AMD™ Ryzen© Blender® Benchmark Scores™©® Thread

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,283
3930K 4.2ghz //// 01:25:88
980ti was significantly slower... over 2 mins and something. I quit out of shame. It could be a setting somewhere though.


3930k 4.6ghz 01:04:59

Clocks matter but this Sandy Bridge is geting too damned slow.
 
Last edited:

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,283
No, Ryzen plays ball with the 8-core broadwell-E, stock versus stock.

No that is not accurate. The 6900K has turbo enabled and the Zen did not have it enabled. It would have been even more faster if AMD boost were enabled.
 

Tup3x

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
1,888
I guess this is why the difference. Also understandable for live testing since faster but they should have clearly said what setting they used.

https://forums.anandtech.com/thread...zen-benchmarks.2482739/page-116#post-38629977
CatMerc said:
b6cc8f9b_zensample.png


Mystery solved. I managed to extract a clear enough image from PCPer's video, and although I could clearly see 100 from just zooming in, I did my best to enhance the image.
 

Tup3x

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
1,888
That makes my 3930k go from 1:08 to 34s, which is too good compared to the presentation results.
It's still not 100% sure what settings they used. This at least explains part of it.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
25,190
Decreasing to 100 samples made my i7-4770 go down to 49.89 seconds. Took 55.51 seconds on my Titan X, 95 seconds at 200 samples.
 

Brent_Justice

Moderator
Joined
Apr 17, 2000
Messages
17,755
i7 4770K @ 4.6GHz / DDR3 1600

@ Render Samples 100

37.85 (37 seconds)

----------------

@ Render Samples 200 (Default)

1:14:51 (1 minute and 14 seconds)
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,141
Default Blender settings

I7 6700 stock speeds: 1:21.92

I7 6700K @ 4.6ghz: 1:06.53
 
Last edited:

fs123

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
132
The OP should change the settings to include the render samples = 100. Most people will be running at default of 200 and thinking that Ryzen is twice as fast as anything out there.
 

Motley

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,445
Well I think we are still waiting for AMD's response to the sample size question. So everybody just calm down. Kyle needs some sleep!
 

JHefile

Necrophilia Makes Me [H]ard
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
1,180
The OP should change the settings to include the render samples = 100. Most people will be running at default of 200 and thinking that Ryzen is twice as fast as anything out there.
Maybe that is the smoke and mirrors.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,141
The OP should change the settings to include the render samples = 100. Most people will be running at default of 200 and thinking that Ryzen is twice as fast as anything out there.
At setting of 100, everything else default, I7 6700K at 4.6ghz 3000mhz ram gets: 00:33.17

Wouldn't that be faster than Zen? My 4core processor kicking some too then.
 

SvenBent

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
3,269
1:55.75

Intel Core I7 930
8GB DDR3 1333Mhz CAS9 Triple Channel (4 modules though)
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,141
Blender crashes on the FX9590 machine :cry: . hmmm wonder if Blender is a good stability tester?
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,690
I did it for shits and giggles on my 4.4ghz G3258 and got 3:53.74.

lolol.

edit: 1:57.13 at 100 samples.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,690
Because I am an idiot who is easily amused, I ran it on my G4400 dual core and my GPUs. Everything is stock for all four runtypes.

GTX 780 Ti - 2:52.39
i7 2600k - 2:05.15
G4400 - 4:54.02
GTX 1050 Ti - 1:59.27

hmm.. my 760GTX 4gb just beat your 780ti. That's wacky. I got 2:21.65
 

Harney

n00b
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
3
1.14 with 200
38 with 100

4790k 4.6

How ever did have a nvidia driver crash a couple of times ....strange as system as been stable for years
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
25,190
Blender crashes on the FX9590 machine :cry: . hmmm wonder if Blender is a good stability tester?
I've had a few crashes on my sig machine, as well. I also got my first ever blue screen of death in Windows 10.
 

Nimisys

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 20, 2000
Messages
19,237
51.45 for my 2600k with the 100 sampling. Bittersweet score to be honest. It's still a respectable time, and yet even the latest and greatest don't seem to be worth the idea of upgrading any more :( having it be 3-4x faster is noteworthy, maybe 1.5x is significantly less so.
 

DejaWiz

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
21,040
i7-3770K running stock with process priority set to real-time for Blender 64bit



RYZEN Blender 2.png
 
Last edited:

Shogon

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
374
blender scores.png


Top is default blender; bottom is adjusted to 100 samples. 5820k @ 4.3 GHz 3200 MHz memory
 

razor1

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 14, 2005
Messages
10,120
Blender crashes on the FX9590 machine :cry: . hmmm wonder if Blender is a good stability tester?
I've had a few crashes on my sig machine, as well. I also got my first ever blue screen of death in Windows 10.

Damn that sux, I haven't gotten a blue screen of death yet with Windows 10 outside of a really old system with the win 10 anniversary edition but that was due to a hard drive failure.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,141
Damn that sux, I haven't gotten a blue screen of death yet with Windows 10 outside of a really old system with the win 10 anniversary edition but that was due to a hard drive failure.
I will try tomorrow with SLI off, maybe a conflict.
 
Top