4K 60Hz 4:4:4 HDMI 2.0 TV Database

Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
4
Clarification/followup:
- This was using the HDMI 1 port on the Samsung UN50JU6500 TV. Haven't tested its other HDMI ports to know if they handle this or not.
- I ordered and tested two more of the above cables. They also work fine.
 

acesea

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
211
Besides the Crossover and Wasabi recent models what other screen makes and models include Displayport in addition to 4K 60Hz 4:4:4 HDMI 2.0 ports?

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
1
Got my LG figured out. I just needed to turn on HDMI-PC and turn on HDMI Ultra HD Deep color. This allowed me the RGB Unlimited setting in the Nvidia control panel.

Thanks for all the great information.

I can confirm 4K @ 60hrz 4:4:4 for 2015 LG49UF6400

Ill be happy to answer any question or run any test needed for more information.

Snowflame, would you please post a picture of your Nvidia Control Panel saying that it is 4K, 60 Hz, 4:4:4 chroma or RGB color mode, and with the "quick brown fox test also dislaying" (particularly the last two lines) at non-scaled native resolution? For the quick brown fox test, I think it actually has to be a picture of your screen, not a screenshot for this particular chroma test to work. http://www.ozone3d.net/public/jegx/201412/chroma-subsampling-test-4k-tv.png Also, did you have to do a firmware update on the TV, or did it come like that?

If the UF6400 is actually up to specs, then I probably will get one for $600. But I *really* don't want to waste $600, not do I want to have to return it.

Thanks for your willingness to do this small testing/confirmation.
 

aadik

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 15, 2015
Messages
281
Scott, don't want these LG screens, they have terrible high input lag 50+ ms
 

nomas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
250
Curious about the same.

There is also the Seiko Pro 40" SM40UNP 4K MONITOR with DP1.2 but only HDMI 1.4 inputs. It's not cheaper than WM.

I am looking for a replacement monitor. The Wasabi Mango UHD550 is the leading contender of consideration at the moment. The only downside is 60Hz limitation on all resolutions. Haven't found any 40"+ 4K monitor that can do 1080p 120Hz without skipping frames. WM has FreeSync though, and can do passive 3DTV with 3rd party software.
 

MistaSparkul

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
2,087
There is also the Seiko Pro 40" SM40UNP 4K MONITOR with DP1.2 but only HDMI 1.4 inputs. It's not cheaper than WM.

I am looking for a replacement monitor. The Wasabi Mango UHD550 is the leading contender of consideration at the moment. The only downside is 60Hz limitation on all resolutions. Haven't found any 40"+ 4K monitor that can do 1080p 120Hz without skipping frames. WM has FreeSync though, and can do passive 3DTV with 3rd party software.

The 2015 Sony 4k TVs can do 1080p 120Hz.
 

zeroidea

n00b
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
5
I recently purchased the LG 43UF6400 (~$550) based on your post, and it too has these (Deep Color, PC Mode) settings. Just thought I'd mention that, since there isn't a lot of info on the UF6400 series, just a few forum posts and comments in reviews that mention 4:4:4 capability.

Alas, my Radeon 7700 can't go above 4096x2160@24Hz.
 
Last edited:

cwiceman

n00b
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
27
I recently purchased a Crossover 404K off of eBay from "dream-seller" for $518.90 free ship. It came promptly and despite not having a remote or a US adapter for the power supply (which were mentioned in the listing so no fault of theirs) I am extremely impressed. I cannot find a dead pixel (I ordered the NON pixel perfect version) and only very minor backlight bleed. Throw away the included DP cable and buy a decent one (I bought a monoprice one for $7 shipped and it works great). Instantly detected in Win 7 at 4K 60hz 4:4:4. Might need to update to Win 10 for scaling and a couple small gfx issues but overall I highly recommend it. YMMV ofcourse.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
6
Could you guys please confirm if Samsung UA40JU6470 (http://bit.ly/1LhdQFm) and/or Samsung UA40JU6670 (http://bit.ly/1LWiPyQ) can work at 4k@60hz with 4:4:4 chroma ?

All the reviews I see are either for Samsung UN40JU6500 (USA version http://**************/1ZOfPZB ) (confirmed 4k@60hz 4:4:4) or Samsung UE40JU6740 (EU version http://**************/1MxiL2W ) or UE40JU6670 (EU version http://**************/1Pr3pTL ) (confirmed 4k@60hz 4:4:4)

There is no information available if I can use these two models as a computer monitor with 4k@60hz 4:4:4 (Samsung UA40JU6470 (http://bit.ly/1LhdQFm) and/or Samsung UA40JU6670 (http://bit.ly/1LWiPyQ) )

In my country only these two models are available from series 6. The only reason I will be buying either of these two will be for a computer monitor that can do 4k@60hz 4:4:4

P.S. I have GTX970 which can do this on HDMI 2.0

Thanks.
 

greyx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2009
Messages
503
i have Samsung UE40JU6550, it can do 4:4:4 @4k 60Hz but if you enable Game mode for lower input lag , you will only have
4:4:2
There is not a huge difference between 444 and 442
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
6
i have Samsung UE40JU6550, it can do 4:4:4 @4k 60Hz but if you enable Game mode for lower input lag , you will only have
4:4:2
There is not a huge difference between 444 and 442
I have to have 4:4:4 as I have to do professional video editing. I just dont know that If UE40JU6550 and UE40JU6400 can do 4:4:4 then can other models like UA40JU6670 and UA40JU6470 will do 4:4:4 with 4k@60hz. Because those are the only two TVs I'm getting in my country (India) from series 6 with "JU" all others are series 7 which are above my budget..
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
6
For professional editing i wouldn't buy a tv as pc monitor
I thought the same initially then I worked on samsung 50Ju7100 which my friend has, and the experience was better than on a monitor, I was using adobe after effects and adobe premier with camtasia studio. I was convinced that in small budget the only way I can get the same experience is by buying a TV because 40" 4k monitors are super expensive in my country, almost double the price of a 40" LED TV which can do 4k@60hz with 4:4:4
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
20,133
I thought the same initially then I worked on samsung 50Ju7100 which my friend has, and the experience was better than on a monitor, I was using adobe after effects and adobe premier with camtasia studio. I was convinced that in small budget the only way I can get the same experience is by buying a TV because 40" 4k monitors are super expensive in my country, almost double the price of a 40" LED TV which can do 4k@60hz with 4:4:4

I hope you calibrated it.
Your job isnt about your experience, its about your audiences experience.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
6
I hope you calibrated it.
Your job isnt about your experience, its about your audiences experience.

Yes, I did, I copied the setting from rtings review.

Any insight on my original question though ?

Could you guys please confirm if Samsung UA40JU6470 (http://bit.ly/1LhdQFm) and/or Samsung UA40JU6670 (http://bit.ly/1LWiPyQ) can work at 4k@60hz with 4:4:4 chroma ?

All the reviews I see are either for Samsung UN40JU6500 (USA version http://**************/1ZOfPZB ) (confirmed 4k@60hz 4:4:4) or Samsung UE40JU6740 (EU version http://**************/1MxiL2W ) or UE40JU6670 (EU version http://**************/1Pr3pTL ) (confirmed 4k@60hz 4:4:4)

There is no information available if I can use these two models as a computer monitor with 4k@60hz 4:4:4 (Samsung UA40JU6470 (http://bit.ly/1LhdQFm) and/or Samsung UA40JU6670 (http://bit.ly/1LWiPyQ) )

In my country only these two models are available from series 6. The only reason I will be buying either of these two will be for a computer monitor that can do 4k@60hz 4:4:4

P.S. I have GTX970 which can do this on HDMI 2.0

Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
6
As far as I am aware, all of this years Samsungs are 4:4:4 capable at 4K.
I havent seen any reports of failure.

I'm thinking the exact same, then I read reviews on how some series 6 Samsung TVs cant do 4k@60hz with 4:4:4 , so I'm really confused.
Also, in my country, we dont have a system of returning things, otherwise I would have tested it. Once you buy something, its yours, all you get is support and warranty but you cant return the product.
 

tigger1612

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 18, 2004
Messages
210
I just bought a LG 65EF9500 4K OLED set last week. Pretty sure that also supports 4K@60 4:4:4. My HTPC goes through my prepro which only supports 1080p so I can't test it just yet, but my marantz av8802a should be here wednesday and i'll test it at 4K then.
 

henry_

n00b
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
5
Hello,
I got an entry-level curved Samsung 55" (JU6550 here in Europe but I believe it's similar to the JU6700 in North America).
I get some strange flicker when set it at 60Hz 4:4:4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKaJxSXr8ls

It happens every 30 seconds or so, sometimes less frequently, there's no consistency.
No problem at 30Hz 4:4:4 or 60Hz 4:2:0.
I bought a new cable, same issue.

Before trying with a 3rd one, do you think it could be caused by the output of my Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac mainboard? Or worse, the TV? Sadly only the first input supports 4:4:4 unlike the higher end models...
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
20,133
Your motherboards HDMI gfx output doesnt support 4K 60Hz 4:4:4, it is HDMI 1.4 so doesnt have the bandwidth.
Its surprising it tries to do it.
4:4:4 needs 2x the bandwidth of 4:2:2 and 4x 4:2:0

Check their webpage, they only ever say "HDMI".
No mention of HDMI 2.0 which would be emblazoned on the page if it was supported.
http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITXac/
 

henry_

n00b
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
5
The mainboard uses the same MegaChips MCDP2800 as other brands that provide HDMI 2.0 with Z170 chipsets.

The specs say
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 24Hz / (3840x2160) @ 30Hz (on HDMI1)
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 60Hz (on HDMI2)
- Supports DisplayPort 1.2 with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2304) @ 60Hz

No idea why they never mention HDMI 2.0 though... that's a good point. But they don't mention HDMI 1.4 either.
 

Cyph

Gawd
Joined
Mar 24, 2015
Messages
812
Hello,
I got an entry-level curved Samsung 55" (JU6550 here in Europe but I believe it's similar to the JU6700 in North America).
I get some strange flicker when set it at 60Hz 4:4:4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKaJxSXr8ls

It happens every 30 seconds or so, sometimes less frequently, there's no consistency.
No problem at 30Hz 4:4:4 or 60Hz 4:2:0.
I bought a new cable, same issue.

Before trying with a 3rd one, do you think it could be caused by the output of my Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac mainboard? Or worse, the TV? Sadly only the first input supports 4:4:4 unlike the higher end models...

You need a shorter or thicker HDMI cable. It's periodic loss of signal.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
20,133
The mainboard uses the same MegaChips MCDP2800 as other brands that provide HDMI 2.0 with Z170 chipsets.

The specs say
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 24Hz / (3840x2160) @ 30Hz (on HDMI1)
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 60Hz (on HDMI2)
- Supports DisplayPort 1.2 with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2304) @ 60Hz

No idea why they never mention HDMI 2.0 though... that's a good point. But they don't mention HDMI 1.4 either.

There is no proof it uses this chip and no proof it can do 4K @ 60Hz 4:4:4 with HDMI.
NVidia cards on HDMI 1.4 can also do 4K @ 60Hz but with less than 4:4:4 colour.
 

henry_

n00b
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
5
So, ASRock released a firmware upgrade for the MCDP2800 chip (yes, the one that doesn't exist on my mainboard).
It improves things a lot but doesn't entirely fix the issue for me. I got a shorter cable too so I think I can safely rule that out now.
 

tk-don

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
324
Anyone own or have experience with the Panasonic TX-43CX740 or CX740? What is the static contrast ratio like, when disabling the dynamic backlight? Does 4:4:4 at 60 Hz work as intended?
 

Brahmzy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
4,958
You need a shorter or thicker HDMI cable. It's periodic loss of signal.

Truth. DO NOT believe the marketing cable hype. Basically the problem is a lot of new "Hi Speed" HDMI do not pass 18Gbps. EVEN THOUGH they are advertised to do so. As much as I LOVE Monoprice, their 18GBps active Redmere cables struggle passing 18Gbps. I've experienced this multiple times on 2 separate systems at home.

Image cutting out or full-on black screen are the symptoms.
I know that MediaBridge Flex cables @ Amazon do pass full 18Gbps. Notice they don't sell lengths beyond what they're supposed to for the wire gauge. Their 6ft and 10ft work great. I've tested probably 5 different cable brands for 18Gbps.
KabelDirekt 18Gbps cables are supposedly fully capable.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2015
Messages
4
Wanted to update and report that I've also had good luck with following 25 foot cable...
AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable - 25 Feet (7.6 Meters) Supports Ethernet, 3D, 4K and Audio Return
It's definitely thicker than the 6.5 foot version, which also works fine.

That's with a Geforce GTX960 graphics card and Samsung UN50JU6500 TV, running at 4K UHD 3180x2160P 60hz chroma 4:4:4, for both Windows desktop writing and gaming. Obviously, for current generation PC games, a higher end card from the GTX900 family than the GTX960 will produce better frame rates (and draw more power, check your PC's power supply). Works fine for routine Windows desktop 2D word processing and such... no fringing/smudging of text. All the 4K test patterns/images I could find look great on it. I did have to adjust the ClearType text setting in Windows, for FireFox I think... had to turn it on or off, I think off, can't recall now.
 

exe

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
292
I was wondering, do all 30hz 4K TVs do 4:4:4? Specifically the Seiki 39" 4K?
 

NoxTek

The Geek Redneck
Joined
May 27, 2002
Messages
9,300
I was wondering, do all 30hz 4K TVs do 4:4:4? Specifically the Seiki 39" 4K?


Definitely not. You have to be careful...

Like the poster above me said the popular Seiki 39" does in fact do 4:4:4 chroma.

Really at this point I wouldn't spend the money on the 39" Seiki or any other older 4k that doesn't do HDMI 2.0 or DP for 4K@60hz... at least not unless you get an insane deal.
 

exe

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
292
Definitely not. You have to be careful...

Like the poster above me said the popular Seiki 39" does in fact do 4:4:4 chroma.

Really at this point I wouldn't spend the money on the 39" Seiki or any other older 4k that doesn't do HDMI 2.0 or DP for 4K@60hz... at least not unless you get an insane deal.

I bought a Seiki SE42UMT in Canada, which I think is the equivalent to the SE42UMS models in the US. There are not that many reviews, mostly on Amazon. It has HDMI 2.0, three of them.

So the question I have is, when I run this at HDMI 1.4 at 30hz, will it display the same croma capabilities as running it at 60hz via HDMI 2.0? Basically, I want to know if I upgraded my GPU, am I going to get better croma values displayed. If the answer is no, I won't bother upgrading my GPU and will return the TV. I will use it as a desktop monitor, no games or videos, and 30hz is perfectly fine for me.

I don't know what it is displaying currently at HDMI 1.4, but my text is a little blurred, reminds me of the CRT days.
 
Top