AMD RX 5700 XT Anniversary Edition Freezing

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by Durvelle27, Aug 11, 2019.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Alright guys i'm having an issue where every game i try to play either doesn't load or freezes and glitches. Has anyone else experienced this with the 5700 (XT)
     
  2. viivo

    viivo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Uninstall old drivers with DDU in safe mode? Monitoring temperatures? Re-seat card in PCI-e slot?

    If yes, it probably needs to be replaced. There have been other threads about defective AEs.
     
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Ran DDu twice, Temps hit around 60*C, card seated properly
     
  4. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,310
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I had random issues with mine. I sent it back to Amazon. I'm not sure if it was a defective card or a driver issue on my end though.
     
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    I think it could be a driver issue

    BO4 refuses to even launch
    WW2 i got through 1 game. exited than launched again and it crashed when AMD overlay tried to come up
     
  6. THUMPer

    THUMPer 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,008
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    It's probably drivers. There are a ton of issues they are working on. Next public driver will be soon and should fix these stability issues.
     
  7. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,310
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I was leaning toward it being a driver issue also. In my case, I sent it back because I didn't want to be a beta tester for them. and by the time they get the driver issues sorted out I could get a card with a better cooler. Overall I think it will be a good card in a few months.
     
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    It seems to really crash when wattman is used
     
  9. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,310
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I had the EXACT same problem. I was trying to undervolt it and it kept crashing so I ran it at stock and then it would only crash half as much.
     
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Yea I also noticed if I don’t touch wattman I can get a game like B04 to run than after a match it freezes
     
  11. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,703
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Well, for what its worth I took the graphite paste off and found that it was BARELY getting contact with the GPU. I did the GN mod with paste and boom 10c reduction in temps. I do think this could attribute to stability issues.
     
    Dayaks likes this.
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    I might try that but no paste right now
     
  13. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,650
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I have zero issues with my Sapphire RX 5700, other than the fact that 3D Mark 11 and Vantage does not work, it blacks screens and although the keyboard is not locked up, the computer has to be hard restarted. Games work fine and Freesync is working great. Therefore, I believe you are dealing with a hardware issue.
     
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Possibly but google search shows a lot of others experiencing the same issues
     
  15. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,650
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Since Timmy Joe of Youtube also had issues with his AE card, I wonder if they are having a bad batch?
     
  16. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    I just saw and stated this

    Enabling Enhanced Sync may cause game, application or system crashes on Radeon RX 5700 series graphics products

     
  17. Centauri

    Centauri [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    19.8.1 dropped today.
     
    kirbyrj likes this.
  18. fightingfi

    fightingfi Look at Me! I need the attention.

    Messages:
    2,567
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    im curious what brand is it ?
     
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    AMD

    It's directly from AMD
     
  20. Centauri

    Centauri [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    OE'd by Sapphire though, I believe?
     
  21. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    To be exact its a AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT 50th Anniversary Edition


    67739606_363793900956389_8653899746097758208_n-jpg.jpg

    67648414_2844048385611094_2889890842720337920_n-jpg.jpg
     
  22. Centauri

    Centauri [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Yes but AMD manufactures nothing at this point. Last I'd heard Sapphire has been AMD's OE for 'house brand cards' for over a decade.
     
  23. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,703
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
  24. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    I just went by what the box stated
     
  25. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    416
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    I hate to hear that as I been playing with my RX 5700 since Saturday and I have had no issues on 17 . 5 . 2 but now I have 19 . 8 .1 installed with quick FS run http://www.3dmark.com/fs/20139458

    As you can see I am all AMD also on 350B .. All fresh windows install cmos wipe out , bios , chipset , windows updates and Corsair TX 650 as my XFX box says 600 watt min for my card as maybe single amp 12v rail needs to be 52+
     
  26. AMD_Mickey

    AMD_Mickey n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Hey there. I actually just messaged you on Reddit. If you want to send me a PM I can help take a look.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  27. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,928
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
  28. sabrewolf732

    sabrewolf732 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,927
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Install 19.8.1 and see if you're crashing, seems to have gotten rid of my random locking up during apex legends issue/.
     
  29. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,225
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    I don’t really use Reddit much

    But it seems the issue is isolated to wattman and enhanced sync


    If either is configured system freezes

    So I can’t adjust clocks nor fan curves
     
  30. AMD_Mickey

    AMD_Mickey n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Our software team is aware of a potential issue with Enhanced Sync and Radeon RX 5700 series and is investigating a resolution. Does your issue happen even with Enhanced Sync disabled?