7 Years Ago Today Intel Launched the Core i7-2600K

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by FrgMstr, Jan 4, 2018.

  1. CombatChrisNC

    CombatChrisNC [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,131
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    You don't happen to still have that 3770K and a willingness to cut someone a deal, do you? ;)

    Maybe upgrading (as far as the mobo will allow) will be more in my sights depending on the performance hit with all these patches.
     
  2. Jovian

    Jovian Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    My 2600k had been passed down from Desktop duty to ESXi duty and serves me well to this day.
     
  3. Delicieuxz

    Delicieuxz Gawd

    Messages:
    976
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    With a good air cooler, it's OK. I have my 2600K at 1.416v, and it doesn't breach, I think, 72C during stress-testing. That's with a Noctua NH-D15. And I'm using the low power rails, to reduce fan speed and noise.

    Before the Noctua NH-D15, I was using a Cooler Master 212 Evo, and that did the job pretty well, too.
     
    Liquid Silver likes this.
  4. otherweeb

    otherweeb Gawd

    Messages:
    860
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Married a non-gamer, so sad.

    BTW....Preston Garvey called....
     
  5. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,446
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    I'm still running the slightly younger x79 platform based on the same underlying arch in Sandy-E in my daily driver.

    Overclocked to 4.8 Ghz, only very recently did new chips regularly outperform it.

    It's getting to the point where I am ready for an upgrade though. The only thing keeping me from it right now is the cost of DDR4 RAM. That shit has to come down a bit before I'll consider an upgrade.
     
  6. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,446
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000

    Yeah, unless you have the need for large quantities of RAM.

    The fact that I have LOTS of DDR3 kicking around and DDR4 is so damned expensive is whats keeping me back.
     
    Burticus likes this.
  7. JackNSally

    JackNSally Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Miss my 2500k@5Ghz :(
     
  8. MaZa

    MaZa 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,719
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    You have a better cooler than mine. I had Thermalright hr03 Macho and while it is a very good cooler a non-AVX Prime95 pushed my 2500k @ 4.8 ghz to 70c with only 1.36v. With AVX enabled temperatures rose to 80c.
     
  9. Pied

    Pied Gawd

    Messages:
    852
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2000
    My overclocked 2400K paired with a GTX 1070 gives me plenty of frames in the games I play, namely Rainbow Six and PUBG. I can't lie though, I'm looking forward to a build with many more cores - just waiting for the next golden overclocker to appear.
     
  10. Link

    Link Gawd

    Messages:
    638
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    I sure can.
     
  11. Burticus

    Burticus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,040
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Yeah this is my quandry. I've got the Ryzen upgrade itch super bad, but DDR4 is so much more than 2 years ago.... my 32gb of DDR3 and old FX8320 might have to hold out until DDR4 prices drop a bit. The cheapest I could find is 16gb of Crucial DDR4 2400 from Microcenter (with the mobo + cpu + ram bundle discount) for $165...32GB is $330. Amazon wants $200ish for decent 16gb DDR4 (Crucial isn't my favorite, but MC has it on bundle sale) When I built my Skylake i5 rig 2 or 3 years ago, 16gb DDR4 3000 cost me $100 at Fry's, which was probably $20-30 overpriced but I was in a time crunch, didn't have time to order online. I read that prices *MIGHT* come down in 2018 because Samsung is bringing more production online. We'll see.
     
  12. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Same. I have gobs (256GB+) of good 1.35V 2133+ DDR3L.
    Fortunately, I do have a Skylake 6700 rig with DDR3L, though it's just an OptiPlex 5040.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
  13. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,947
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    I had so many fond memories of running a 2600K on a WS Revo board and pushing quad 6950s thru that lil itty bitty NF200 chip frametimes be damned. We clocked those chips up to around 5.4ghz on water, mass volt party.
     
  14. WhoMe

    WhoMe Gawd

    Messages:
    827
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    I damaged my motherboard, so I took that as omen and decided to build a new system with best I could afford at the time (and I like the extra 2 cores because I multi-task a lot) but I'd still be using the 2600k if I hadn't and I keep thinking of turning into a plex server or something (the x16 slot got damaged but the onboard video works fine). Did have some troubles at first with booting but Gigabyte eventually got the BIOS fixed. 7 years, dang I miss the old days when you could get a significant speed up every year or two. I really thought we'd be near 10GHz by now.
     
  15. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    I know IPC, power efficiency, etc. have increased, but dayum, we've been f*cking around 4GHz since Core 2!
    (not counting LN overclocks of P4s)
     
  16. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,761
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    That's because we're still using silicon. ;)
     
  17. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    You do realize that we have ft of well in excess of 4GHz on Si right?
     
  18. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    810
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    That website isn't exactly the most accurate for comparisons. Throw a Westmere in there like an X5675 and crank it up to 4.4-4.5Ghz. You'll have more multitasking power than 2600K and will match and single thread performance will be about ~4Ghz Sandy.
     
  19. Reimu

    Reimu [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,625
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    I use a 2700k, and I find it somewhat odd that I still have next to no need to upgrade this thing. Sandy bridge is legendary.
     
  20. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,761
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Ah...Yeah I do.

    We were talking 'around' 4Ghz, pretty much assumed 'daily without refrigeration on consumer grade products' and around means + or - 4Ghz.
     
  21. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Never said anything about refrigeration.
    I have a 6GHz PHY circuit fabbed on old T18 process tech running on my desk at work.
     
  22. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,761
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Which in no way sounds like a daily driver consumer grade product to me.

    In terms of consumer grade products, silicon is reaching it's practical limits.
     
  23. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Consumer grade product?
    You might want to look into what Maxim makes ;)
     
  24. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,326
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    my 2500k @ 4.8 salutes you
     
  25. HoffY

    HoffY Gawd

    Messages:
    938
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    I only just recently upgraded the stock HSF to a U12S. Stock temps were ~75°C idle. and 90-95 while using it virtually all day. lol. might have been time to blow it out and re-apply some TIM. But i wasn't going to bother doing that without upgrading the HSF at teh same time. Now it idles much..... much lower. lmao :D oops. should have done it long ago.

    It was running like that for a long long time but never BSOD'd ever sinse i fixed the VERTEX 3 BSOD dilemma when i first built the system (mid 2011).