Acer X27 4k 144hz HDR Gsync

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Phlorge, Apr 27, 2017.

  1. sblantipodi

    sblantipodi 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,430
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    No way at 4k a gpu can be overkill, specially now that ray tracing is approaching. At 4k with raytracing you cantc even go at 30fps, so really no point in having 144hz.

    Higher Hertz is a marketing gimmick for people who believe to be pro ganer
     
  2. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,376
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    :ROFLMAO:
     
  3. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,376
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Shame on you for being an uninformed consumer.
     
    GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  4. Greyson

    Greyson n00b

    Messages:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Belittling what other people are buying just to reinforce your own purchase is super petty. Everybody here is gonna have their own "thing" that is "the single most important thing they can't live without" on a monitor.
     
  5. sblantipodi

    sblantipodi 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,430
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    some years ago there was one hero, Denis from prad.de,
    in that years this was a forum where you can talk about monitors.
    now you can only repeat what other people says... GOATS!
     
  6. Sancus

    Sancus Gawd

    Messages:
    788
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool
     
    dvsman, GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  7. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,376
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003

    ...perhaps your 'knowledge' is outdated?
     
    Armenius and GoldenTiger like this.
  8. l88bastard

    l88bastard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    There you go again, talkin out your ass an blanket judging products that you have zero experience with. I swear, you are the Cliff Clavin of the [H]

    I owned the latest 43" 4k120 mango i20 for exactly 12 days and it is big, fast an glorious with very low input latency. However, I had a 14 day return window (and almost kept it for work productivity), but sitting next to my X27 there was no contest.

    The X27 may be smaller but it DESTROYS the larger Mango on color accuracy, contrast, HDR, Gsync, etc, etc.
    Looking at the Mango felt like I was wasting my life when I could be gazing at the heavenly X27.

    So like I said, the Mango is Big, Fast and Cheap....perfect for you, what are you doing here still?
     
    Montu, GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  9. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,947
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    It's more expensive than $120.
     
    l88bastard and GoldenTiger like this.
  10. kasakka

    kasakka Gawd

    Messages:
    1,022
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    I finally had the chance to check out this display at a store, albeit only on the desktop and running Heaven benchmark on an underpowered GPU so did not get to experience high refresh rate goodness.

    It's a good looking display for sure, but I did not feel the 4K resolution is worth it over 1440p at this screen size. I will wait for the 32" model.
     
  11. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,993
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Which means it wasn’t pushin hdr as well.
     
  12. kasakka

    kasakka Gawd

    Messages:
    1,022
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    I already have a HDR 4K TV and a 1440p 144 Hz display so seeing those features was not important for me, I mostly wanted to see if the higher resolution would be a big improvement over 1440p and IMO it was diminishing returns at this size.
     
  13. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,993
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    I generally agree - I wish for 27'' they would have just gone with 1440p as it isn't a huge boost in visual quality for the size, and the performance hit is huge.

    That being said, there is generally no reason to get this panel if you aren't interested in HDR - And having 120hz 8 bit RGB / 98hz 10bit RGB w/ HDR is outstanding. If you don't care about HDR there isn't much reason to get the panel, but at the same time if you're evaluating this panel and not looking at HDR content to evaluate it you aren't doing it justice. It would be like evaluating a 720p HDTV when that was the latest technology using a VHS tape.
     
  14. bigbluefe

    bigbluefe Gawd

    Messages:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Maybe you can't read, so I'll repeat myself: it has MOTHER FUCKING DOG SHIT INPUT LATENCY.

    Thanks.
     
  15. l88bastard

    l88bastard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    God Dammit here you go again. I JUST MOTHERFUCKING SAID I OWNED THE GOD DAMN MOTHERFUCKING MANGO 4K120 FOR TWELVE MOTHER FUCKING DAYS AND IT DOES NOT HAVE DOG SHIT INPUTLATENCY. STOP MAKING SHIT UP ABOUT SHIT YOU HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT SHIT YOU HAVE NEVER EVEN ACTUALLY TRIED YOU GOD DAMN ANNOYING TWIT!
     
    dvsman, Phalkonone, Gavv and 3 others like this.
  16. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,237
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Wrong.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  17. bigbluefe

    bigbluefe Gawd

    Messages:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Unfortunately it has dog shit latency.
     
  18. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,993
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    I am old but I can see the difference in 60 and 144. It is much more fluid. My son gave me a Benq 1080p 144hz and there is a difference. So I am for higher hz!
     
    Armenius likes this.
  19. Skott

    Skott 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,897
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    If you guys are going to curse and flame each other take it to emails/IMs please. Lets try and be civil here. We dont want the thread locked down.
     
    dvsman, DanNeely, chenw and 1 other person like this.
  20. sblantipodi

    sblantipodi 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,430
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    I don't want to be a basher, this monitor is surely an interesting one but how to manage the wide gamut on this monitor?
    I am comparing my EIZO S2433W wide gamut calibrated with a colorimeter with the Acer XB271HK standard gamut
    and most of the software that are not managed, youtube, games ecc looks so off in colors on the wide gamut monitor.

    How you manage the wide gamut on these monitors?
     
  21. xorbe

    xorbe [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,974
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Maybe it's Win10 magic, but I did not notice wide gamut like when I used my NEC3090WUXi with Win7. I will have to double check.
     
  22. l88bastard

    l88bastard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    The Mango has dogshit colors like the ultrawide on your desk
    The Mango has dogshit BLB like the ultrawide on your desk
    The Mango has dogshit PPI like the ultrawide on your desk
    The Mango has dogshit HDR like the ultrawide on your desk
    The Mango has great input response like the dogshit on your desk.

    giphy.gif
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018
  23. sblantipodi

    sblantipodi 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,430
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    There is no magic in windwis that can automatically correct the over saturation of a wide gamut panel.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  24. ursaperma

    ursaperma n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Just received the X27. In one scenario (navy windows desktop background + white right click menu), edges of the menu are blue. Causing the menu to refresh (repeatedly hovering over and away from menu items, clicking through menu items) removes the blue. Is this a hardware or software issue? Thanks.
     
  25. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,993
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    I don't have said issue. I operate with the latest Windows 10 build w/ HDR always enabled in settings. Maybe try a different displayport cable?

    The only display issue i've had is if you have the OSD up over 100% white content the edges around it get a pinkish hue - But this only happens with the OSD, and will not happen if an actual window within windows is in the same spot.
     
  26. GameLifter

    GameLifter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    I decided to pick up one of these when they went on sale on Newegg a few weeks ago and I've been very impressed with the picture quality of the monitor and gaming experience. Colors look great, contrast is good, 4K at 27" looks crisp, and the HDR mode blew me away when I first tried it. G-Sync with a high refresh rate is extra icing on the cake. Back-light bleed and IPS glow are non-existent in my well lit room with the FALD turned on. Unfortunately, I noticed a stuck pixel on the monitor last night and it was disappointing to see considering how good this monitor looks otherwise. I'm not sure whether I should send it back or just try and ignore the stuck pixel. If I were to send it back, what are the chances of me getting a pixel perfect panel? Is it futile to attempt to try and get a perfect panel or was I indeed unlucky with this one and should try sending it back?
     
    l88bastard likes this.
  27. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,993
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    No clue. Mine was perfect - But it's a crap shoot. Given the pixel density of 4k @ 27'' i'm not sure it's worth the ass pain for a single dead pixel that you really won't notice unless the screen is completely white anyways.
     
    Armenius and GameLifter like this.
  28. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    16,156
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    If it's stuck then you can try the various methods to get it unstuck. It may even get unstuck over time from regular use. I would not return it unless it was a dead pixel, which I would not put up with on a monitor that costs this much.
     
    dvsman and GameLifter like this.
  29. GameLifter

    GameLifter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    That's true. I've tried running JScreenfix and PixelHealer for a bit but so far it hasn't fixed it. I'm going try some more this weekend.
     
  30. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,947
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    I've tried so called "pixel healer" programs on dozens of displays down through the years and it has never fixed a single one.
     
    Armenius, kirbyrj and GameLifter like this.
  31. GameLifter

    GameLifter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Is there any hope of pixel healer programs working or are they pretty much useless? I've heard that massaging the part of the screen with the stuck pixel can fix it but I'm not sure if I want to risk that yet.
     
  32. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,947
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Hmm, as long as you don't push too hard I don't think it will do any damage. I've tried pencil erasers. Still didn't fix it, but I guess it's worth a try.
     
    l88bastard and GameLifter like this.
  33. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,124
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    a95.png
     
    Nokturnal, bigbluefe, vjhawk and 9 others like this.
  34. capnstabn

    capnstabn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    437
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Any of the x27 users running a 2080ti? What kinda frames are you getting in Blackout?
     
  35. GameLifter

    GameLifter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Looks like my X27 has a dead pixel to go along with the stuck pixel that I had noticed before. I'm sending it back for a replacement. Hopefully the process will be as painless as possible but I'm prepared to replace it as many times as possible to get one I am satisfied with.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  36. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,993
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    I don't know how or why - But a 2080ti runs Blackout substantially better compared to the 1080ti I was running. I think the game is memory bandwidth limited maybe which would explain the massive performance gain. My framerates doubled @ 4k resolution and hold well above the 60 FPS mark.
     
    cybereality likes this.
  37. capnstabn

    capnstabn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    437
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    You running most settings at max? Yeah if you look at VRAM usage in Blackout its nutty. I'm at like 9.1gig utilized after the drop.
     
  38. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,993
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Yeah, max settings besides AA. I keep AA to the middle setting of super sampling + shader AA or whatever they call it. The pixel density is of such that I find you don't need more then one step of super sampling to fix aliasing issues.
     
    Nokturnal likes this.
  39. Nokturnal

    Nokturnal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    133
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    actually running things at the optimized settings.... logical. i like that.
     
  40. GameLifter

    GameLifter Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Good news! I've had my replacement panel for about a week and so far I haven't noticed any defective pixels *knocks on wood*. There is another issue I've noticed though. I've kept mine at 120Hz with G-Sync + V-Sync on and when I had the first panel the frame rate in games could top out at 120. Now games seem to be capped right below 120fps never going above 118 and staying at 116 most of the time. This is evident when I play Brutal Doom and Doom (2016) in less demanding areas. Battlefield 3 did the same when I tested it so it seems to happen in all games. My GPU is an ASUS Strix 1080Ti with Windows 10 Pro as my OS. I'm also using the latest Nvidia drivers (417.22). I doubt this issue is with the monitor itself but I was wondering if any other owners of the X27 or other G-Sync monitors are experiencing this?