AMD Bios\ pcie 4.0

Discussion in 'AMD MoBos' started by fightingfi, Mar 24, 2019.

  1. fightingfi

    fightingfi Look at Me! I need the attention.

    Messages:
    2,435
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    So when the new pcie 4.0 comes to all our AMD bios's how is this going to be any better or different than the x570 new chipset with pcie 4.0?
     
  2. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,865
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I don't think you'll notice at all as there aren't many things (none off the top of my head) that would make a noticeable difference in the average user's workload. There aren't any graphics cards that would saturate PCIe 3 enough to cause a noticeable difference moving to PCIe 4 (a few FPS here or there isn't really noticeable). Maybe if you're doing large file transfers on NVMe RAID or something.
     
    Sulphademus and pendragon1 like this.
  3. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,199
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I think it will help if you are starved for lanes and you have PCIe 4.0 devices so you can use 1/2 the lanes on each device to get the same bandwidth.
     
  4. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,579
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    When PCI-e 3.0 updates were available for PCI-e 2.0 boards, they would run max x8 (with a CPU that supported PCI-e 3.0 as well).
    This means the same bandwidth but with 1/2 the latency.
    I expect similar with the jump from 3.0 to 4.0 on the same board.
     
  5. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,660
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    On a board designed for it (5xx), at least. On 3/4xx boards you'd have to bifurcate the first slot, which would probably add too much electrical length to get stable 4.0 speeds.