AMD Ryzen Master

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by primetime, Jan 21, 2019.

  1. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Anyone here ever really use this tool? Manually turning on PBO seems helpful in boosting the clock speed. So many ways of achieving the same results? Any harm in raising or maxing PPT, TDC or EDC values?

    Honestly I think all these apps are confusing to learn lol
     
  2. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,584
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    I use it on my laptop (acer helios 500), works very well as there are no bios oc options.
     
  3. Hakaba

    Hakaba Gawd

    Messages:
    585
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    I used it for a day or two, then just went back to the BIOS for all my normal tweaks. Now I just use it for a few minutes making sure the settings made earlier have taken place and/or to see core speeds/vcore.

    I don’t know your board, but for the CH VII setting PBO and Level 4 OC will max out all the mentioned values (also vcore spikes to 1.6 something). I seem to gain a few points in CB but go from 60-70c to 85c in those runs. So I leave it on level 3 with a negative vcore offset of .05 or so and it generally works well for me.

    Also I might be crazy but I feel having Ryzen Master open has a negligible performance hit while benching.
     
  4. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    cant get it to work with my HP Envey 360 and Ryzen 7 2700U......Says unsupported cpu before startup and i guess they dont work with moble cpus? what cpu that laptop have?
     
  5. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    well i dont get 100% stability with that setting...of course i would use it for an easy overclock otherwise. (seems like the bios mentions its not good for every cpu)
     
  6. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,584
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    It has a desktop r7 2700 and b450 chipset. The bios is very sparse, can't even set memory timings but with ryzen master they can be tweaked to a degree.

    It's tricky because if you get the timings wrong you can get stuck in a boot loop - I went a little too aggressive and it would get to windows and crash and there was no way to revert the settings in the bios. I had to pull half of the memory out to get it to boot and reset timings in ryzen master. If it fails to post it will revert mem timings after 3 failures, the issue is if it posts but then fails to get back into windows. There are also limitations - can't go over the rated mhz (so stuck at 2400), command rate is auto (1T for 2 dimms, 2T for 4) etc. But I was able to tweak down to cas14 from 17 and oc to 4.0 all core via ryzen master.
     
  7. TangledThornz

    TangledThornz Gawd

    Messages:
    588
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    I use it, don't have to play with the BIOS which is nice though I didn't turn on PBO. Don't think I need it just yet.
     
  8. dook43

    dook43 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,914
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    I use it for my 2700 on X370.
     
  9. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    oh its definitely not needed since these cpus are really good as they are
    that makes sense....my laptop is really just a travel ready backup anyway....my cpu benchmark scores on my primary desktop always seems slightly on the low end with cpuz or userbenchmark but i admit in the bios is set to default versus the 4 built in overclock settings...Enabling PBO with Ryzen Master seems to put it closer to expected performance levels or slightly over. This cpu has twice the power of my overclocked x5670 i upgraded from and even then i didnt really feel like it was cpu bottlenecked.

    Sure its not needed.....but it is an easy boost in performance