6800 series + HDMI + home theater receiver

-Axiom-

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
2,216
I have been using a Harmon Kardon receiver hooked up to my computer for sound.
Well I burned that amp up and bought another one.
The problem is that the Harmon Kardon had 5.1 channel inputs on it so I could directly connect my X-fi and get 5.1 sound.

My new receiver doesn't have these inputs.
So my question is, can I buy a 6800 series card with HDMI out and connect that to the HDMI in on my receiver and get 5.1 sound that way?
 

Haste266

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
7,750
using my 5870 the receiver acts as a secondary monitor. to get HDMI sound i have to enable the receiver as a secondary monitor in CCC. if i disable the secondary monitor, my hdmi sound completely disappears from sound devices in windows.
 

-Axiom-

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
2,216
using my 5870 the receiver acts as a secondary monitor. to get HDMI sound i have to enable the receiver as a secondary monitor in CCC. if i disable the secondary monitor, my hdmi sound completely disappears from sound devices in windows.


So it will work, I just need to fiddle with the settings?

Thank you
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,580
Go into your Sound options and on the Playback tab, there should be one labeled Digital Audio (HDMI), make that your default and you should be good to go.
 

Ryoohki360

Gawd
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
605
Yes it should work, i had a 5850 and it worked just fine. Don't forget to go into the Windows sound setting, make HDMI the default and configure the sound to 5.1 (in Vista/7, not sure in XP)
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
20,656
Yes, it'll absolutely work...and in some cases even better than the multi-analog when you watch Blu-Ray movies.
While the bundled ATI driver works fine, I recommend grabbing the special ATI HDMI audio driver from Realtek. It add some additional configuration options.
 

SoulCreatr

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
229
I use my 6870 to put audio and video through my H/K 347. Works like a champ. Just make sure to set the correct audio out for the HDMI device if you want to use that. I change mine back and forth from speakers to HDMI because I only use the avr/hdtv for movies and tv shows that I am streaming from Hulu or Netflix.
 

ito4u

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 9, 2007
Messages
88
I wonder about this because, i have a Denon amp and have never pushed hdmi audio through it...
 
Top