AMD Sempron M100?

Zachstar

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,407
I was browsing the blog sites when I came across this article http://www.engadget.com/2009/10/13/compaq-cq61-does-15-6-inch-screen-and-real-processor-for-399/

I have to admit I am quite interested in this system and if it runs cool enough it would make a very nice alternative to my power hogging PC when I just want to do internet stuff.

I expected the CPU to be some single core 65nm random name like many other cheap laptops. However the info I am getting on this core is very limited.

AMD Sempron M100 seems AMD is relying more on more on recognition from its desktop cores to sell notebook cores but that is besides the point. The point is there is almost no solid info I can find on this core. Add to that the confusion of someone saying it is a 45nm dual core and I am drooling on the keyboard in cautious anticipation of its low heat and power.

Can anyone post some solid info on this?
 
Last edited:

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
honestly.. you would probably be better off with an atom dual core.. should use less power then the sempron.. sadly the northbridge thats used with the atom processors uses more power then the processor its self even at full load.. the IGP on that systems nice but if your just looking for a web browsing laptop.. then the atom is the way to go..
 

Zachstar

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,407
Not for HD video it isn't. And sadly netbook makers take advantage of Ion's image to jack up the prices on netbooks that use it. No I am perfectly content with a notebook with a good screen with a good GPU and enough power to do Hulu (If the dual core part is true)

I would love to use Atom if there was not so much taking advantage going on. Get a "Cheap" atom and you have a hot and noisy northbridge that brings your computer to a crawl at even the mention of flash. Or go with Ion and price gouging.
 

Zachstar

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,407
Thank you for the info.. Tho I really think it would be worth 399 if it had dual core. No biggie tho. Its still a nice core!

Ill pass that compaq on by for now. If it drops to 300 I will buy it. In the meantime I think I need to atleast be on the lookout for Ion
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
Not for HD video it isn't. And sadly netbook makers take advantage of Ion's image to jack up the prices on netbooks that use it. No I am perfectly content with a notebook with a good screen with a good GPU and enough power to do Hulu (If the dual core part is true)

I would love to use Atom if there was not so much taking advantage going on. Get a "Cheap" atom and you have a hot and noisy northbridge that brings your computer to a crawl at even the mention of flash. Or go with Ion and price gouging.



true not for HD video.. but as far as flash goes.. it actually has nothing to do with the system and everything to do with the way adobe screwed up the flash player.. instead of having the option of hardware accel its forcing the player to use hardware accel even if the system doesnt have an IGP/gfx card that supports it.. easy fix is to right click the flash player go to settings and uncheck the hardware accel and the problems solved.. had to do this with all 6 laptops in my house.. drove me friggin insane as well..
 

stainremover

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
2,839
honestly.. you would probably be better off with an atom dual core.. should use less power then the sempron.. sadly the northbridge thats used with the atom processors uses more power then the processor its self even at full load.. the IGP on that systems nice but if your just looking for a web browsing laptop.. then the atom is the way to go..

there aren't any notebooks / netbooks that use the dual core atom. they all use the single core version to keep prices down.
 

Eva_Unit_0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2005
Messages
1,991
true not for HD video.. but as far as flash goes.. it actually has nothing to do with the system and everything to do with the way adobe screwed up the flash player.. instead of having the option of hardware accel its forcing the player to use hardware accel even if the system doesnt have an IGP/gfx card that supports it.. easy fix is to right click the flash player go to settings and uncheck the hardware accel and the problems solved.. had to do this with all 6 laptops in my house.. drove me friggin insane as well..

I find the opposite to be true (though my systems are linux systems so the linux flash player may behave differently). I find that flash lies and ignores the hardware acceleration checkbox, so I have to force it on in the adobe config file and it performs much better.
 
Top