AMD Fury series coming soon.

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by frunction, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    If you're talking about my post it was directly from Joe Macri a few weeks ago.
    As for people guessing performance... Meh, what else can we do right now? :D
     
  2. Wag

    Wag Gawd

    Messages:
    945
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    I'm going to be owning this card for at least 2 years. I need to know for certain if 4GB is enough for 4k to last for today's and tomorrow's games. I don't want to buy a Fury and find out I'll need to upgrade again in another year.
     
  3. TDSlam720

    TDSlam720 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Is HardOCP an Nvidia shill site?
     
  4. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,790
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    AMD got blasted for the poor cooling solution on the R9 290X launch. So that they chose water because cooling is important it is not all bad given that they can see how much is really needed for HBM and good performance.
     
  5. The Mac

    The Mac [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,492
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    nope, them id believe

    PC Perspective? not if my life depended on it.
     
  6. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,129
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    I saw this comment coming. Well, you know, any site with frame times. Or at least minimums or something.... I don't see how people can say "4GB is fine!" At least mark it up as a possible risk until we see some reviews. I'll play devil's advocate, if 4GB is ok at PCPER possible AMD users would really know it's ok. :)

    Well they should at least say it's a guess. I went off searching earlier today thinking it was for real! Like AMD actually released some useful information.
     
  7. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,728
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    I know what heat output is. What you're describing is not heat output but heat management =].
     
  8. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Hexus' article implies they already have the Fury X reviewed? Waiting for NDA to end? Possibly...

     
  9. gar818

    gar818 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,336
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    4gb of ram is dissapointing, 6gb 980ti looks much better
     
  10. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Bigger is better!!!!
    10in PCB > 6in PCB!!!!
     
  11. TDSlam720

    TDSlam720 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2015..._980_ti_video_card_gpu_review/10#.VYC7GEaUIhQ

    "At 4K though 4GB of VRAM is clearly not enough. At 4K you want at a MINIMUM 6GB. It is possible though that more may actually help as you start increasing the number of video cards in SLI. 6GB might actually not be enough for some games in 4K when SLI is involved, we will see. "
     
  12. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1041669708&postcount=239
     
  13. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    As has been said many times before, if you're not thrashing then you're not out of VRAM.
    I will never care what MSI Afterburner says... Never.

    I'd also wait to see them test an HBM card, specifically. When HardOCP tells me their 4K performance is suffering on Fury X due to VRAM limitations, then I will grab my pitchfork. But that will not happen. ;)
     
  14. The Mac

    The Mac [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,492
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    what his this to do with HBM?

    when [H] says 4GB of HBM is not enough, then ill believe it.
     
  15. Dirty Butler

    Dirty Butler Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    293
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Now to see the water block announcements! Don't let me down Aquacomputer
     
  16. Creig

    Creig Gawd

    Messages:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Hell, 4GB was enough for 980 SLI right up until the point where we found out that the Fury X would come with 4GB and the 980Ti would have 6GB. Then 4GB became a problem.
     
  17. The Mac

    The Mac [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,492
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    this

    if you have more memory, a good memory manager will use it, and free it up when necessary. Windows Server does this for example.

    This does not imply that just because a game is using 6GB of memory that its necessary.

    Releasing assets from memory requires process cycles, no need to spend them unless necessary, or there is idle process time.
     
  18. Tuxon86

    Tuxon86 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    4gb may be great for gaming, but if you do 3D modelling that extra 2gb of the 980ti will make a difference.
     
  19. The Mac

    The Mac [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,492
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    then you should be using the pro cards, not a gaming card.
     
  20. Tuxon86

    Tuxon86 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Not on my budget. Plenty of people doing 3D work use gaming GPU. Go to CGSociety for example and check what people are using.
     
  21. madgun

    madgun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,766
    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Again, you dont make sense at all. I am saying, if technology or process allowed AMD to add more memory, they would have easily added more.

    Why do you think the 390X has 8GB whereas the Fury has 4GB? It has nothing to do with AMD's performance goals. But to their own admission, they couldn't do it which is absolutely fine for now.

    What I don't like is how fan boys present BS facts and lie blatantly.
     
  22. x3sphere

    x3sphere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,625
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Not really, a lot of people criticized the 980 for only having 4GB. Many of us figured it wouldn't be enough eventually.

    4GB is well matched for 980 in a single GPU configuration, but not SLI - imo.
     
  23. The Mac

    The Mac [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,492
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    im sure there are, but they are using a product for which it is not designed.

    Expect issues.
     
  24. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    There is no technical or hardware limitation to why they couldn't put 6 or 8 HBM stacks on an interposer. That is all I am saying and that is a fact.
     
  25. AceCR42

    AceCR42 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,948
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    So those Fire Strike 5K/8K benches posted all over... where exactly did they get the 3DMark Score?

    There is no official preset for 5K/8K, so they must have calculated it manually. And if they did, their score for the 290X is extremely off (it actually ends up at around 1600). Not to mention 4GB VRAM is enough for Fire Strike Ultra at 5K.
     
  26. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,139
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    So are all the AMD fans here saying that people that buy a 4k display will be fine with fury x in crossfire in all games without hitting a vram wall? If so, quote this post so we know who you are.
     
  27. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Sure, I will say that. Since you left a loophole.
    Edit- Let's see how long it takes for you to find it.
     
  28. dccmadams

    dccmadams [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,010
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Another Fury X graph

    [​IMG]
     
  29. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,139
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    The fact that you're looking for a "loophole" shows you have no confidence in your assertion or the product.
     
  30. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Not at all. I didn't need to look for it, it found me because your "challenge" is absurd.
    Or because I'm not so naive to believe that there may not be a one or two fringe cases where it might cause a problem?
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2015
  31. FrameBuffer

    FrameBuffer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    pretty much sums it up right there..

    remember way back when 7970 6GBs were out and some of the very same people where like '4GB (680) is plenty enough' or 2GB 680 vs 3GB 7970.. and on and on..
    Edit:
    some of just a FEW quotes:

    http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1039011490&postcount=6

    http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1038944965&postcount=3
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2015
  32. jackstar7

    jackstar7 Gawd

    Messages:
    568
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    You know he's not the one making these right? We leave that to the people with tinier hands.

    But seriously... what are you getting out of asserting that dual-Fury owners will regret it... at some point...? It's their money. No one is shaming you for spending yours.
     
  33. jwcalla

    jwcalla 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,629
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    The preliminary benchmarks don't seem so bad IMO. Both for the 390X and Fiji cards. I think AMD probably isn't happy that it had to price the Fury X as low as it did, but whatever.

    We'll see what the game benchmarks show.
     
  34. madgun

    madgun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,766
    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Can you please support your argument that says AMD didn't have any difficulties. Then was cost the only reason to add only 4Gigs?
     
  35. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Day9 is killing the PC show.
     
  36. lee0539

    lee0539 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,804
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    It is enough vram for most people i will say but people going multiple cards on high resolution especially games not well optimized will have issues. So yes for most people it is enough. Im planning sli or xfire on somewhat high resolution so i dont want to take the risk
     
  37. madgun

    madgun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,766
    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Hopefully we can see apples to apples between 980 Ti Hybrid and Fury X. That would keep all the things consistent.
     
  38. LurkerLito

    LurkerLito 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,128
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Just remember, nothing is ever enough in technology. No matter what you buy now it won't be enough eventually. 4GB will be thought of as entry level in 2 years, and 6GB will feel tight sooner rather than later. So just get what you want now cause you are going to replace it for certain at some point. That I can guarantee so long as you continue to want to play on PC. ;)
     
  39. n=1

    n=1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,388
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    I just don't see how a 390X 8GB would suddenly zoom right past both Fury and 980 Ti at 8K. Yeah sure hitting the vram wall, but considering 390X is consistently 75% of 980 Ti at every resolution, and I mean 75% +/- 0.5% consistent, but becomes 3x 980 Ti's performance at 8K?

    Unless 6GB vs 8GB is such a limitation that at 8K it becomes completely vram capacity driven and GPU horsepower no longer matters.
     
  40. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    What do you think was holding them back? Theoretically, they could have gone with a larger organic interposer that has more layers and could be made to, at least, 45mmx42mm. They could have gone with a more expensive silicon interposer with more layers and gone with a custom base die, if they really wanted to. They decided to go with the cheaper passive silicon interposer at the reticle limit with a minimal amount of layers, most are expecting 4 layers or less.

    David Kanter has specifically stated that there isn't any limitation to using more than 4 stacks.

    I also believe that Joe Macri hinted or alluded to the same thing, even though he didn't come right out and say it.