Amd Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core CPU - Photoshop Test

EnderW

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 25, 2003
Messages
11,141
brom42 said:
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
X2 4400+
1gb Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 1T
Photoshop CS
All at stock speeds

I can do it, I can do it 6 times!!

38-42sec

I d/l CS2 and it improved my times quite a bit.

I'm down to 29-30sec
how the hell are you getting 29 to 30 seconds when p0tempkin only got 28 seconds with his 4400+ at 2.7GHz?

Also, I'm getting crappy times of 31.25 seconds running a 4400+ at 2.6GHz and 2GB of RAM
Raptor HDD, also
:confused:
 

Shane

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
1,356
Im at work on a p4 2.4c 512mb oc'ed 2.8ghz 1min 20sec
2nd run did it in 1min 10sec
 

Santos L. Halper

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
433
Thought I'd try it at work real quick.

Tyan Tiger S2875
2xOpteron 246 2.0Ghz
1GB 2x512 OCZ ECC 3-4-4-8
Photoshop CS

56 Seconds

*** Also had Outlook, Flash, Dreamweaver, and Firefox open. ***
 

Schmave

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
1,720
1 min 44 sec (with Winamp and some other programs running)

Venice 3000+ OC'ed to 2450 MHz
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
1 Gig Corsair Value RAM (I'm sure this is slowing me down and limiting my OC)
etc.

Edit:

After closing a bunch of programs and re-running the test, my time is 1 min 30 sec
 

Wolfsbane2k

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
220
3:34
CS
AXP 1600+. 512MB Ram, cr@p hd.

And since i'm a digital photographer in my spare time just how much time do i waste sitting in front of photochop? More than 2 hours a week of pure waiting..

Clickety Click on the 3800 X2 indeed!
 

alrox

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
271
For comparison's sake, here's what my Pentium D 820 got in Photoshop CS2.

Pentium D 820 (2x2.8ghz)
1gb DDR2-667mhz
945g motherboard
2x250gb RAID0 HD's

Both CPU's: 54.5s
Only 1 CPU: 65.8s
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
2,238
What's surprising me is my 2.45ghz A64 (S754) is beating up the Venice chips! :) I'm using CS2 by the way. Surprising, considering the Venice at similar speeds (2.4-2.5ghz) are running dual channel memory and other than that, the chips are the same. I could probably run this test in the 50(s) second range if I bumped my chip up to 2.6ghz!

Edit: Ran the test at 2.6ghz...it took 58 seconds.
 

soundmax

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
1,188
67 seconds, P4 D 820 2.8GHZ. 1GB Ram. Photoshop 7.

52 seconds, P4 D 820 2.8GHZ. 1GB Ram. Photoshop CS2.

42 seconds, P4 D 820 3.1GHZ. 1GB Ram. Photoshop CS2. (fresh restart)
 

MiG29TangentBoy

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
377
1 minute, 56 secs using PS7 on an AMD XP 2600-M @ 2.5 Ghz...just in case anyone was interested. I'll like seeing the same on my soon to be together A64 3200 Venice setup... :p
 

DogChainX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
2,037
Just for kicks, i did this on my "slow" Athlon-M 2500+ oc @ 2500MHz with 1.5gigs of ram.

Two minutes, 3 seconds on Photoshop CS.

Shesh, I really want to upgrade. September/October baby!!!! :D
 

lithium726

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
8,195
speedking said:
any 3800+ users who could carry out this test yet?

thanks,
i'll have mine on wendsday at the latest :)

but i currently have two packages from newegg coming, and they both show the same thing: arrived at FT. Worth. im hoiping i might get them both tomarrow. (one is supposed to come tomarrow and one is supposed to come wends.

one problem though, i dont have photoshop... is there a free trial i can DL?
 

SLiCkFX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
143
Times are with Photoshop's timer. PS C2 seems to give better performance, except for Pentium M chips.

Dual Xeon 2.6(533fsb)@3.1ghz, Asus PC DL Deluxe, 2gb
Win XP Pro

PS CS: 49.2s
PS CS2: 38.3s

PowerMac G5, Dual 1.8ghz, 1gb
OS 10.4

PS CS: 57.5s

Inspiron 9200, Pentium M 2.1ghz, 1gb
Win XP Pro

PS CS: 88.1s
PS CS2: 118.8s

Winny 3200+@2.2ghz, MSI RS480M2-IL, 1gb
WMCE 2005

PS CS: 98.4s
PS CS2: 73.2s
 

tesfaye

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 17, 2003
Messages
3,421
Same exact score as YourPaceOrMine. One minute thirty seconds.

A64 3200+ Winnie @ 2.34Ghz
1GB ram 2-2-2-6 1T @218Mhz
 

gazza_new

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
162
EnderW said:
how the hell are you getting 29 to 30 seconds when p0tempkin only got 28 seconds with his 4400+ at 2.7GHz?

Also, I'm getting crappy times of 31.25 seconds running a 4400+ at 2.6GHz and 2GB of RAM
Raptor HDD, also
:confused:

I'm getting 35 seconds on the same spec as that dude! Same board, chip, memory and timings! odd! Maybe he's not using "Best"
 

mikeblas

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Messages
12,776
2 minutes, 16 seconds
Photoshop CS2
HP Pavilion ze5700 laptop
1 Gig of RAM (but 64 megs used by shared video)
Pentium M at 3.06 GHz
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2005
Messages
47
Ok my "pre upgrade" results were 3:25 on the following system:

Photoshop CS (NOT CS2)
AMD XP1600+
Win XP Pro SP2
1.25gb RAM (512mb of PC3200 and 768mb of PC2100 - I know, I know... I need to get all the same speed ram... in due time!!!)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
160gb SATA
eVGA e-GeForce FX 5200 128mb 8x AGP

AFTER UPGRADING:
I finished in :55 seconds (I believe that is a 73% inprovement over the XP 1600+) :D
Asus A8V Deluxe
AMD64 X2 3800+
Photoshop CS (not CS2)
Win XP Pro (no SP installed yet)
1gb RAM (512mb of PC3200 and 512mb of PC2100)
160gb SATA
eVGA e-GeForce FX 5200 128mb 8x AGP


I have just tried a bit of OC'ing and am now running at 2.2 GHz instead of 2.0 GHz. I am also downloading CS2 and will rerun test with CS2 and report results.

**EDIT** - Ok, my time after the OC to 2.2 GHz and using CS2 was 38 seconds (an 81.5% improvement over my old system, WOW!)
 

dderidex

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
6,328
Damn, took 44 seconds to do it! (Photoshop timer) Bummer! :mad:

Oh, wait, I'm using PSE 2.0. Not CS 2. Not even CS 1. Not even PS7!

Not bad, after all! :p

Can't imagine you guys running 3min+ on this test. *ouch* That's gotta hurt! (I spend a bunch of time in Photoshop - thanks to the OP for pointing out this test! Convinced me to keep my X2 instead of trading it out for a single-core A64 and cash! :D )
 

Yashu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 18, 2005
Messages
1,294
first of all...

Photoshop CS and CS2 contain the currency check algorithm... and it is used on most filter operations... it does slow some down ALOT...


anyways... mine took a bit over one minute. I wasn't looking at a clock with seconds. to do on my newark at 2.75ghz with a few process idling in the background so I am sure a second or two could have been shaved off that time.


it's awsome to see how fast those x2s are when you have multithreading being used.
 

tesfaye

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 17, 2003
Messages
3,421
mikeblas said:
2 minutes, 16 seconds
Photoshop CS2
HP Pavilion ze5700 laptop
1 Gig of RAM (but 64 megs used by shared video)
Pentium M at 3.06 GHz
OMG Shared video RAM? How dare you! That's your backup rig right? :p
 

TheRapture

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 31, 2000
Messages
6,885
45 seconds using PS7........X2 @2.4ghz, 2gb ram, scratch file on seperate partition (same physical disk). My ram is at stock speeds (DDR400) via divider, cpu is at 240x10.

Will be back with CS2 benches...


speedking said:
Using Photoshop CS or CS2 (or PS 7)
==================================================

1.) Download the test image from http://www.quicklance.com/test.jpg

2.) Save it to the computer and then open it up in Photoshop

3.) From there please apply a 'radial blur' with the settings at:

Amount = 100
Blur Method = Spin
Quality = Best

Using a stop watch / ps timer see how long it takes to apply this filter

I just want to see what these new cpu's can really do.

Please list your cpu details, amount of ram and the time it took for the test, just so we can get an idea of how the different cpu's handle this task.

* test adapted from a different forum *
 

TheRapture

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 31, 2000
Messages
6,885
TheRapture said:
45 seconds using PS7........X2 @2.4ghz, 2gb ram, scratch file on seperate partition (same physical disk). My ram is at stock speeds (DDR400) via divider, cpu is at 240x10.

Will be back with CS2 benches...



With CS2 it dropped my time to 34 seconds with cpu at 2.4ghz...! Wow, that's a huge improvement....not to mention these X2's are kicking the snot out of those poor G5's :D
 

TheRapture

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 31, 2000
Messages
6,885
Guy Gadbois said:
**EDIT** - Ok, my time after the OC to 2.2 GHz and using CS2 was 38 seconds (an 81.5% improvement over my old system, WOW!)



Very nice. CS2 was a HUGE gain for me as well....I got 34 secs, just a bit faster than yours due to my higher clock speeds I would imagine...
 

Archer75

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 10, 2001
Messages
6,471
54 seconds with the system in my sig. At stock speeds.

Edit - Just gave the CPU a 20% overclock putting it at 4.08ghz and got a time of 41 seconds.
 

robberbaron

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
6,101
fuelvolts said:
I had the 2.5 minute venice - maybe I should mention that I was running 32 bit Photoshop in Windows x64 (ie emulation)

Edit: My lappy did this is 2 minutes - bwah????


It's called the 1mb cache of goodness. 512kb cache chips need not apply in this game.
 

dderidex

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
6,328
robberbaron said:
It's called the 1mb cache of goodness. 512kb cache chips need not apply in this game.
The X2s with 512kb of cache (3800+, 4200+, 4600+) seem to be doing quite well for themselves.
 

robberbaron

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
6,101
dderidex said:
The X2s with 512kb of cache (3800+, 4200+, 4600+) seem to be doing quite well for themselves.

Yes, I know. The X2's overcome a lot of bottlenecks related to the 512kb cache just from being a dual core. I hope you were able to see that I was refering to the newcastle, venice, and winchester croud.
 

dderidex

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
6,328
robberbaron said:
Yes, I know. The X2's overcome a lot of bottlenecks related to the 512kb cache just from being a dual core. I hope you were able to see that I was refering to the newcastle, venice, and winchester croud.
I didn't get that - after all, the newcastle, venice, and winchester *1mb* scores still seem atrocious. I guess I didn't get that there was much of a difference between 512kb vs 1mb in this test, given that 512kb and 1mb dual-core parts all scored awesome, and 512kb and 1mb single-core parts all scored poorly.
 

DougWD

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
502
I'm still kicking myself for buying the FX57. Stupid, stupid, stupid.

Everything stock:
AMD FX57
RAM Corsair Value Select 2x 1 GB in dual channel
Vid: BFG 7800GTOC
MB: ASUS A8N SLI Premium

64.4 seconds using PS CS2 timing clock.

I have the normal other stuff running, like Virus, Firewall, web browser running.
 

TheRapture

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 31, 2000
Messages
6,885
DougWD said:
I'm still kicking myself for buying the FX57. Stupid, stupid, stupid.

Everything stock:
AMD FX57
RAM Corsair Value Select 2x 1 GB in dual channel
Vid: BFG 7800GTOC
MB: ASUS A8N SLI Premium

64.4 seconds using PS CS2 timing clock.

.


You aint stupid....FX57 is a premium unit...as long as the app can't use dual cores :D

That being said, I am amazed at what the X2's are able to accomplish...poor G5 owners :p
 
Top