8700k temps, are these normal or too high?

NIZMOZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
1,962
I have a Kraken K62, with the AIO rad mounted on the front of my S340 Elite case. See pics below.

At idle I was seeing 50-60c in silent. When I switched the Kraken to Performance, it went to 33-38c range at idle. Under load, I was doing a handbrake video, and it got up to 75c under 98% load.

I used MX-4 paste intead of the crap that NZXT provides. I did what I usually do on CPUs and did a small thin line of coolant across/diagonal on the chip. Any thoughts?

JGHZqIa.jpg


gEHO1Zx.jpg


tTd35i6.jpg


oz8YQzS.jpg
 

legcramp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
11,503
Nice RGB.


Also the temps are fine for stock and not de-lidded.
 

NIZMOZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
1,962
I ran the stability test in AIDA64, and it was never out of the 70c's for temp, it did have a fluke, at 86, but I never saw it. I noticed my mouse would stop responding every once in a while with that though.
In Prime95, got up to 87c using the small test with maximum heat.
 

Dekar12

Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
745
Temps seem about right, one thing that you may want to double check is just make sure MCE is turned off or manually set your voltages. Sometimes with Auto Voltage it is pushing way more then it needs.

For me on an Asus board, I turned of MCE initially and I was seeing high 60s after 60 minutes of running prime95. This was with a 3x120 radiator, full fan speed, etc.
I then turned on core linking, set to 4.7ghz, set the voltage at 1.2 and I get the same temps doing the same thing. So, I think the board was giving way to much voltage for stock speeds.
 

NIZMOZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
1,962
Temps seem about right, one thing that you may want to double check is just make sure MCE is turned off or manually set your voltages. Sometimes with Auto Voltage it is pushing way more then it needs.

For me on an Asus board, I turned of MCE initially and I was seeing high 60s after 60 minutes of running prime95. This was with a 3x120 radiator, full fan speed, etc.
I then turned on core linking, set to 4.7ghz, set the voltage at 1.2 and I get the same temps doing the same thing. So, I think the board was giving way to much voltage for stock speeds.

Yeah, I haven't made any changes to that from default. So it's probably turned on. I'll try to set your settings and see what happens. Any other recommendations?
 

Pillars

Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
527
Definitely fine tune - I saw high temps on auto. Also, delid is your only option for a REAL reduction in temps.
 

NIZMOZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
1,962
Temps seem about right, one thing that you may want to double check is just make sure MCE is turned off or manually set your voltages. Sometimes with Auto Voltage it is pushing way more then it needs.

For me on an Asus board, I turned of MCE initially and I was seeing high 60s after 60 minutes of running prime95. This was with a 3x120 radiator, full fan speed, etc.
I then turned on core linking, set to 4.7ghz, set the voltage at 1.2 and I get the same temps doing the same thing. So, I think the board was giving way to much voltage for stock speeds.

Can you please let me know what settings you changed? I saw multiple Voltage settings and wasn't sure what you meant by voltage at 1.2. I turned off MCE, turned CPU Cores to Sync All Cores. But that is all I did so far.
 

Dekar12

Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
745
Telling the board to sync all cores, basically will make more heat.

I can take a look at my bios tonight when I get home, I am running slightly modified, but this is what I had set when I was first got going.
I turned off MCE, I set vcore to 1.2 and left everything else at default.
So, this makes it when you are at full load across all cpus, max is 4.3 or 4.4. Single threaded or light loads some cores will go as high as 4.7.

What I am running currently with a water cooling setup is the following.
XMP profile for faster ram 3600 if I remember correctly.
MCE still off, but I sync'ed all cores to 4.7
Left vcore voltage at 1.2
And then I set AVX offset to -3 so it downclocks under AVX loads (prime95)
 

NIZMOZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
1,962
Telling the board to sync all cores, basically will make more heat.

I can take a look at my bios tonight when I get home, I am running slightly modified, but this is what I had set when I was first got going.
I turned off MCE, I set vcore to 1.2 and left everything else at default.
So, this makes it when you are at full load across all cpus, max is 4.3 or 4.4. Single threaded or light loads some cores will go as high as 4.7.

What I am running currently with a water cooling setup is the following.
XMP profile for faster ram 3600 if I remember correctly.
MCE still off, but I sync'ed all cores to 4.7
Left vcore voltage at 1.2
And then I set AVX offset to -3 so it downclocks under AVX loads (prime95)
Please let me know your settings and where they are in the menu so it makes it easier for me to find. I'll adjust them tonight. Appreciate it .
 

craigdt

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
1,068
Those temps seem fine.

Mine runs mid 80s in Handbrake.

Wanna trade?
 

sanders4617

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
114
My idle temps are in upper 20s.. but will have to check full load. I just installed my yesterday though.. so not sure how much it changes in the weeks after installing?
 

Kato1144

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
349
temps between 70-90oC are ok for operation in the moment but continuous temps at or above 72oC ish will cause wear in the forum of electron migration if memory serves me correctly. I personally like to keep my CPUs heavy load temps under or at 70oC on the hottest core on the heaviest load to insure the longevity of my CPU and overclock, that plus a moderate voltage helps alot too and at times the auto settings will give to much V core even on a default clock (my 2600k would get up to 1.4V on the core under heavy load with the early BIOS at Default clocks and my Ryzen 1700 was getting 1.36v at stock with the original BIOS, I have that clocked to 3.825GHz at 1.287Vcore and running cool on air) check your V core under load even if your not overclocking if it spikes way to high then you might want to lock it in and do some testing
 

Dekar12

Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
745
Sorry, been a bit hectic, here are the important settings, guess I did 1.25 volts, thought it was 1.2, but I haven't really done a ton of testing to do a fine tweak of everything.
The AVX offset is set too 3, so all the cores will go to 4.4ghz when presented with an AVX load, that number can be changed, but will increase temp and power needed for those load types. New versions of Prime95 will use AVX loads, so be aware when stress testing with that program the ratio will adjust down with AVX offset enabled. Sorry the quality isn't the best, but for the voltages it has everything set to auto, except for the CPU core that is manual and 1.25v. The DRAM is set manual to 1.35 because of the XMP profile only for the ram to be at 3600.
20180418_222133.jpg 20180418_222329.jpg
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
25,192
Looks like you have the PC set against a wall, meaning it is a dead space for air flow in that room. Moving it away from the wall will probably drop it a degree or two. What is the ambient temperature of the room? The delta temperature is more important than the absolute.

Also, such a small case with a GPU cooler that is expelling the hot air inside the case is going to make everything else inside warmer.
 
Top