AMD Ryzen 1700 on the Test Bench Under Water

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,693
The "other" project this weekend. Getting three systems fully qualified, stress tested, and ready to ship out to Brent for real world gameplay testing. No one does it as good as he does, especially not me! So I will be turning that over the master and he will be working his magic on it. 2600K at 4.5/2133 - 7700K at 5/3600 - 1700X at 4/2933

CPU Test Systems.jpg
 

WhoBeDaPlaya

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
2,485
^ Pretty impressive lineup! My 2500Ks and 3570Ks can't do >= 2133 for sh*t :(

That 7700K @ 5GHz / DDR4 3600 is absolutely going to wreck things though - almost makes the other two seem like one-legged men in an ass-kicking contest :eek:
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,693
^ Pretty impressive lineup! My 2500Ks and 3570Ks can't do >= 2133 for sh*t :(

That 7700K @ 5GHz / DDR4 3600 is absolutely going to wreck things though - almost makes the other two seem like one-legged men in an ass-kicking contest :eek:
That is a brand new CPU I just took out of the box. Did 5GHz/3600 at 1.38v vCore, but was bumping into the high 80C range, so I delidded it last night. Knocked ~20C off the temps.
 

deaedius

Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
973
Surgical tweezers.... I should have thought about that awhile ago when I have started repairing bad pins on the CPU socket. I have repaired 5 mobos using a pair of X-Acto knives.... Thank you for supplying the link, just ordered the surgical tweezers!
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,693
Does that make two 7700Ks that you've managed to get to 5GHz so far? Also, assuming that the 80C is under Prime95 or some such?
Yep. Running Prime95 for a short period of time, not beating on it for hours. I don't think it would have been stable without re-TIMing it however. It was getting hot quick.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,693
Surgical tweezers.... I should have thought about that awhile ago when I have started repairing bad pins on the CPU socket. I have repaired 5 mobos using a pair of X-Acto knives.... Thank you for supplying the link, just ordered the surgical tweezers!
Those have come in handy more than once. I just make sure to keep those in the box they came in so they remain sharp.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,693
Meh I was giving you a hard time, when I moved I kept my computer case box and the box my computer case was shipped in. Then I used a combination of duct tape and packing tape for it. I've never send a stack of 3600 dominator before lol
Hehe I get it. I spent $11 on an extra wide roll yesterday. I am a sucker for Home Depot.
 

ChoGGi

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
1,492
Surgical tweezers.... I should have thought about that awhile ago when I have started repairing bad pins on the CPU socket. I have repaired 5 mobos using a pair of X-Acto knives.... Thank you for supplying the link, just ordered the surgical tweezers!
You can get some cheaper (and esd protection) ones from ifixit, I prefer using the angled ones for fiddly electronics.
https://www.ifixit.com/Store/Tools/Precision-Tweezer-Set/IF145-060-2
Probably not cheaper if you have amazon prime (I'm in Canada, it ain't worth it here).
 

Trimlock

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
15,196
Been using tweezers like that as well as a laptop flat head screw driver for years. Got them in a laptop repair kit 18 years ago when I started working at a mom and pop computer repair store.
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,638
I bought a brand new Asus V10 which is a $600 motherboard for a build this past year only to start the build and see a few pins bent in the socket. I called around and finally found a jeweler that would attempt to bend them back which I believe he successfully did. He used a very high powered watch makers microscope looking thing with very bright lights and a flat needle or something.

In the end after 4 motherboards I had to send the CPU back to Intel, a 6950x which I got back 8 or 9 days later
 

sir-gold

Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
931
I bought a brand new Asus V10 which is a $600 motherboard for a build this past year only to start the build and see a few pins bent in the socket. I called around and finally found a jeweler that would attempt to bend them back which I believe he successfully did. He used a very high powered watch makers microscope looking thing with very bright lights and a flat needle or something.
That sounds like a good (if a bit pricey) solution. A jeweler or watchmaker is the one person who will definitely have the tools and steady hands to do it.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,693
Kyle, did it look like lapping the IHS on the 1700x would be worth doing?
No. That thing is pretty damn flat. I would suggest keeping that warranty intact for a while before I started sanding on the CPU.

One thing I have found working with GBT 370X Gaming 5 is that the system comes on the second you go to lock the CPU in the socket. That said, you should NOT be installing the CPU into a board even plugged into the way at all, but I do lots of stupid shit around here. I have done this twice now, and both times expected to "fry" the CPU for whatever reason.
 

ecmaster76

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
1,150
Interesting. My B350 Gaming 3 comes on about 5 seconds after I hit the power button :p

Its not that bad really but the first power on after assembly it felt like a LONG time before I finally got the post screen. Not sure if was nerves or a long first boot training routine.

I actually often do minor work on the system plugged in but with the power supply switched off. That way the case is grounded.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ole-m
like this

ole-m

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
452
Interesting. My B350 Gaming 3 comes on about 5 seconds after I hit the power button :p

Its not that bad really but the first power on after assembly it felt like a LONG time before I finally got the post screen. Not sure if was nerves or a long first boot training routine.

I actually often do minor work on the system plugged in but with the power supply switched off. That way the case is grounded.
I sometimes fail to identify my computer being on, and the R7 1700 at stock speeds doesn't seem to be noisy either.
Unplugged parts on live system far far far too many times on my bedroom computer as it's hilariously quiet...
 

Chris_B

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 29, 2001
Messages
4,995
Any vids on the way with ryzen? Find them interesting to watch :)
 

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,643
I sometimes fail to identify my computer being on, and the R7 1700 at stock speeds doesn't seem to be noisy either.
Unplugged parts on live system far far far too many times on my bedroom computer as it's hilariously quiet...
Lmfao that 'oh shit' feel when you realize afterwards eh xD! I pulled a GPU once like that, before they had power feeds with the LEDs on the back to make it obvious. Was a pretty expensive (at the time) X800XT! Passive system, double sided case with no spinning rust on mobo side... easy mistake to make. Worked fine though.
I manually hot swap HDDs every now and then, usually run one SATA line in that configuration.



Can't wait to see gaming and application testing once things are patched. Seeing a good paste application is like art. Best one I ever did was on a opteron record attempt, did all the tricks.
 

WhoBeDaPlaya

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
2,485
You haven't lived until you've hotflashed a BIOS that you f*cked up.
Was a heckuva lot more common in the days before dual BIOSes.
 

otherweeb

Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2016
Messages
860
"Anyway, I got to thinking about the durability of these sockets. I went to the Intel spec and found two rather surprising points:
- the LGA 1150/1155 processor package is rated for 20 insertions
- the LGA 1150/1155 socket is rated for 15 insertions"

https://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=108422

Sucks to be a hardware review site. Intel probably cut materials and extended CPU lifecycle and return freqency by removing pins and dumped the problem on MB manufactures. After having broken pins I try to leave them alone after insertion. I hate to imagine tossing your favorite test bed MB after 15 trys.
 

FrgMstr

Just Plain Mean
Staff member
Joined
May 18, 1997
Messages
49,693
"Anyway, I got to thinking about the durability of these sockets. I went to the Intel spec and found two rather surprising points:
- the LGA 1150/1155 processor package is rated for 20 insertions
- the LGA 1150/1155 socket is rated for 15 insertions"

https://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=108422

Sucks to be a hardware review site. Intel probably cut materials and extended CPU lifecycle and return freqency by removing pins and dumped the problem on MB manufactures. After having broken pins I try to leave them alone after insertion. I hate to imagine tossing your favorite test bed MB after 15 trys.
What those are rated for and how long they will work are two totally different things. The issue with those sockets is that you need to be careful with them. If you are, I would suggest they will last hundreds of insertions. Just like a good girlfriend.
 

Trimlock

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
15,196
"Anyway, I got to thinking about the durability of these sockets. I went to the Intel spec and found two rather surprising points:
- the LGA 1150/1155 processor package is rated for 20 insertions
- the LGA 1150/1155 socket is rated for 15 insertions"

https://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=108422

Sucks to be a hardware review site. Intel probably cut materials and extended CPU lifecycle and return freqency by removing pins and dumped the problem on MB manufactures. After having broken pins I try to leave them alone after insertion. I hate to imagine tossing your favorite test bed MB after 15 trys.
The LGA socket doesn't have much friction as it sits on top of a pad.

My current Z97 has had the CPU removed maybe 50 times now and its ok.
 

sir-gold

Gawd
Joined
Jan 19, 2006
Messages
931
I manually hot swap HDDs every now and then, usually run one SATA line in that configuration.
SATA was designed to be hot swappable. If you look at the connectors, some of the 'pins' are longer than the rest, so that the grounding pins make contact before the power or data pins do.
 

rvborgh

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
87
interesting reading... kind of reminds me when i blocked sanded the primer on my project car, painted it and then wet sanded the entire thing to 1500 grit... i am going to have to wet sand the 4 noctuas that i have on my system as i noticed that they were slightly concave....

How does it do on Intel Burn Test? Total stability?
 

Zarathustra[H]

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
30,295
interesting reading... kind of reminds me when i blocked sanded the primer on my project car, painted it and then wet sanded the entire thing to 1500 grit... i am going to have to wet sand the 4 noctuas that i have on my system as i noticed that they were slightly concave....

How does it do on Intel Burn Test? Total stability?

I was under the impression that Intel Burn Test was pretty much deprecated, much like how we don't use Furmark for stability testing of GPU's anymore.

I used to use Intel Burn test as I could discover instability with it more quickly than with Prime 95, but these days it's prime 95 for the CPU, and rendering benchmarks like Unigine Heaven for the GPU
 
Top