AMD Presents New Horizon

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by HardOCP News, Dec 13, 2016.

  1. razor1

    razor1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,155
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Sorry had to be more precise with what I stated It had to be PII which introduced MMX extensions (also enhanced SSE 2 and 3 extensions too) they would have needed that for 3dnow
     
  2. aztekk

    aztekk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Both introduced with Pentium 4. Original SSE first came out with the Pentium III.

    PII was the first to come out with MMX, although the P5-based original Pentium got it later the same year.
     
    razor1 likes this.
  3. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,904
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    p1 had mmx first, in oct 96.
     
  4. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,904
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    p1 had mmx(p55c) in oct 96, p2 came out in may 97.
     
    J3RK, razor1 and aztekk like this.
  5. aztekk

    aztekk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    You are correct. Makes sense that the Pentium MMX (P5) would have had it first, why would they update an old architecture after release of a new one.. probably my bias towards PII which ran my first Windows PC, I loved that chip :D

    SSE2 and 3 was in P4 first though.
     
    razor1 and pendragon1 like this.
  6. razor1

    razor1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,155
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    MMX (1996)
    3DNow! (1998)
    SSE (1999)
    SSE2 (2001)
    SSE3 (2004)
    So it must have been PI they revised engineered? Something isn't right, cause there would have been no way for them to get the other extensions to work....

    When was AMD's first x86 license from Intel, that was with the A 64 right?
     
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,904
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000

    I remember this distinctly as my family got our first real pc spring of 97. it came with a p1mmx 233 and then a month later the p2 dropped :grumpy:
     
    aztekk likes this.
  8. razor1

    razor1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,155
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Ok K7 had SSE, MMX and 3Dnow!

    It was released in 2000 right? This is what I remember,

    now for them to have SSE, they would have had to reverse engineer PIII, which was the first to have SSE. Since AMD could not have a licensee for the new extensions (Intel wasn't allowing AMD to get these) and the old x86 patents were running out at that time.

    So Nexgen reverse enginnered P1 for their front end for their nx586 and for their nx686 which was used in K7 was from PIII.
     
  9. Nathan_P

    Nathan_P [H]ard DCOTM x2

    Messages:
    3,375
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    I don't normally benchmark but just for shiggles I did on this occasion, a pair of x5670's did it in just over 36 seconds.

    Zen.jpg

    I could try it on a pair of 12core ivy bridge xeons........
     
  10. Gideon

    Gideon 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,295
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    According to that article I linked the 486 was the last processor reverse engineered by AMD.
     
  11. Jaquile

    Jaquile n00b

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Dota2 was running smooth on the 6700K. They swung the camera around and showed the players screen and it was aok, the monitor behind the player was displaying the player's stream, and it was the stream itself that was unable to keep up with the load.

    (Upper left is the stream, lower middle is realtime. The stream is on ~15 second delay)
     
  12. Gigantopithecus

    Gigantopithecus [H]ardOCP Case Reviewer

    Messages:
    1,364
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Hey dudes, "it's" means "it is," and "its" is possessive. If you're gonna rag on AMD for typos, then try not to fail yourselves. :p
     

    Attached Files:

    Armenius, J3RK, Zuul and 1 other person like this.
  13. c3k

    c3k 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,099
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Your write.

    :)
     
  14. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,872
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Definitely looking forward to the release and my purchase of Ryzen, formally known as Zen. :) The only thing is I will have to watch what I spend, I cannot just throw around money willy nilly. (Well, I could but I cannot afford too. :D )
     
  15. os2wiz

    os2wiz Gawd

    Messages:
    543
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Agreed. This is an expensive upgrade for me. I have an FX 9590 that I had picked up 2 years ago for $199. It is running on my Asus ROG Crosshair Formula Z motherboard with 16 GB of G.Skill DDR3 2400 (lowest latency) . So I already bought the lowest latency G.Skill DDR4 3200 (32 GB) 2 16 GB sticks. Its laying on my computer disk with a Samsung NVME M2 950 Pro 512 GB ssd. Just waiting for x370 boards to come out and Ryzen. I think the rumored $500 price point for the enthusiast octacore is probably accurate more than that will retard sales seriously. Less than that would be unprofitable. I figure the silicon will be finalized just after CES 2017 in early January. It will take a month after CES for it to to get into the channel for availability. I will not buy it the first 2 or 3 weeks. It will be in short supply and will be overpriced. I will probably buy it in early March when the channel will be better supplied. I wil sell of my G.Skill 18GB DDR3 dram , FX 9590, and ROG Crosshair board for about $350, a very fair price, to cover some my upgrade expense. The only thing I hate is having to reinstall all those applications and games. it will take a week.
     
  16. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,904
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    I bet not. at least id try it. by the time you go to upgrade, the zen drivers will all be integrated into crimson and your system will be ready to go. you will have to reactive windows for sure but I bet the driver just re-initialize for the change and work. ive changed between chipsets that use the same driver plenty of times without issue. if youre planning on redoing the system onto nvme anyways, id plug in the drive and let it boot just to see what happens.
     
  17. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,925
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Shiggles... I like it but its more fun to spell it out.

    Wow, you're going all in already! GL.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  18. Damn Dirty Ape

    Damn Dirty Ape [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    1:01 in my sig system. Stock speeds.