Access Point Reccomendation

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Dan, Feb 23, 2018.

  1. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,068
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    I'm looking to set up 2 or 3 POE Access Points on a network. I'd like the location to only have one SSID and PW and cover the entire area with no "breaks" in signal. Any suggestions on access points and the best method to go about this?
     
  2. BlueLineSwinger

    BlueLineSwinger Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    423
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Ubiquiti Unifi AP AC Pro (or HD if you really need the bandwidth) + a Cloud Key. Pretty much one of the go-tos for SOHO. https://www.ubnt.com/products/#unifi

    It's hard to say much else without knowing how it's going to be used or details of the area to be covered.
     
    Dan, AltTabbins, harvestor and 3 others like this.
  3. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,466
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Even ac lites are good as well. But unifi will make this easy as pie.
     
    Dan and MikeTrike like this.
  4. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,583
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    UniFi + Cloud Key for the controller... You technically don't need it, but it makes things just that much easier/simpler...
     
    Dan likes this.
  5. urbsnspices

    urbsnspices [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,110
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    4th for Unifi. It just works. At this point it is a mature and very stable product.

    Cloudkey is a luxury add on for a small network. Totally worth it though unless you have a strict budget. It is a little cheaper than a ubiquiti AC lite, so it it means getting one less AP, I would just get the AP.
     
    Dan and MikeTrike like this.
  6. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,466
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    or if you have any 24/7 box the cloud key is not needed. And truth be told you don't need to run the controller software 24/7. I use to on my Plex server but don't anymore because things just work. Only time I do it is to update AP firmware.
     
    ojai00 and MikeTrike like this.
  7. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,583
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    ***Or if you want it to be collecting network metrics.

    Otherwise correct, they'll run fine without it once deployed/live.

    EDIT: Some NAS appliances are also able to run it...
     
  8. thrash408

    thrash408 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    God I love ubnt products. I'm a Cisco guy, but small business or home, I stick to ubnt
     
    Vengance_01 likes this.
  9. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,466
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    I hope the OP catches the hint... ;)
     
    MikeTrike likes this.
  10. urbsnspices

    urbsnspices [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,110
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    I have it because sometimes I dont like to go down into the basement. :whistle:
     
  11. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,466
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    haha remote access...
     
  12. scobar

    scobar .

    Messages:
    34,004
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Been using UBNT since those unifi classics hit the market. Rocking an AC-Pro now and will prob add another AP shortly. The controller runs on an application server vm.
     
    Dan likes this.
  13. ojai00

    ojai00 n00bie

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Just added a UniFi AC Pro and disabled the wireless network on my AC-66u because I wasn’t getting enough coverage. I must say it’s pretty nice. I’m realizing I may need the cloud key as well. I set up the controller software on my laptop but it goes offline when the laptop sleeps. I have a media server that’s always on so I could install there but the cloud key looks so cool!
     
  14. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,466
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    great news. Just run it on the media server. Footprint is so small. Also it does not need to run unless you need to change the config or want to see stats.
     
    Dan likes this.
  15. ojai00

    ojai00 n00bie

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Thanks for the suggestion. I was thinking the same thing after posting and might go that route instead to save me $70!
     
    Dan likes this.
  16. thrash408

    thrash408 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    290
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Cloud key is worth it for side clients, but my home setup doesn't require it since my unifi camera's nvr is also my network controller which is set to never go off or sleep. If you guys don't have a computer that never goes to sleep, cloudkey is the way to go for sure.
     
    Dan likes this.
  17. HammerSandwich

    HammerSandwich [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    I've done several Unifi systems but haven't used a Cloud Key yet. Does it offer anything more than the Debian controller?

    Also, unless it's changed recently, some Unifi features - for example, guest portal - require a controller.
     
    MikeTrike likes this.
  18. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,583
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Not really. Just convenience, it's a simple PoE Linux device... If you've got an internal or external controller, the cloud key is unnecessary, plus if you're running yours as a VM somewhere, you can always crank up the specs if/when needed. The key is always limited by its hardware, at least until they release a newer one...

    cloud-key.png

    I need a PoE switch at some point, or rather I'd like to have one... Also yes, guest portal needs the controller still, and a cloud key works just fine.

    upload_2018-3-8_18-14-50.png
     
    Dan likes this.
  19. HammerSandwich

    HammerSandwich [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Thank you.

    I'm pretty cheap about this stuff, but that's not a bad price for a nicely packaged unit. You'd spend at least 50% as much building a Raspberry Pi system with storage, etc.
     
    Dan and MikeTrike like this.
  20. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,536
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Seems like everyone is on the same page at this point but +1 for unifi. I run the AC Pro's at home and numerous clients. They are cheap and just work.
     
    Dan and MikeTrike like this.
  21. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,068
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Heard you loud and clear... thanks for all of the advice. I went with Ubiquiti APs as suggested.
    I have three AP AC Pros in hand with a cloud key as well. To achieve the desired results (one SSID and PW throughout the building with seamless hand-offs between access points) what configuration type should I use for the APs? Do I want a mesh network? Noob here.
     
    Vengance_01 and MikeTrike like this.
  22. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,583
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Start here:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVS6ejD9NLZvjsvhcbiDzjw
    - Jump into his UniFi specific vids, there are some setup ones.

    And here:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/arduinoversusevil
    - Same here.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/TheTecknowledge

    This guy is helpful in general:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/FiberNinja

    Technically unrelated, but for funsies:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChWv6Pn_zP0rI6lgGt3MyfA

    That being said... Mesh is technically only if you need to extend coverage and can't hit the AP with an Ethernet cable. It'll basically bridge and extend the network wirelessly, just add power... So no, mesh is likely not what you're after. Just configure the controller and adopt the AP's, they'll basically be a "seamless" network out of the box.

    Other [H]'ers might know of better, more useful channels, however these are useful either way...
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
  23. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,466
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    nope you hit the head on the nail. If you can you reach all 3 aps with Ethernet drops you adaopt all 3 and the config will be pushed out. The only thing you will need to look out for with 3 is the power output. You want overlapping coverage but not each one over powering the other or where a client will stick to one AP long did to the power output
     
    MikeTrike likes this.
  24. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,068
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Thanks everyone. The advice was taken and I got everything running :)
     
    Vengance_01 likes this.
  25. acascianelli

    acascianelli [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,647
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Another recommendation for Ubiquiti. If you have a spare Rasperry Pi sitting around, you can run the controller software on that.
     
  26. heman22union

    heman22union n00bie

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013

    Well said
     
  27. NeonFlak

    NeonFlak Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    311
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Lots of ubiquiti love here. I was a full Ubiquiti geared house. Started having reboot problems with my AC-LRs, so decided to try a bunch of different APs. I don't know what magic TP-Link did with the EAP245, but for the price it is extremely hard to beat. Great range and great performance. Like the Ubiquiti APs you can run them as "solo" or use their EAP software similar to the Ubnt software.

    *I will say Ubnt support is amazing. I did have each AC-LR rma'd once, the replacements started having the same issue.