AMD Presents New Horizon

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by HardOCP News, Dec 13, 2016.

  1. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,442
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Nope.

    Run Broadwell-E at 8C/16T at 3.2GHz, and scored 33% faster at altered 100 sample rate....this still does not come close to what was shown by AMD today.
     
    Reality and Ieldra like this.
  2. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,442
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    I used the version of Blender that AMD specifically says to use for the benchmark; 2.78.

    *You will need to download Blender 2.78a 64bit from: https://www.blender.org/download/

    If AMD cannot even get instructions correct......
     
    Shintai and Ieldra like this.
  3. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    100 samples isn't enough to explain it either. Unless the 6900K under performed massively.
     
  4. Ieldra

    Ieldra I Promise to RTFM

    Messages:
    3,543
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    No, the problem now is the 6900k's performance (based on AMD"s numbers) is totally anomalous based on all the other tests lol.
     
  5. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    AMD better have a very good explanation. Or they simply did like they did the last 10 years and straight out lied. The BF1 (GPU limited) and Dota 2 (Rigged to hell) gaming session wasn't exactly confidence inspiring.
     
    FrgMstr likes this.
  6. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,442
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Yeah, it only took us about 12 hours to get to the bottom of that. Hopefully we will hear from AMD tomorrow on the specifics. But I have to say.....WTF!?

    Does AMD know how many people WANT to be on its side?

    I get it.

    I am a tech "journalist" so I tell the facts and then give you subjective and objective analysis. But I want AMD to win. But this bullshit...is bullshit.

    <redacted>This reeks of Roy Taylor.</redacted>
     
  7. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,442
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    I smell an editorial brewing. Damn shame that AMD has banned me from all events, I could have asked them on-site. Let's give AMD a chance to answer via email however. Maybe it is just a simple thing.
     
    TaintedSquirrel and Ieldra like this.
  8. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016


    This one just raises further questions. Different times than from the live demo. And why is the 95W Zen system drawing so much power vs the 140W 6900K system. Both uses around 180-190W.

    ~34 seconds from the Live demo is now ~25 seconds.
     
    Peter2k, Ieldra and FrgMstr like this.
  9. stashix

    stashix Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    344
    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    May I ask how? I didn't watch the stream, it started kinda late CET.
     
  10. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Stuttered as hell on a 7700K because they made sure the load from 3rd party application (streaming) was locked to cores with high enough priority. Dota 2 can run with 60 FPS on an old Core 2.

    One CPU got 8cores/16 threads, the other 4/8. Now tell 3rd party app to use 7-8 threads and run at a higher priority than the game.
     
    EuphoricRage470, stashix and Peter2k like this.
  11. Hitti2

    Hitti2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    My i7-3770k oc'd with small bus speed over clock. Win7 x64 cpu parking disabled. GonFdQt.png
     
  12. c3k

    c3k 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,101
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Halving the time of the Blender tests because they used 100 cycles instead of 200, seems to be a simple thing. I imagine that whoever set up the demo picked a number. In a large organization, I highly doubt that the same person who checked the "100" box for the demo was also involved in linking the Blender download to the community. The default 200 selection versus using 100 in a demo is not some sort of conspiracy. After all, BOTH cpus used the same setting. This is just a friggin' minor communications issue. One guy didn't know that the other guy changed a default.

    Select 100 runs, try your rig, then compare to the demo. (Or, just cut all the published times using default values in half.) C'mon. This is taking a molehill and bulldozing it into something it isn't....
     
  13. Peter2k

    Peter2k Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    309
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    And here I was thinking something like this on the first page

    Sigh
    AMD, really?
     
  14. Ieldra

    Ieldra I Promise to RTFM

    Messages:
    3,543
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    The 100 vs 200 doesn't even come close to explaining the discrepancies. Read the thread.
     
  15. Hitti2

    Hitti2 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Ok, been reading up on another overclock site, I guess amd used 100 samples while above quote is 200 samples...

    New results of 100 samples. Lol... Man I would'nt pay 1000+usd for a cpu that is 15 seconds faster in rendering etc... My i7-3770k is just fine... blender 100samples.jpg
     
  16. Tup3x

    Tup3x [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    With 100 samples I get 46,69 seconds, yeah sample size doesn't explain it. 3770K @ 4,4 GHz, RAM @ 1600 MHz 9-9-9-24 1T.
    ryzen.jpg
     
    Peter2k and Hitti2 like this.
  17. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,542
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    This is the kind of under-handed gimmickry bs that I absolutely hate.

    It's too soon to call AMD out but where there is smoke there is fire.

    Maybe I am jumping the gun here?

    The 6700K dota2 stuttering seemed like absolute BS to me. Who is buying this crap? And why would AMD do this? Why not just run some benchmarks and if it's even or under then be honest about it. Compete on price if you can't compete on performance.

    Has anyone here been to Microcenter? The AMD motherboard section is ... TINY .... the locked case with the AMD cpu's .... fully stocked, all the time ... for years.

    At this point I hope Intel just comes out and beats the living shit out of them on price and shuts them down. I could care less about competition if it means one side is always bs'ing around.

    For the time being, I'm going to just hold my tongue and see what the reviews says. In my heart of hearts I wish AMD would just release something, anything that beats AMD or Nvidia.
     
    Shintai and Peter2k like this.
  18. Nihilus1

    Nihilus1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    441
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    1:26 for an E3-1245 running at 3.6 Ghz. About what I expected. Not the best but better than I will need for a long time.
    rizen.PNG
     
    oldschool_7522 likes this.
  19. DejaWiz

    DejaWiz Oracle of Unfortunate Truths

    Messages:
    19,203
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Blender 64 bit results on my sig rig...without the OC (everything dialed back to stock clocks).

    1:51.08 normal process priority.
    1:43.66 real-time process priority.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2016
  20. Peter2k

    Peter2k Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    309
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Mmm
    There are 2 things for me here

    For normal people, eg customers, it would be enough that Ryzen would come close enough in a comparable workload
    No one was actually expecting something that would flat out kill Intel

    We were all just hoping for a close enough
    So BS'ing isn't very helpful, nor does it them any good word of mouth wise

    But I can see why they would do it
    AMD is being traded on the stock market
    Making things look incredible might bump the value of AMD stocks, even if it's just ever so shortly lived



    Waiting for credible 3rd party benchmarks
    And the prize point for Ryzen
     
  21. [MADHACKER]Weapon

    [MADHACKER]Weapon [H]Lite

    Messages:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    [​IMG]

    1 second slower then AMD's chart, 8 seconds faster then the live test. 6900K system in my sig.
     
    N4CR likes this.
  22. oldschool_7522

    oldschool_7522 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
  23. Criticalhitkoala

    Criticalhitkoala [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,700
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Dont know if I fucked up something on my end and didn't do anything special. I just downloaded blender, opened the file, and clicked render and this is what I got.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. gamerk2

    gamerk2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,643
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    AMD can't afford to compete on price; investors are expecting Zen to return AMD to profitability. If it fails to do that, AMDs stock tanks again, and its highly likely they either go through restructuring (Chapter 11) or start selling off entire divisions (The GPU division comes to mind).
     
  25. oldschool_7522

    oldschool_7522 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
  26. oldschool_7522

    oldschool_7522 n00b

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Gotta love those E3 xeons, I7 performance for I5 prices.
     
  27. SimianRob

    SimianRob [H]Lite

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Assuming that they were running the latest version of Dota 2, this idea that someone running a core 2 duo could get 60+ fps isn't accurate, as 7.0 which was just released a few days ago introduced all sorts of cpu performance issues even for those running high end hardware. Not that I necessarily buy into any of these live demos for getting an idea on performance anyway. So much debate and so much trolling around basically a "sneak peek". Wait for the reviews once everyone has the hardware next year :)
     
  28. Nihilus1

    Nihilus1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    441
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    If the 6-core Cannon Lake or Coffee Lake or whatever fuck the next mainstream desktop CPU is called is not compatible with my existing 1151 Xeon board, I will DEFINITELY be going back to AMD.
     
  29. billabong132

    billabong132 Gawd

    Messages:
    768
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Do we know if the windows version of blender is compiled against openblas or intel mkl? I'm guessing not unless you compile yourself.
     
  30. Tup3x

    Tup3x [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    I guess certain someone from AMD doesn't like to hear the truth.
     
  31. Factum

    Factum [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Bull, I stream to...from the same PC I play on...shadowplay only gives 1-3% drop in FPS...stop the FUD!
     
  32. Brent_Justice

    Brent_Justice Moderator

    Messages:
    17,755
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    New Result with Render 100 Samples - 37.85 (37 seconds, that's a huge difference for me, don't understand what that means or why mine went down so much)

    I ran it twice, second run at 100 Samples was 37.48

    So I put it back to 200 just to double check, and it's 1:13.98 at 200 Samples

    For whatever reason, that samples is making a whopping difference on my system.

    So yeah, I am consistently getting 37 seconds at Render Samples 100
     
    DejaWiz likes this.
  33. bpizzle1

    bpizzle1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,110
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Interesting. So the graphic provided by AMD looks like it might be accurate, then. Now I want to know wtf they were doing that caused a 10 second difference in their live demo.

    FWIW, I got ~58.5s last night with my 5820k @4.4. That was with WoW running in the background along with several other programs, so it's in line with others' scores at 200 samples.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2016
  34. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,308
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    I found this after some searching:

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/patrick...onstrations-and-product-details/#6cb657c51411

    "These systems were otherwise identical except that one system was running on AMD’s new 8 core Ryzen processor while the other ran on Intel’s i7-6900K processor. Both systems ran their processors on stock air coolers, meaning that there isn’t any unfair cooling advantage for one chip or the other. Both processors ran DDR4 2400 memory, however the Intel system ran in quad-channel while the AMD system only ran in dual-channel since the Intel system is capable of quad-channel, and that is theoretically the fastest configuration of the RAM."



    edit:

    Now Reddit has a slide with system specs, and it seems the Intel had dual channel, not quad:



    https://i.redd.it/r39v4xwzre3y.jpg

    Looks like Forbes screwed up...
     
  35. c3k

    c3k 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,101
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Upstream it was commented upon that successive runs needed a restart to flush the cache, otherwise subsequent runs had faster times than the first run. Brent or Dan did that (restarts) and had consistent times within .1 second. Without the restart, the times varied by 10s of seconds.

    I suspect that may be cause of the live demo difference to which you're referring. (Unless I've misunderstood your post.)
     
  36. SighTurtle

    SighTurtle [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    I hope someone sent them a email, maybe they can answer with a response once they get into the office.
     
  37. Imhotep

    Imhotep Gawd

    Messages:
    777
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    What are you guys talking about both systems in the demo were about a min. She even says that these tests take about a min to complete before we start. Every test done so far by us falls directly in line with what they have shown. Are we watching the same thing. Or are you just on something...lol
     
  38. Brent_Justice

    Brent_Justice Moderator

    Messages:
    17,755
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    The "minute" remark was in relation to the Handbrake test.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  39. lolfail9001

    lolfail9001 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,509
    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    At AT forums the version is that default Blender setting is 128. So, will anyone give it a shot? Since 100 samples clearly get close enough to demoed system, i believe that one should get it close to livestream version.
     
  40. Imhotep

    Imhotep Gawd

    Messages:
    777
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    No, Blender