overclocking boards for Ryzen. Do NOT expect 4.6 GHZ overclocks on the octacore Ryzen. That is most likely idiotically optimistic hype. My best guess is a custom loop will at best reach 4.4 or 4.5 GHZ. This has to do with the thermal wall that the 14 LPP process produces when climbing above the optimal range. When I give these clock speeds I am exclusively talking about a stable clock at full load like on the Intel Burn Test. Otherwise your overclocking is just foolish bragging rights and would probably degrade your cpu in a few months of use. You do NOT want to heavily overvolt these chips. If you are buying a $500 cpu; unless you are wealthy or simply foolish you do not want to damage the cpu.
    I do think later on there will be highly binned hexa core and quad core chips. I am not sure about them being available right off the bat.
     
  33. TheLAWNoob

    TheLAWNoob Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    I have overclocked a FX6100 to 4.8Ghz using 1.74V on custom loop. Mobo was Asrock 970A with 4+1 phase.

    The B350 mobos will be fine.
     
  34. Sodapopjones

    Sodapopjones [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,314
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Unless I am reading this wrong, this reads like a lecture, and that I'm idiot that doesn't understand how oc'ing works, and has never read anything related to Ryzen. I mentioned the B350 boards because it looks like the ASRock B350 Gaming k4 is going to ship with 8+1?, and I believe the Gigabyte Gaming 3 is 7+1, which piqued my interest. My current board is 8+2...
     
  35. Doodlehed

    Doodlehed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    I overclocked my 4100 to 5ghz on the stock cooler. I don't have screenshots anymore because that was over half a decade ago. It's not amazing.
     
  36. TheLAWNoob

    TheLAWNoob Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    275
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Notice the 1.74V with a 4+1 phase on a budget board. It was my daily clock/voltage fore a few month before I got a 5.1Ghz 3770K.
     
    Sodapopjones likes this.
  37. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,333
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Still no word on Asus motherboards?