Acer XB321HK vs LG 32UD99

pippenainteasy

[H]ard|Gawd
I'm looking to pick up a used monitor to replace my dying 43" crossover 4k. I love the size but there aren't many options for direct replacement, and the Asus looks meh with VA panel.

Which one would you rather have? I mostly play games, 4x games or isonetric RPGs. I'm leaning toward the LG because it's a newer panel and doesnt have the flickering issue of the Acer which was common with old AU 4k panels.

I have the XB321HK myself, can't really fault it, although I did go through 3 of them before finding one that didn't have bad bleed. Such is the panel lottery with IPS though, none are immune from it. I've no experienced the flickering issue myself, and mine is a newer production model, made last year, so maybe they resolved it, I don't know.

You should maybe check out the new Alienware OLED 55. At only 4k its a real steal!

I have an XB321HK that I got used. The panel actually started having some issues so it got replaced under warranty a year ago. It still has this occasional flickering where one half of the screen would show some green lines for a moment, but I'm not really bothered by that. Perhaps later they started sourcing some panels where this is fixed if this other owner really has no flickering, but since you're getting a used one, you'll probably have this issue.

But, back to your question, I guess it depends on your gaming needs? Acer covers the range of 30-60 FPS with G-Sync, while LG has 40-60 with its FreeSync. Perhaps the range on the LG can be furthered lowered by editing its EDID settings, check if somebody already tried that.

If you were buying a new one, I'd suggest to wait for some 144Hz model which should be released sooner rather than later.

I'm not aware of any imminent 144Hz 32" 4K monitors... I'm sure we'll get them eventually, but not this year, unless a manufacturer is hiding one up their sleeve and not telling us about it.