a little PHP help

Absentee

[H]F Junkie
here is what I would like to do in PHP:

I have a page setup that just has a bunch of links on it. each link runs a certain command on the computer the page is hosted on. so when you click on a link it goes to

http://address.com/page.php?blah=COMMAND

and just basically reloads that same page. Is it possible to easily send the command, but NOT load that page again. instead just keep it on that page without it reloading? the reason is, I want to open this page on my blackberry, and i have to wait 1-2 seconds between clicking on each command because I have to wait for the page to reload again.

a way to imagine the type of thing I want it to do, is the edit functionality on this board. it does something without actually reloading the page.

Yea, after googling a bit i figure thats what I'd need

I am a total noob to ajax though, so could anyone help me get started on the code I would need to have to:

have a regular link on a page. when you click on it, it sends a console command to the server (I use "exec("command")" in my current PHP config)
after doing that it just sits there, and stays on the same page. no reloads, no nothing.

in the meantime, I'll be reading.

Instead of making calls via the URL string, why not make each link a seperate page alltogether ..... the 'index' page would show each loadable page as a link and would not be reloaded when a link is clicked.

I don't see why ajax is needed, it is a very simple process from what I gathered.

I still don't understand why using one page is a problem. Have the page do nothing until it's given a command. While using if/else statements to see if the URL variables are set (if you are avoiding throwable warnings from PHP - depending on how PHP is setup), have it execute the command if the $_GET variable is set.

Yea, after googling a bit i figure thats what I'd need

I am a total noob to ajax though, so could anyone help me get started on the code I would need to have to: