Alldocube X Neo

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
Did you format data? Afaik there is still an incompatibility depending encryption at A12 and TWRP. Going from A11 to A12 my phone did not boot without formatting data .
I did a complete format. It boots fine w/o Magisk but Google Play refuses to run due to Play Protect.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
I have made a new folder on MEGA with the following:
1642175644181.png


https://mega.nz/folder/r1s0FBZJ#_K7Ep9cyBn3rbjlfa2tlzQ
 

taro4

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
122
CrimsonKnight13 Can you please explain what is modified in this rom? Has probably already been described in the deleted posts, but I don't remember. :) And why should one flash a rom from the year before last?
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
CrimsonKnight13 Can you please explain what is modified in this rom? Has probably already been described in the deleted posts, but I don't remember. :) And why should one flash a rom from the year before last?
Biggest point, the newest global ROM runs a lot better than the newest Chinese version & supports 5GHz Wi-Fi.

Second, this modified ROM allows for bootloader unlocking & system flashing. This is the expected behavior of the Chinese ROM. The "6gb" version allows for a 6GB system partition, which makes it slot A-only (AB can be flashed but only to slot A) Treble compatible with the newest TWRP created by Allexbast.

modified_global_stock_6gb_with_twrp = bootloader unlocking capable, 6GB system partition expansion capable, & TWRP included
modified_global_stock_6gb = bootloader unlocking capable & 6GB system partition expansion capable
modified_global_stock_with_twrp = bootloader unlocking capable & TWRP included
modified_global_stock = bootloader unlocking capable
Port_TWRP3.5.2_9-0_T1009_global_v01 = newest TWRP
update_6gb_global_unlock = files used to make the global ROM unlockable & system partition resizable
 
Last edited:

taro4

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
122
Thank you. Is it possible to flash modified_global_stock with rawprogram_unsparse_mod.xml to update only the vendor / firmware part?

And what does the update_image_EDL.bat?
 
Last edited:

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
Thank you. Is it possible to flash modified_global_stock with rawprogram_unsparse_mod.xml to update only the vendor / firmware part?

And what does the update_image_EDL.bat?
Oh... I had the batch files in there for testing from the non-X Neo firmware I was looking into from Allexbast's post. I'll remove them & repost the 7z files on MEGA.

I don't have any modified xmls with specific partitions to flash though. I'll look into making a new one for each version before updating the files.

Edit: I'm generating smaller 7z files if possible 100MBish difference isn't much better so going back to the faster method to save me time (LZMA2 20 vs 2 threads/2min vs 16min), removed the cmd/bat files & added a rawprogram_unsparse_upgrade_keepuserandsystem.xml which doesn't flash system & user data img files. I'll upload all 4 7z files after completion.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: taro4
like this

taro4

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
122
Thanks! In rawprogram_unsparse_upgrade_keepuserandsystem.xml I found a minor difference compared to xmls in older firmwares - the current num_partition_sectors in vendor_5.img is 229016, but in older roms it was 228872. So if QFIL writes a slightly larger partition, this should have effects to the following existing partitions like userdata, or am I wrong?
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
Thanks! In rawprogram_unsparse_upgrade_keepuserandsystem.xml I found a minor difference compared to xmls in older firmwares - the current num_partition_sectors in vendor_5.img is 229016, but in older roms it was 228872. So if QFIL writes a slightly larger partition, this should have effects to the following existing partitions like userdata, or am I wrong?
Probably a difference between global & Chinese firmware. You might need to reflash from this version.

CrimsonKnight13 It looks like I found the cause in gsi instability. I slightly misported twrp, twrp is missing avb signature and wrong block sizes. I'll fix it now.​

Thanks! I'll rebuild the 7zips & include your new TWRP version.
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
For v0.8 of the guide, I am requesting new screenshots for every step of the "Bootloader Unlocking – Modified from Source" & "TWRP" sections.

Also, testing of GSIs with the newly updated TWRP boot/recovery image with & without Magisk (use phh securize for this) would greatly be appreciated. Screenshots requested for this section as well.

Edit: Stability of the bootloader for unlocking & flashing needs to be tested with the modified global firmware.
 
Last edited:

Allexbast

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2021
Messages
17
CrimsonKnight13, I never managed to work with the tablet, my child does not want to give it away for anything. TWRP v2 which I posted signed by avb, but not patched by magisk23. I haven't tested TWRP yet. Should I post the next version of twrp patched with magisk23?
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
CrimsonKnight13, I never managed to work with the tablet, my child does not want to give it away for anything. TWRP v2 which I posted signed by avb, but not patched by magisk23. I haven't tested TWRP yet. Should I post the next version of twrp patched with magisk23?
Sure! I can upload it as an alternate file to be used for anyone. The only caveat with that is every new system img flash (like a GSI) will require Magisk to be re-flashed.
 

taro4

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 7, 2020
Messages
122
Thanks for your work, Allexbast and CrimsonKnight13, but at the moment I don't see any reason to change my crDRom11 (with older TWRP), it runs without any problems. Never missed 5 GHz Wifi. :)
 

CrimsonKnight13

Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
8,137
Thanks for your work, Allexbast and CrimsonKnight13, but at the moment I don't see any reason to change my crDRom11 (with older TWRP), it runs without any problems. Never missed 5 GHz Wifi. :)
I provided the modified XML files to upgrade all but system & userdata. Not even going to try that out? QFIL can make a full backup of your current setup.
 
Top