8 Core Dell Server $1,471.73. Shipped

homerjr43

Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2004
Messages
763
Dell Business has a new and rather rare offer of an automatic 30% off all PowerEdge Servers. This is a limited time offer, and subject to change. Time to load up with that crazy server you've been longing for.

2-Quad Core Xeon 1.6 Machine for $1471.73 shipped after taxes


Quad Core Intel® Xeon® E5310; 2X4MB Cache, 1.6GHz, 1066MHZ FSB
No Operating System
2nd Processor Quad Core Intel® Xeon® E5310, 2x4MB Cache, 1.60GHz, 1066MHz FSB
Memory 1GB 533Mhz(2x512), Single Ranked Fully Buffered DIMMs
No Keyboard Option
No Monitor Option
80GB, SATA II, 3.5-inch, 7.2K RPM Hard
Hard Drive Controller
Onboard SATA Controller - No RAID
No Floppy Drive
No Mouse Option
On-Board Single Gigabit Network Adapter
No CD/DVD Drive
1Yr BASIC SUPPORT:

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=us&cs=04&kc=6W300&l=en&oc=bscwfk1&s=bsd
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,761
Don't forget to get atleast 4 fb-dimms or else your memory bandwidth is going to suffer across those 8 cores. If you opt for 667 memory, you should be able to bsel mod the 5310s to run at 1333 fsb, essentially giving yourself a free upgrade to 5335s.
 

lee0539

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
1,804
What exactly do people do with these servers? I can understand for buisness uses, but i'm talking strictly as a home computer
 

Jasonx82

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
6,704
nice, i just ordered a poweredge a week ago :D only a quad core though =(
 

Ockie

*** Self Proclaimed Storage King ***
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
18,003
What exactly do people do with these servers? I can understand for buisness uses, but i'm talking strictly as a home computer

usually they are used for business, but you get the occasional epenis clown who just wants a power house.
 

Celeryman

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
418
Dell Business has a new and rather rare offer of an automatic 30% off all PowerEdge Servers. This is a limited time offer, and subject to change. Time to load up with that crazy server you've been longing for.

2-Quad Core Xeon 1.6 Machine for $1471.73 shipped after taxes


Quad Core Intel® Xeon® E5310; 2X4MB Cache, 1.6GHz, 1066MHZ FSB
No Operating System
2nd Processor Quad Core Intel® Xeon® E5310, 2x4MB Cache, 1.60GHz, 1066MHz FSB
Memory 1GB 533Mhz(2x512), Single Ranked Fully Buffered DIMMs
No Keyboard Option
No Monitor Option
80GB, SATA II, 3.5-inch, 7.2K RPM Hard
Hard Drive Controller
Onboard SATA Controller - No RAID
No Floppy Drive
No Mouse Option
On-Board Single Gigabit Network Adapter
No CD/DVD Drive
1Yr BASIC SUPPORT:

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=us&cs=04&kc=6W300&l=en&oc=bscwfk1&s=bsd

You know your compromising my e-morality right? I've got to stop looking at this. :p

BTW, anybody know of success in placing a high end graphics card in one of these?
 

goodcooper

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,771
be hard pressed to find a desktop OS that supports that many cores...

does vista even support 8 cores?
 

MixManSC

║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
8,048
Hehe - upgrade from 1GB (2x512) DDR533 to 1GB (2x512) DDR667, subtract $14.

Problem is once you start to add in necessities like an optical drive, usable amount of RAM (cmon' you really going to try and run a quad core xeon with 1GB of ram?), hard drives, etc, etc and the price goes up very fast.
 

homerjr43

Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2004
Messages
763
after looking at newegg the price is not that spectacular...but then again 8 cores for under 1500 is hard to complain about...and all the upgrades can be done on your own...
 

Shmuckety

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,919
Would it really work that poorly with 4GB of ram? That would make 512 per core, which is descent for a regular computer. Let's say you are just using this for folding :p

 

S-B

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
1,054
Would it really work that poorly with 4GB of ram? That would make 512 per core, which is descent for a regular computer. Let's say you are just using this for folding :p


It would work perfectly fine with 4GB. It's not the amount of RAM won't matter unless you're going under 1GB, or your applications are very memory intensive and require more; what really matters is that you get enough sticks for the eight cores. A dual-core core system will do great with two dimms, but you'll really need four for these quad Xeons, otherwise you'll lose some memory bandwidth (it's been shown in some reviews of the Xeons).
 

S-B

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
1,054
Just buy the single quad-core processor, buy another one from eWiz; should come out cheaper.
 

Shmuckety

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
1,919
You can buy a motherboard and 2 of these processors for under $1100. This is not so hot anyway, but it would be cool to have.
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,761
Why? Looks to be a tower, so the stock heatsink should fit.

Ewiz has the active heatsink part number, the dells use a passive heatsink along with a plastic shroud to create the wind tunnel effect that is required with dells cooling solution for dual xeons in a tower config.

Edit: also, if you're thinking you can build this for less, don't forget you'll need a case with an intel approved thermal cooling solution, along with a power supply. Supermicro's barebones offering can be found for 1100, but then you need to buy the processors, memory, hard drive(s) and whatever else you want to add.

Granted, you could go with any old E-ATX case with an E-ATX board, but good luck keeping the FB-Dimms cool, just ask Mac Pro owners ;)
 

RooK

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Messages
1,108
if this had a PERC in it, then it wouldn't be bad at all...

of course you would need to beef it up with more ram....

but I guess if you want to waste a heck of a lotta electricity to fold, then thats your issue...

actually, isn't that sort of ironic? You are polluting the environment to fold....
 

lee0539

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
1,804
if this had a PERC in it, then it wouldn't be bad at all...

of course you would need to beef it up with more ram....

but I guess if you want to waste a heck of a lotta electricity to fold, then thats your issue...

actually, isn't that sort of ironic? You are polluting the environment to fold....

well if u live in a very cold place it can be your personal heater.
 

ICE_9

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
3,459
but I guess if you want to waste a heck of a lotta electricity to fold, then thats your issue...

actually, isn't that sort of ironic? You are polluting the environment to fold....

Run solar.:D
 

cooter

Gawd
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
872
Two potential problems:
1: No teaming NICs
2: Does not look like it have Dual PSU's.
 

masteraleph

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
435
Shame that it only has PCI-E x4 slots as a max. Even with the 8 cores and 4x1GB sticks of ram, and a RAID 5 controller with 4x250GB HDDs, it still comes out to ~$2500. Now if only you could add in a graphics card....
 

MixManSC

║▌║█║▌│║▌║▌█
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
8,048
Here's one on Dell Outlet. Freaking badass monster machine!! :eek:

PowerEdge 2900
(System Identifier: F5CC1BJE)

PowerEdge 2900 Server: Quad Core Intel Xeon X5355, 2x4MB Cache, 2.66GHz, 1333MHz FSB
No Operating System

System Price : $5,199.00
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Operating System
o Operating System
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Memory
8 GB DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz Dual Ranked (4 DIMMs)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hard Disk Drive
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
73 GB SAS Hard Drive 3.5 in(15K RPM)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Processor
Additional Processor: Quad Core Intel Xeon E5355 2x4MB Cache, 2.66GHz, 1333MHz FSB
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Bay
48X CD RW/DVD Combo Drive
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Certified Refurbished
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Base
PowerEdge 2900 Server: Quad Core Intel Xeon X5355, 2x4MB Cache, 2.66GHz, 1333MHz FSB
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hardware Upgrade
Redundant Power Supply With Y-CORD
1x2 Flex Bay
PERC 5/i, Integrated Controller Card
Tower Chassis Orientation
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Network Interface Card
Dual Embedded Broadcom NetXtreme II 5708 Gigabit Ethernet NIC
Software
Software CD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Misc
Shipping Material
No Keyboard Option
No Floppy Drive
Broadcom TCP/IP Offload Engine Not Enabled
Bezel
Electronic Documentation and OpenManage CD Kit
C11 Cable
Electronic Documentation On CD


On a side note - I just got a 2900 on Dell Outlet last week for $1890 with a single E5345 (2.33 ghz) quad core, 4GB, and 2 73GB 15K SAS drives.
 

bnolsen

n00b
Joined
Dec 19, 2006
Messages
63
Looks like a screaming deal. I may make a move on this.

Working on linux optimized image processing to handle about .5TB a day of image throughput.
The sensor that feeds this thing collects at ~360MB/s.

Btw, under real work loads you guys will probably find out that this box has about 1/4 the network throughput and about 1/6th the disk IO throughput running windows server with ntfs than running a linux distro.

(First hand experience running several clustering solutions, the stupid vendor thought windows was the rage, we just rebuilt the servers with linux and watched it everything scream).

We don't really need the IO throughput, simulating data and watching the cores go would be great.
 

SlooowJ

n00b
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
49
be hard pressed to find a desktop OS that supports that many cores...

does vista even support 8 cores?

I have an HP dual quad-core in my office running XP Pro 64-bit, and it sees all 8 cores just fine. Regular XP Pro would works too.
 
Top