Alldocube X Neo

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
Did you format data? Afaik there is still an incompatibility depending encryption at A12 and TWRP. Going from A11 to A12 my phone did not boot without formatting data .
I did a complete format. It boots fine w/o Magisk but Google Play refuses to run due to Play Protect.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
I have made a new folder on MEGA with the following:
1642175644181.png


https://mega.nz/folder/r1s0FBZJ#_K7Ep9cyBn3rbjlfa2tlzQ
 

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
CrimsonKnight13 Can you please explain what is modified in this rom? Has probably already been described in the deleted posts, but I don't remember. :) And why should one flash a rom from the year before last?
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
CrimsonKnight13 Can you please explain what is modified in this rom? Has probably already been described in the deleted posts, but I don't remember. :) And why should one flash a rom from the year before last?
Biggest point, the newest global ROM runs a lot better than the newest Chinese version & supports 5GHz Wi-Fi.

Second, this modified ROM allows for bootloader unlocking & system flashing. This is the expected behavior of the Chinese ROM. The "6gb" version allows for a 6GB system partition, which makes it slot A-only (AB can be flashed but only to slot A) Treble compatible with the newest TWRP created by Allexbast.

modified_global_stock_6gb_with_twrp = bootloader unlocking capable, 6GB system partition expansion capable, & TWRP included
modified_global_stock_6gb = bootloader unlocking capable & 6GB system partition expansion capable
modified_global_stock_with_twrp = bootloader unlocking capable & TWRP included
modified_global_stock = bootloader unlocking capable
Port_TWRP3.5.2_9-0_T1009_global_v01 = newest TWRP
update_6gb_global_unlock = files used to make the global ROM unlockable & system partition resizable
 
Last edited:

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
Thank you. Is it possible to flash modified_global_stock with rawprogram_unsparse_mod.xml to update only the vendor / firmware part?

And what does the update_image_EDL.bat?
 
Last edited:

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
Thank you. Is it possible to flash modified_global_stock with rawprogram_unsparse_mod.xml to update only the vendor / firmware part?

And what does the update_image_EDL.bat?
Oh... I had the batch files in there for testing from the non-X Neo firmware I was looking into from Allexbast's post. I'll remove them & repost the 7z files on MEGA.

I don't have any modified xmls with specific partitions to flash though. I'll look into making a new one for each version before updating the files.

Edit: I'm generating smaller 7z files if possible 100MBish difference isn't much better so going back to the faster method to save me time (LZMA2 20 vs 2 threads/2min vs 16min), removed the cmd/bat files & added a rawprogram_unsparse_upgrade_keepuserandsystem.xml which doesn't flash system & user data img files. I'll upload all 4 7z files after completion.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: taro4
like this

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
Thanks! In rawprogram_unsparse_upgrade_keepuserandsystem.xml I found a minor difference compared to xmls in older firmwares - the current num_partition_sectors in vendor_5.img is 229016, but in older roms it was 228872. So if QFIL writes a slightly larger partition, this should have effects to the following existing partitions like userdata, or am I wrong?
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
Thanks! In rawprogram_unsparse_upgrade_keepuserandsystem.xml I found a minor difference compared to xmls in older firmwares - the current num_partition_sectors in vendor_5.img is 229016, but in older roms it was 228872. So if QFIL writes a slightly larger partition, this should have effects to the following existing partitions like userdata, or am I wrong?
Probably a difference between global & Chinese firmware. You might need to reflash from this version.

CrimsonKnight13 It looks like I found the cause in gsi instability. I slightly misported twrp, twrp is missing avb signature and wrong block sizes. I'll fix it now.​

Thanks! I'll rebuild the 7zips & include your new TWRP version.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
For v0.8 of the guide, I am requesting new screenshots for every step of the "Bootloader Unlocking – Modified from Source" & "TWRP" sections.

Also, testing of GSIs with the newly updated TWRP boot/recovery image with & without Magisk (use phh securize for this) would greatly be appreciated. Screenshots requested for this section as well.

Edit: Stability of the bootloader for unlocking & flashing needs to be tested with the modified global firmware.
 
Last edited:

Allexbast

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2021
Messages
17
CrimsonKnight13, I never managed to work with the tablet, my child does not want to give it away for anything. TWRP v2 which I posted signed by avb, but not patched by magisk23. I haven't tested TWRP yet. Should I post the next version of twrp patched with magisk23?
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
CrimsonKnight13, I never managed to work with the tablet, my child does not want to give it away for anything. TWRP v2 which I posted signed by avb, but not patched by magisk23. I haven't tested TWRP yet. Should I post the next version of twrp patched with magisk23?
Sure! I can upload it as an alternate file to be used for anyone. The only caveat with that is every new system img flash (like a GSI) will require Magisk to be re-flashed.
 

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
Thanks for your work, Allexbast and CrimsonKnight13, but at the moment I don't see any reason to change my crDRom11 (with older TWRP), it runs without any problems. Never missed 5 GHz Wifi. :)
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
Thanks for your work, Allexbast and CrimsonKnight13, but at the moment I don't see any reason to change my crDRom11 (with older TWRP), it runs without any problems. Never missed 5 GHz Wifi. :)
I provided the modified XML files to upgrade all but system & userdata. Not even going to try that out? QFIL can make a full backup of your current setup.
 

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
I provided the modified XML files to upgrade all but system & userdata. Not even going to try that out? QFIL can make a full backup of your current setup.
The modified XML will probably destroy (parts of) my data-partition because of the dfferent size of vendor_5.img. I will reflash the whole system if a well working GSI-rom with A12L is available.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,244
The modified XML will probably destroy (parts of) my data-partition because of the dfferent size of vendor_5.img. I will reflash the whole system if a well working GSI-rom with A12L is available.
My guess is that it's larger due to more required drivers that were not in the Chinese vendor image.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2021
Messages
7

bazito

n00b
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
19
Hi, is anyone using custom rom android 12?
Is it worth it compared to the original android?
 

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
Today I also flashed modified_Global_stock_6GB_with_twrp_v3, after that newest crDroid, Magisk and Opengapps instead of Nik Gapps, because I had trouble with TTS-services in Nik Gapps. Works fine apart from some hangings in the first configuration dialogue in crDroid, maybe caused bei OpenGapps. Thanks again CrimsonKnight13 and Allexbast for your great work!

bazito Please check about the incompatibilities between A12 and (all) recoverys concerning encryption. Afaik it is not possible yet to backup/restore partitions even if not encrypted. Improvements specifically for tablets are only announced for A12L anyway.
 

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
I noticed that wifi reception is much better with the new firmware, even at 2.4 GHz. 👍
 

thunder85

n00b
Joined
Apr 3, 2021
Messages
2
After a few months of barely using the Neo X with crDroid because 5 GHz wifi wasn't working properly, I would now like to upgrade to the latest version.

I would directly flash the 6GB modded global rom incl. current TWRP via QFIL over the existing system. Then via fastboot or twrp install a suitable GSI image. Is that it or do I need to do something else? So far my system partition is not 6GB and I assume it will by the QFIL flash.
 

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
thunder85 That should work. You can flash Magisk via TWRP afterwards if you want root. If you flash an A12-GSI rom, please let us know your experiences with A12.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2020
Messages
42
After some weeks not using my X Neo I decided to flash the 6GB modded global rom and, since the crDroid GSI seems to be discontinued, I flashed the A12 Pixel Experience +. And it's working like a charm! This little tablet that came with Android 9 and was never updated by Alldocube now is running Android 12.
Only one thing, TWRP doesn't boot after installing this A12 rom, it gets stuck on the TWRP logo. TWRP only seems to boot when /data is wiped with "fastboot -w", so I had to install Magisk before doing anything else.
 
  • Like
Reactions: taro4
like this

taro4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
128
Ah okay, at first reading I thought you managed that by installing Magisk, but of course thats not logical. :) As the newest TWRP still seems to have difficulties with encryption and data partition in A12 we should not be surprised if nothing works with our old version. Did you experience any difficulties in restoring apps with Titanium? I'm also still using it (besides Swiftbackup), but it shall not work with splitted apks.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2020
Messages
42
Ah okay, at first reading I thought you managed that by installing Magisk, but of course thats not logical. :) As the newest TWRP still seems to have difficulties with encryption and data partition in A12 we should not be surprised if nothing works with our old version. Did you experience any difficulties in restoring apps with Titanium? I'm also still using it (besides Swiftbackup), but it shall not work with splitted apks.
Titanium Backup works quite well, if some app doesn't work I install it from the Play Store and I restore only the data.
 
Top