7700k or 8600k for gaming?

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by Bravo25, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    I'll be replacing my failed delid 7700k today or tomorrow. I found that I can get a 8600K with motherboard for about the same price it would cost to replace my 7700K. So which one would be best for gaming?
     
  2. ssnyder28

    ssnyder28 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    They are roughly equal. The 8600k will win when games can take advantage of more than 4 cores while the 7700k is slightly better single and less than 4 core workloads however with its two extra threads it can win in some multithreaded workloads. I would go with the newer setup if price was the same though, it would allow you to upgrade to a 8700k if you wish to in the future.
     
  3. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017

    If you really can get the 8600k with board for the price of 7700k they surely do that and sell your current board. As said above they are equal and trade blows for gaming
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018
  4. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    289.99 for the 7700k before tax
    314.98 for 8600K w/ Gigabyte z370 HD3 before tax

    I no longer need built in wifi since not even the asus strix z270e can utilize my '400meg' internet. I already ran cat6.
     
    Ocellaris likes this.
  5. capt_cope

    capt_cope Gawd

    Messages:
    617
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    All things being equal I'd take the 8600k.
     
  6. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Thats the thing. I can easily afford to go with the 8700k, but I am worried it is a bad buy at this time because of DX12 and ice lake. So I just need something to get me through until 2019. Would a 7600K last me until ice lake comes out?
     
  7. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,811
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I would expect several years after that. With that said I would get the 8600K if you can.
     
  8. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    On the offset chance I messed up my current board due to a possibly bent 7700k. i'll just upgrade to the 8600k.
     
  9. ssnyder28

    ssnyder28 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Since you already have a board and everything i think getting a 7600k is the best option but if getting a 8600k+motherboad and 7700k are the same price in your scenario then the 8600k is the better choice, because you could turn around and sell your Z270 board
     
  10. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    I'd rather not drive 45 minutes one way to micro center just to find out my z270 board is also broken. Might as well get 8600k and motherboard.
     
    drescherjm and Gideon like this.
  11. ssnyder28

    ssnyder28 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,974
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    I doubt the motherboard is broken unless you bent the pins, should be easy to tell by checking the socket.
     
    Bravo25 likes this.
  12. Speedeu4ia

    Speedeu4ia Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Bravo25 likes this.
  13. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,997
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Ive got an 8600k and its a smoking fast chip for gaming and general use scenarios.
     
    Bravo25 likes this.
  14. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Glad to hear that. I plan to buy civilization 6 when it gets patched some more and want good ai turn times.
     
  15. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,997
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Yeah 6 cores will be delicious in games moving forward.
     
  16. somebrains

    somebrains Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    351
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    If you are focused on Civ 6 you might as well look for a used 7700k around $200-225.
    Don't delid this time, leave it at a gentle 4.8ghz and get a 1080ti/2080.

    I wouldn't expect a whole lot out of 6-cores or more anytime soon with this specific title.
     
    Speedeu4ia likes this.
  17. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Backup and running. The guy at micro center made a good point and I bought a 7600K instead.

    *Full Story*

    I explained to the manager what I did to my 7700K and that I am just ready to go up to a Z370 build. He asked me if I had anything on the SSD I wanted to keep. I did not think about this before hand. He said that since I have a MC credit card and I shop there so much that I can just buy a 7600K to get my system back up, save what I need to and return it for a full refund/exchange for a 8600K or 8700K. I love that store.
     
  18. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,271
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    If you eventually swap boards and have windows activation issues just go over to the For Sale/For Trade forum. There are several people selling Win10 Pro keys for about $15. I just swapped my board this weekend and had to do this.
     
    Ocellaris likes this.
  19. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    That is odd. I upgraded from my 3570K to current build with same copy of Windows 10.
     
  20. Bravo25

    Bravo25 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
  21. somebrains

    somebrains Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    351
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Most of the content creators I know use nvme for their project drives.
    Boot speed and application launch times are moot once everything is up.

    Lowering your time spend waiting for progress bars is worth the $ whether you are a hobbyist or a pro.
    There's a giant time suck.

    As far as windows reg goes, I wouldn't immediately spend anymore $, I would try the activation line firet bc component failure is common. Maybe it works, maybe it doesn't, more often than not I haven't had a problem reactivating.

    I once had to reactivate a rack full of x99 gear I'd rebuilt from x79, it all reactivated fine.
     
    Bravo25 likes this.