Am I pushing my 520HX too much?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by pandora's box, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. pandora's box

    pandora's box [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,514
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Currently running:

    Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3.2GHz 1.4volts
    4x1GB DDR2-800
    Abit IX38 Motherboard
    1 320GB Western Digital SATA Hard Drive
    2 Samsung DVDRW SATA drives
    2 HD4850's in Crossfire
    5 120MM fans, 1 250MM Fan

    I plan to eventually move to a quad core processor and adding 1 more hard drive to the system in the near future. Should I sell the 520HX and buy something with a little more punch?
     
  2. Mr. Stryker

    Mr. Stryker [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,210
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    No, it may not be pushing it, but... personally if you swapped your CPU for a quad, that would probably be pushing it a little bit too much. Especially with two 4850s, I'd still suggest upgrading to a 750 watt version by Corsair. If you can afford it, go for it.
     
  3. m3ta1head

    m3ta1head 777

    Messages:
    6,309
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    The HX520 has a lot of headroom...I think you'll be ok. You'll definitely be at the limit of the HX520's capacity with the upgrades, though.
     
  4. lamboman

    lamboman Gawd

    Messages:
    599
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    You are alright at the moment, and you will be fine moving to a quad and getting the extra drive. But, I wouldn't be looking at getting new graphics cards, for example.
     
  5. Mr. Stryker

    Mr. Stryker [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,210
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    He's going to be alright? I have the same PSU but I don't know a lot about things like that. Nevermind what I said.
     
  6. pandora's box

    pandora's box [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,514
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    ok ty for the advice. wont be going quad core until some time next year anyway. Its just that if I do upgrade I would like to stay with corsair and I refuse to go back to non-modular power supplies so the next step up for me would be the 1000HX.
     
  7. timme

    timme Gawd

    Messages:
    520
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    There is still the HX620.

    I think you are totally fine, especially since most of the time those DVD-Drives won't be in use (I assume?). The only thing that draws more power than "average" systems is the crossfire GPU.

    Maybe get a cheap thingie to find out how much your machine actually draws out of the wall?
     
  8. pandora's box

    pandora's box [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,514
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    where would one find one of those "thingies" and are they accurate?
     
  9. xlt92explorer

    xlt92explorer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,124
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    I think he's talking about a kill-a-watt or something similar. Newegg carries them, as do many other retailers. link
     
  10. Imbroglio

    Imbroglio Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    196
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    voltage totals, use the calculator :D

    love it, bookmark it
     
  11. pandora's box

    pandora's box [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,514
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    according to that im using 500 watt at 90% load. :eek:
     
  12. slugger_2003

    slugger_2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    365
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Does it matter how much power you're getting from the wall sockets? I thought part of the idea behind the PSU is that it could, for example, distribute 520 watts throught the PC if it needed to but did not always deliver a 520 supply if it was not needed.
    Does the PSU draw a varient amount of power from the sockets? I thought it would be a constant rate, just the PSU delivers the desired and varied amount upon request, no?
     
  13. pandora's box

    pandora's box [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,514
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    if that was the case where does the psu store the extra power?
     
  14. forrehmmnd

    forrehmmnd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,353
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    it doesnt, it is capable of supplying that amount, but it only uses what it needs from the wall.

    For example. Im using an athlon xp 1700+, 1.5gb ram and an fx5700 ultra right now (main rig is being worked on, replacing fans and such) Its only draws about 200watts from my 430watt thermaltake. The thermal take is only using 200 watts from the wall, but its capable of taking 230 more if need be.
     
  15. RaDeonXtreme

    RaDeonXtreme Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    292
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    i love you!! now to wait until they get a 4870x2 in there so i can calculate wattage.
     
  16. slugger_2003

    slugger_2003 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    365
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Ok, so both PSU draw from the power socket at the wall and PSU output to components are variable, right?
     
  17. Waffletron

    Waffletron Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    222
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Yes, both are variable.

    You will be shocked at how low your power usage actually is. I've heard that Kill-A-Watts are innaccurate, and never used one myself. I've used a cheap stand-by type UPS that was terrible, its now replaced with a good Line-Interactive model that I've been told should be accurate. It tells me that my machine with monitor is drawing 90W idle and 180W load. With a C2D your machine should only be pulling 350 Watts maximum or so. Corsair is a good PSU brand, you're fine.
     
  18. AthlonXP

    AthlonXP [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    20,272
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    You should be fine, I think right now you are pushing around 400 to 430w's.
     
  19. Dangman

    Dangman Ninja Editor SuperMod

    Messages:
    46,062
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Hmm...the Corsair PSU finder recommends a Corsair 620HX for your current build with a quad-core CPU OC'd 30% and 2nd drive. Though drop the quad-core and the 520HX is recommended.

    Just use your best judgment.
     
  20. Mr. Stryker

    Mr. Stryker [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,210
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
  21. Valnar

    Valnar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,070
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Screw all the online calculators, unless somebody can show me proof that they actually correspond to reality.

    Buy a Kill-a-watt. You'll use it 10 times over and it'll pay for itself. I'm sure your 520 is enough.
     
  22. Redbeard

    Redbeard Official Corsair Rep.

    Messages:
    1,859
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Be very careful with Kill-a-watt type devices and power supplies with Active PFC. Sometimes they can get power readings that are significantly off. In one or two cases I've seen them declare my power supply to be over 100% efficient.
     
  23. matrix563

    matrix563 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,026
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    seems like alot my quad system with 4gb ram, 3 harddrives, 4gb ram, and 8800gts g92 only uses 225 watts when i load seti up :D

    that psu engine is nice too :).
     
  24. dextr3k

    dextr3k Gawd

    Messages:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    100%+ efficiency? Perpetual machine here I come.

    I dont do much calculating, but you should definately be fine. I'm also using a 520HX on my machine

    E6550 OC'ed to 3.15Ghz
    3 Harddrives
    8800GT in Sli
    DVD-RW
    4gb 2x2gb

    and its not even breaking a sweat, or if it is, its leaking somewhere I cant see. :)
     
  25. Waffletron

    Waffletron Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    222
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Lol, don't make fun of the older systems that use more power. My new rig pulls 180W peak including monitor, my old 4200+/X800/bunch of IDE HDDs pulled 220W.
     
  26. ZX7891

    ZX7891 n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    i'd probably upgrade to something beefier
     
  27. Psychor

    Psychor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    388
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    I'm running the setup in my sig. on a 520HX and haven't run into any issues thus far (browsing, stress testing, gaming, etc.). Granted, I haven't taken the time to measure my draw.
     
  28. AthlonXP

    AthlonXP [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    20,272
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    I think you are fine for now, though your next major upgrade I would invest then in a bigger power supply.
     
  29. Acoustique

    Acoustique Gawd

    Messages:
    941
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    or stack an old one, just wire up a relay (should be able to find a guide on dual psu's)
    iam using one atm to power my fans and cd drives, so that should give you a bit of headroom
     
  30. Dangman

    Dangman Ninja Editor SuperMod

    Messages:
    46,062
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    So should we add additional wattage to whatever the Kill-A-Watt tells when in use with PSUs with APFC?
     
  31. Redbeard

    Redbeard Official Corsair Rep.

    Messages:
    1,859
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    No, I'm saying that Kill-A-Watt devices (and similar devices like a Watts Up!) sometimes give inaccurate readings with Active PFC power supplies.

    JonnyGuru had some videos up a while back, but I can't seem to find them. Suffice to say it's difficult to get real power draw from the wall with them. I've only personally seen the problem a couple times, most of the time it seems to be working fine. But if you get any results that seem way out of whack, don't get too panicked.
     
  32. AthlonXP

    AthlonXP [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    20,272
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    I use the meter on my apc battery backup to tell much juice I am using.
     
  33. Psychor

    Psychor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    388
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    I finally got around to testing out my Killawatt with my HX520 PSU and it seem accurate enough - it's in lines with what I was expecting. Looks like I'll still need/should pick up a new PSU for a 4870x2 though. :rolleyes:

    Running a Q6600 at 3.6 and watching the Killawatt prior and post Prime95 is fun. :D
     
  34. matrix563

    matrix563 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,026
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    how about my ups backup that shows my load in windows? is that fairly accurate?
     
  35. Psychor

    Psychor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    388
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    I'd imagine it would be good enough to give you an idea of what you're working with. That is how I use my Killawatt.
     
  36. screwballl

    screwballl [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
  37. soulesschild

    soulesschild [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,049
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Do tell!