Allowing all network addresses to communicate over any port outbound

The Lurker

Fully [H]
I have been playing around with Sophos UTM for about 6 months now and I think I have pretty much nailed down how to administer it for our needs. But there are a few things I still have questions about, none affect network users day to day directly but I wonder about the imperceptible impacts.

One thing that pops out at me constantly is the shear volume of dropped packets originating from internal traffic. Currently I only allow devices on the network to communicate only over certain ports, as created upon initial install, and then I added a few more for things like steam, team viewer, NTP, facetime and etc. But the number of packet being dropped is still tremendous. Sometimes in the 20k range on a particularly busy day spread out over multiple hosts. As I said, it doesnt affect usability but I still wonder about the impact. For example, Google Home will not stop trying to hit the google DNS server.

This morning, as an experiment, I allowed all network addresses access to all ports to the internet to see what happens to the packet drops.

My question is. 1. Is this OK? 2. What do you do with your outbound traffic?

Hey, The Lurker -

What you are trying to do is actually a good thing, but there can be some difficulties with this.

Generally speaking, blocking all outbound traffic is a secure method. However, you have to make sure you aren't creating your allow rules based on the <source port>. You will need to do it based on the destination port. The reason for this is that client machines use random ports as a source for new sessions, then by use of NAT/PAT, traffic can "find its way back".