Amd Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core CPU - Photoshop Test

speedking

n00b
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
9
Using Photoshop CS or CS2 (or PS 7)
==================================================

1.) Download the test image from http://www.quicklance.com/test.jpg

2.) Save it to the computer and then open it up in Photoshop

3.) From there please apply a 'radial blur' with the settings at:

Amount = 100
Blur Method = Spin
Quality = Best

Using a stop watch / ps timer see how long it takes to apply this filter

I just want to see what these new cpu's can really do.

Please list your cpu details, amount of ram and the time it took for the test, just so we can get an idea of how the different cpu's handle this task.

* test adapted from a different forum *
 

kmeson

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
317
49s using PS7
4800+ @ stock speed
2gig

I can rerun the test at 2.6 but will have to be done later. Also I should note the test was run with the follwoing applications open: FireFox, Outlook, VS.Net 2003, Virtual PC w/ XP running, and a remote debug session to VMd XP.
 

needles

n00b
Joined
Jun 19, 2005
Messages
34
speedking said:
Using Photoshop CS or CS2 (or PS 7)
Using a stop watch / ps timer see how long it takes to apply this filter

Shuttle SN25P small form factor system
Athlon64 X2 4400+ (stock speed, 2.2GHz)
2GB of OCZ Platinum memory at 2-3-2-5 1T timings

Ran the test four times:

35-36 seconds
 

fuelvolts

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Messages
1,813
wow - Im surprised (unpleasantly)

The test took 2 min and 36 sec on my 3000+ Venice OC'd to 2.4 1 gig with 133 ram divider (running at 180 mhz RAM - 267 htt - 3 multi)

Why so slow?
 

DejaWiz

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
21,219
fuelvolts said:
wow - Im surprised (unpleasantly)

The test took 2 min and 36 sec on my 3000+ Venice OC'd to 2.4 1 gig with 133 ram divider (running at 180 mhz RAM - 267 htt - 3 multi)

Why so slow?
I'd run the test if I had photoshop, although I have nearly the exact same setup as you:

Venice 3000+ @ 2.4GHz (267fsb), 2GB RAM with 150 divider (running at 200MHz) on a Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI.

Probably would be right in the same timeframe as your results.
 

USMC2Hard4U

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
6,154
fuelvolts said:
wow - Im surprised (unpleasantly)

The test took 2 min and 36 sec on my 3000+ Venice OC'd to 2.4 1 gig with 133 ram divider (running at 180 mhz RAM - 267 htt - 3 multi)

Why so slow?
I do not know. But I know in a mac forum. They are smoking this with their Dual G5 setups.... sigh
 

brom42

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
3,980
Asus A8N-SLI Premium
X2 4400+
1gb Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 1T
Photoshop CS
All at stock speeds

I can do it, I can do it 6 times!!

38-42sec

I d/l CS2 and it improved my times quite a bit.

I'm down to 29-30sec
 

/dev/null

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 31, 2001
Messages
15,190
Board: Iwill DK8X
OS: 2k3, 64bit (NUMA support)
Photoshop CS2 demo from download.com
cpu mhz: 2.0ghz
Memory: 4 x 512MB ecc registered kinston valueram at 3-3-3-8 (IIRC) 2T


~ 47 seconds.

Rob

P.S. I was copying 100G of backup files in the background between usb2 & sata.
 

kmeson

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
317
Without my normal work environment open, here are the timings:

32s in CS2 (demo)
41s in PS7

4800+ @ 2.4ghz (stock)
2gig (Mushkin 2-3-2-6-1T 200mhz)

Might have to write a radial blur in GLSL or HLSL. Given the image size I'd have to tile it, but I'd bet the 7800 could do this greater than 10hz. Might loose some quality.
 

vat

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
343
Someone should post this in Intel forum also. I want to see how fast it is with Intel's processor.
 

p0tempkin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
169
28 Seconds In PS CS2

X2 4400+ @ 2.7GHz (270x10)
1GB TCCD @ DDR540 2.5-4-3-7
DFI LP UT NF4 UD

CS2 gives you a big advantage over PS7.

BTW, I was also using a relatively slow hard disk; Seagate 40GB PATA. Using a faster hard drive for the scratch disk, or using a RAM disk, would definitely shave some seconds off the time.
 

speedking

n00b
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
9
wow !!!

this cpu is seriously fast :)

the dual 2.7 - 1.8 powermacs managed on average between 40 - 55 seconds.

keep the test results coming !!!
 

fuelvolts

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 24, 2005
Messages
1,813
I had the 2.5 minute venice - maybe I should mention that I was running 32 bit Photoshop in Windows x64 (ie emulation)

Edit: My lappy did this is 2 minutes - bwah????
 

brom42

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
3,980
speedking said:
wow !!!

this cpu is seriously fast :)

the dual 2.7 - 1.8 powermacs managed on average between 40 - 55 seconds.

keep the test results coming !!!

You should tell everyone to download a trial of Photoshop CS2. It shaved about 10 seconds of my time!! I can get sub 30sec if I am not running anything else.
 

omz

Gawd
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
806
about 2 minutes (but im not running an AMD)
did it on ps7.0

p4 2.8 prescott @ 3.08
asus p4p800
kingston value ram 3-4-4-8
120gb WD 7200rpm

im building a new amd system (4000+ w/ gold OCZ ram and raptors), gunna be interesting to see how much of a difference it will make :)
 

LBJGH

n00b
Joined
Feb 4, 2004
Messages
33
Done and done.

I set the cpu to 2626mhz and was done in 30sec. :eek:

brom42 said:
Tags don't work in sigs. Please remove them so I can actually read your sig.

Thank you. ;)
 

brom42

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
3,980
USMC2Hard4U said:
I do not know. But I know in a mac forum. They are smoking this with their Dual G5 setups.... sigh

MacRumors said:
49.3 seconds


Powermac G5
Dual 2.5ghz
Radeon x800 xt
4.5gb ram
OS 10.4.1

Yup so much faster than my 30sec with my 2.2ghz 4400+ with 1gig ram :rolleyes:
 

brom42

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
3,980
LBJGH said:
Done and done.

I set the cpu to 2626mhz and was done in 30sec. :eek:

What version were you using?? D/L CS2 from Download.com and you'll drop a bunch more time.
 

kmeson

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2004
Messages
317
brom42 said:
Yup so much faster than my 30sec with my 2.2ghz 4400+ with 1gig ram :rolleyes:

The G5s seem to be competitive. Several are in the 30s. One thing I noted is the amount of variance with similarly spec'd machines. For example you've got a 4400+ and it's a couple seconds faster than my 4800+ with twice the ram. Most of the variance can probably be attributed timing method and shortness of the test.

It was nice to see the Indy score for perspective. Back in the day I used to lust for those SGI machines.
 

lithium726

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
8,195
speedking said:
any 3800+ x2 users?

if so can you please carry out this test?

thanks,
i dont think anyone has one yet :(

ive been looking for one on sale meself...
 

MikeDeuce

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 6, 2005
Messages
272
Work comp 2.8 P4 1gb RAM and with 11days, 21hrs uptime and tons of apps open in the BG:

2:24
 

BillR

Born Again Cynic
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
18,540
Please keep in mind that this particular “test” is the ONE test Steve Jobs and Company hang their hat on for all the hype about the MAC.

MAC users love to talk about how fast the MAC is, but they always point to this singular test. Try a few other filters on both AMD and Intel and you will find you can spank a MAC pretty badly.
 

Elios

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
7,254
BillR said:
Please keep in mind that this particular “test” is the ONE test Steve Jobs and Company hang their hat on for all the hype about the MAC.

MAC users love to talk about how fast the MAC is, but they always point to this singular test. Try a few other filters on both AMD and Intel and you will find you can spank a MAC pretty badly.

heh the X2 guys at 2.5 seem to be doing quite a good job with the MAC "friendly" settings lol as it is
 

Hito Bahadur

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2006
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
3,168
Well I don't have an X2, although I have a X2 3800+ on order, but I ended up at 42 seconds with the following rig:

2xOpteron 246 (2.0Ghz)
Tyan 8KSE
2GB Crucial ECC 4x512
Onboard Rage GL 8MB
160GB Samsung SATA
 

Juan Sanchez

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
369
Athlon 64 3400+ (2.4 ghz) = 1 Minute 35 Seconds

Athlon 64 3400+ (2.6 ghz) = 1 Minute 20 Seconds
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
2,238
Seeing how no one posted for a Socket 754 system.....it took me 63 seconds on the following...

DFI Ultra NF3 250gb S754 mobo.
2x512mb Twinmos SP ram (2,2,2,5) @205mhz (1:1)
3400+@2.45Ghz
 

Tyklfe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 10, 2002
Messages
1,290
Elios said:
heh the X2 guys at 2.5 seem to be doing quite a good job with the MAC "friendly" settings lol as it is



How are the settings friendly to the MAC (Media Acess Control)? You'd think Steveie Boy would want settings friendly to Macs.... hmmmm, go figure.









;) :D
 

AMD[H]unter

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
11,396
3:34 on this :p (Will do my desktop later, when I am home)

Sotec Laptop
1.2Ghz Celeron :p
256MB SDRAM
 
Top