980ti Games crash constantly saying display driver stopped working PLZ help

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by strzzy, Jan 14, 2017.

  1. strzzy

    strzzy n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    I was hoping someone might be able to help me here. I have a GIGABYTE G1 980ti in a MSI Gaming Z170A GAMING M7 motherboard. I purchased a new S2716DG Monitor from Dell. Now when I try to play any game. The game will eventually crash saying that the display driver stopped working. I updated my motherboard to the latest bios version 1.H. I installed the latest drivers including the intel chipset hotfix. I completely uninstalled all Nvidia drivers, and updates. Then did a fresh install of drivers. Lowered to 100hz-144HZ in all places, disconnected and reconnected the display port. I'm still getting this error everytime I try to game. I had no previous issues playing any of these games when my setup was hooked up to my old ASUS 60hz monitor. I'm going to try to put my GPU into a different PCI slot and see if that helps. Other then that I dont know what I should try next. Any help is appreciated!
     
  2. Sith'ari

    Sith'ari Gawd

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    1. The same GPU didn't present any issue with your old monitor?
    2. Are you using monitor's native resolution ? check NVidia control panel if it is the native resolution. What resolution is it?
    3.Have you tried the HDMI connection besides the Display port?
    4. After how much time does the game crash? starts fine and eventually crashes or does it crash from the begining?
    5. Which are these games? Is there any game that doesn't crash?
    6. What PSU are you using?
    7. What CPU? is it overclocked? does it have the stock cooler or an aftermarket one?
     
  3. Slava

    Slava 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,316
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Check GPU and CPU temperatures to make sure they're within range.
     
  4. strzzy

    strzzy n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    1. It is the same GPU
    2. Yes I set to 2560x1440 Native resolution in NVidia control panel and 2560x1440 in windows display settings with 165hz at first. Then I lowered it to 144hz and kept lowering it to see if that would make a difference.
    3. I have not tried an HDMI cable but I can. I heard HDMI cables won't support 144hz and above.
    4/5 Tried multiple games, Battlefield 1, Diablo 3, Civ 6 all of them start up fine accept at first when I had to change in game settings for each game to 2560x1440 reso. Once I did that each game loads just fine and plays smooth. Until about 5-10 minutes into game it crashes saying the display driver stopped working.
    6. Using a EVGA Supernova 750 G2
    7. CPU is overclocked to 4.7ghz with a Noctua dh15

    Sith'ari appreciate your time helping me out!

    GPU gets up to 70c during some games not much past that
     
  5. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,552
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Display Driver has stopped working errors usually happen when the video card is overclocked too much.
     
  6.  
  7. strzzy

    strzzy n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Video card was mildy overclocked to 1460mhz coreclock and 1700 memory clock. Didn't mess with the BIOS either. Even without the overclock I'm still getting the crash.
     
  8. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,552
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Load Bios defaults, Run video card at stock settings. If no crash. Overclock processor, if crash its your CPU overclock, if not , over clock your video card, if crash, its your VC settings.....Process of elimination.

    Its either a display driver issue or a overclock issue with that error message. Have you tried giving your 980ti more voltage.....if you're using Afterburner bump the Mv up to +40-50 and power target to as high as it will go, also set priority to temperature instead of power as high as it will go, you can still link them, just tick temp instead of power draw.
     
  9. Kwaz

    Kwaz Whine & Cheezy

    Messages:
    3,787
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Sounds like the new refresh rate is overloading the card. Back your clocks down to stock and retest.
     
    Sith'ari likes this.
  10. DrLobotomy

    DrLobotomy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,237
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Does Dell have a custom profile .inf file for that screen you can download? Don't always trust MS to get the right drivers.
     
  11. Sith'ari

    Sith'ari Gawd

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    So, it crashes only when you change in-game resolution to 2560x1440 ?
    -Since it crashes only after 5-10 minutes, it's highly unlikely to be caused by increased CPU / GPU temperatures.
    -Also, since your GPU didn't have any issues with your old monitor, it's not a faulty GPU, but more likely an incompatibility issue with the new monitor. Just like @ Kwaz said, "Sounds like the new refresh rate is overloading the card."

    1)First of all, i would say to use an HDMI connection to check if the problem persists. Don't know if HDMI supports >144Hz refresh rate like you wrote, you will use whatever refresh rate HDMI supports (*since we are trying to see what is the source for this incompatibility, so use the default refresh rate settings)
    2a)also, before using the HDMI, since your old monitor was operating at 60Hz, can you try this refresh rate to see what happens? (*unless your new monitor doesn't support this refresh rate)
    2b)Try lowering resolution to 1920x1080. If the problem persists, then it's more likely a refresh rate issue.

    EDIT: Hmm, from what i've seen your new monitor supports G-SYNC. Have you enabled G-SYNC at the games you have problem with ? if not enable it to see what happens.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2017
    Kwaz likes this.
  12. Kwaz

    Kwaz Whine & Cheezy

    Messages:
    3,787
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Agreed. Set your clocks to stock; see if it works, if not set refresh refresh rate to 60, see if it works, if not, set resolution to 1080p, if not run DDU and fresh install drivers.

    You may need a different HDMI cable. HDMI 2.0 only supports up to 60hz. HDMI 2.1 can do up to 4K at 120hz.

    Why aren't you running Display Port? That has all the bandwidth that you'll need and more for that monitor.

    I recommend this one https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CD1FB4E
     
    Sith'ari likes this.
  13. strzzy

    strzzy n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    I was using the display port the monitor came with. When I tried 60hz@2k with the display port game would crash within 5 minutes. Tried with my HDMI cable and has worked fine at 60hz with 2k Resolution for more the 2 hours. So is this a refresh rate issue I'm having? I thought 980ti would be good enough to run 2k at 144hz
     
  14. Sith'ari

    Sith'ari Gawd

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Don't know why this has happened.
    Did you try enabling G-Sync ?
    I believe there is a strong chance that the problem will disappear after enabling G-Sync.
    If not, ...well, keep using HDMI mode ;)
     
  15. strzzy

    strzzy n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Hmmmm I wonder if the display port cable I have is bad. G-sync is enabled in nvidia control panel. Any where else I need to enable it?
     
  16. Sith'ari

    Sith'ari Gawd

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    -I was thinking the same thing. It's a possibility.
    -Check the in-game's graphic options if G-Sync is enabled.
     
  17. Elios

    Elios [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    does re-installing the gpu driver after the crash fix it? if you haven't try that you may need to re-install the driver every reboot

    the way i finally fixed this wa pulling the card booting to windows with the cpu video then putting the card back in
     
  18. Sith'ari

    Sith'ari Gawd

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    !!!! pulling the card while booting to windows? !! Never heard something like that before! Is this a safe procedure?
    Also, the HDMI connection works properly, only the DisplayPort causes a crash. I'm starting to suspect the DP cable, and also, as i proposed earlier, i think it would be useful for G-Sync to be enabled at in-game video options.
     
  19. Elios

    Elios [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    clearly not wile the system is on....
     
  20. silent-circuit

    silent-circuit [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,133
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    I'm fairly sure this is a bad OC on the card.

    Set the card to completely stock clocks (not "stock for this card" but bone stock) and try with the higher refresh rate.
     
  21. strzzy

    strzzy n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    I tried playing games with the GPU set to stock. Still didn't work. I'm going to buy a new display port Friday when I get paid. Hopefully that works. I want to thank everyone for taking the time to help out! Really appreciate it!
     
  22. xorbe

    xorbe [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,001
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    It's probably just coincidence with the monitor change. Your 980Ti's bios probably needs a manual edit to stabilize it (aka otherwise it has failed).