802.1X on tomato/DD-WRT firmware

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
I have a WRT54G with the tomato firmware and i don't see anything about 802.1x and DD-WRT says it supports it but i can't find anything about it, i am looking to setup a 802.1x network for my wireless network here in my house, does anyone know a cheap router that supports this?
 

dandragonrage

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 5, 2004
Messages
8,298
You might need OpenWRT for this, though there may be DD-WRT builds including these kinds of tools.
 

MorfiusX

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Messages
3,007
In DD-WRT, when you configure encryption, if you select one of the enterprise methods, the RADIUS (802.1x) options will appear.
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
In DD-WRT, when you configure encryption, if you select one of the enterprise methods, the RADIUS (802.1x) options will appear.
in tomato when i select one of the enterprise options, WPA-Enterprise etc, i then get to choose, encryption, shared key and a field for the radius server, is this the 802.1x setup?
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
It's part of it. I figured you wanted to install a radius server.
i know how 802.1x works, but i have never set it up before, i want to set one up here in my home network for learning,

i was looking to setup that freeRADIUS server, i also have server 2003/2008 i could do that but i was wanting to try it without a AD domain just a radius server?
 

dandragonrage

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 5, 2004
Messages
8,298
If you run OpenWRT, it has a RADIUS server available. OpenWRT is harder to set up and use, though. I think DD-WRT might have one available with specialized builds, but I am not 100% sure. But you could run it on your PC if you want. I don't know what else is required as I've never set it up.

When I said I thought you wanted to install a RADIUS server, I meant on the router itself.
 

AMD_Gamer

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
18,287
just want to use the AP as the authenticator, and setup a radius server with freeradius or windows server
 

KaxyotiK

n00b
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
24
I just went through setting up a WRT54GL for WPA/Radius authentication to a 2003 server.

First off: DD-WRT was VERY glitchy during this process and I found several threads of serious problems with the current version (24sp1). I used tomato v23, and set it to wpa2/wpa enterprise and configured the server. If you haven't done radius on a 2003 server before I would recommend you find a guide- you have to set up the policy, add the device through IAS.

Switching to tomato was pretty painless- just need to preconfigure the wireless client to not authenticate the server certification (and set the router into client mode, turn off dhcp, etc.)
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
If you run OpenWRT, it has a RADIUS server available.

When I said I thought you wanted to install a RADIUS server, I meant on the router itself.
AFAIK, all of these hacked firmwares for the linksys boxes are radius authenticators, which will forward the requests to a radius server. Do you have any documentation that states that OpenWRT/any of the other support a Radius database locally?

AMD_Gamer, the radius services for win2k3/2k8 are part of IAS(which im sure you already knew) and must be joined to a domain. The Radius server for IAS uses the AD database, so you're going to need a domain controller(which can obviously be the same box).
 

xphil3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,212
Google: OpenWRT Freeradius
heh, I never connected to dots when I read about it before..... Guess that's what you get from not reading thoroughly.

AMD, I still wouldn't go with freeradius on WRT(especially if you have a better solution at your disposal).. seems like a really weak ass hack and extremely unstable from most of the stuff you can read. Then again, im sure its no surprise to anyone that Im saying that.
 
Last edited:
Top