AMD Radeon Software Crimson Edition 15.11.1 Update

HardOCP News

[H] News
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
0
AMD has released the new Radeon Software Crimson Edition 15.11.1 update that addresses the overheating issues we told you about this weekend. Reading the patch notes, in addition to the overheating issue, this update contains a laundry list of UI and game fixes as well.

Resolved Issues with AMD Radeon Software Crimson Edition 15.11.1 Update
  • Star Wars™: Battlefront - Snow flickers in a few locations in the game
  • Star Wars™: Battlefront - Sky rendering may be broken in some game locations
  • Fallout 4 - The compass may flicker during gameplay on AMD Radeon R9 390 series products. We continue to investigate the issue with AMD Radeon R9 290 and AMD Radeon R9 295X2 series products
  • Star Wars™: Battlefront - Shadowy textures are visible around hills/structures/caves
  • Just Cause 3 - Texture corruption may be experienced during gameplay
  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 - Poor AMD Crossfire™ performance may be experienced
  • The driver installation may fail while installing the ACP component
  • The font size in Chinese language installations may be too small
  • The label range values in some AMD Freesync™ installations may be incorrect
  • The Radeon Settings dropbox does not close when it is clicked on a second time
  • The AMD Overdrive™ fan settings is always set to ON after first edit on reboot
  • Language shows up as Chinese Simplified when Chinese Traditional is selected in Windows® 7
  • Radeon Settings crashes on the Display tab when cloning a display via HDMI on some notebooks
  • Overdrive™ fan speed is reset to Manual on exiting from a 3D game or application
  • Radeon Settings does not get upgraded in some install scenarios
  • AMD Overdrive™ cannot revert to default settings in some situations
 

Blind Man

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
408
Pretty impressed with the number of bug fixes, figured they would hotfix only the fan speed issue. Glad to see they fixed the FO4 compass flicker, my wife was complaining about that one :)

Edit: NVM. Flickering not fixed in FO4 on a 390...
 
Last edited:

TechLarry

Can't find the G Spot
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
30,483
Still don't see any fixes for WoWs. Pass until they fix it.
 

ir0nw0lf

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
6,403
^^ Gotcha, didn't realize the person was referring to just that. :cool:
 

The Mac

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 14, 2011
Messages
4,492
looks like now its only fixed for 390x, 390 pro still has the flicker...
 

The Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
2,972
I rolled back to the 15.11.1 Catalyst drivers. Too much hubbub about these new Crimson drivers plus World Of Warships was unplayable for me with the new Crimsons...
 

TechLarry

Can't find the G Spot
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
30,483
I rolled back to the 15.11.1 Catalyst drivers. Too much hubbub about these new Crimson drivers plus World Of Warships was unplayable for me with the new Crimsons...

Yep. WoWs is very broken under Crimson.
 

dewbak75

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
252
If I don't want to lose the game-specific settings I've put in the Crimson software I currently have installed, do I just install this new version over top of it?
 

Lith1um

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
2,906
Like the first crimson release, this driver does not respect the "Position Windows Taskbar" setting after a reboot with 3x1 Eyefinity.

As soon as I start the CP after a reboot the taskbar instantly positions itself where I left it.
 

suiken_2mieu

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
2,910
Like the first crimson release, this driver does not respect the "Position Windows Taskbar" setting after a reboot with 3x1 Eyefinity.

As soon as I start the CP after a reboot the taskbar instantly positions itself where I left it.

I've had that issue with every driver release since they added the feature.
 

Joga

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
392
GPU-Z and Afterburner both report this driver version as 15.8 (9.14.10.01162), though Radeon Settings itself reports it as 15.30.1025.1001-151129a-2 which would seem to be correct.

In any case, I wasn't really having any fan issues (though I have a manual fan curve set by Afterburner), though I do have a flickering compass in Fallout 4, which is still present in this version on my HD 7950.
 

R0nnieW00d

n00b
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
24
These drivers are garbage not only did they not fix AC4 the broke elite dangerous for me....drops frame rate around planets. But of course 14.4 drivers fix both....im not sure why anyone should upgrade
 

eloj

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
Messages
3,612
They're still doing the language detection wrong, apparently looking at the keyboard layout not the actual system language.

And of course, no way to change it within the control panel.

Sigh.
 

Blacklash

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
1,893
2560x1600 VSR is working well with these drivers on my old 7970. I've things from SweetFX piled on it too. FPS cap seems to be behaving properly as well. I've been gaming @ 1170|1600, that seems fine for most things with SMAA. I use a custom fan profile so the card peaks @75C.
 
Last edited:

Creepin_D

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
1,218
Installed this driver with a fresh install of windows 10. So far everything is working as it should. :D
 

Zuul

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
850
Only issue I'm having is youtube videos blacking out after a few minutes...maybe something else but this has been happening a few drivers back.
 

{NG}Fidel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
6,286
Try a fresh reinstall of the drivers. I had an issue with the extra settings that only appeared once. Went away with a fresh install.
 

moussaka

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
253
Only issue I'm having is youtube videos blacking out after a few minutes...maybe something else but this has been happening a few drivers back.

I've been having issues with YT videos starting black and not displaying video until I refresh the page. Audio is fine. This is on my HTPC using just onboard video. Not sure if this is the same problem as you are having, but it may not be the drivers?
 

Zuul

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
850
I've been having issues with YT videos starting black and not displaying video until I refresh the page. Audio is fine. This is on my HTPC using just onboard video. Not sure if this is the same problem as you are having, but it may not be the drivers?
that is exactly what's going on: audio works just fine but video goes black after a few minutes...I'm using firefox and donno what to do.
 

moussaka

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
253
I use chrome so it isn't a browser issue. It also doesn't happen that often for me. Maybe 10% of the videos I watch show up black until I refresh.
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
15,190
My R9-290 under win10 is still unusable with 2 DVI + Displayport. I get 2d tearing after a day of sitting idle. 3d gaming crashes (any game). disabling the displayport output in the drivers fixes both issues. 2 DVI + displayport worked for over a year in win7+older drivers.

Booting linux with the opensource driver & sitting at the desktop = no tearing while all 3 monitors are connected...

Sure looks like crappy drivers to me.
 

chanchan

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 14, 2005
Messages
482
My R9-290 under win10 is still unusable with 2 DVI + Displayport. I get 2d tearing after a day of sitting idle. 3d gaming crashes (any game). disabling the displayport output in the drivers fixes both issues. 2 DVI + displayport worked for over a year in win7+older drivers.

Booting linux with the opensource driver & sitting at the desktop = no tearing while all 3 monitors are connected...

Sure looks like crappy drivers to me.

I had the same issue with just 2x1440p panels, and I ended up just buying a different video card. Looks like the 2D profile doesn't clock high enough and as a result you get underflow corruption. I had a R9-290X, with 2x1080p no issues at all, once I upgraded the panels it didn't provide enough bandwidth with the memory clock profile.
 

AMD T-type

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 26, 2002
Messages
4,591
I won't be upgrading to Crimson until they fix the Fallout compass glitch for my 290 :(
 
Top