4k 60hz 25' run

Jeffman

Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
917
Hello,

Looking for suggestions. At work, we're going to test a 43" 4k display. I need to know how to get this wired in about a 25' cable run.

Monitor will be: Dell 43" P4317Q
Graphics card: Nvidia NVS510

I assume I need a mini displayport to displayport cable. I can find some in 15', but nothing longer. I can also find some extension cables that will get me close to 25'.

Will this cause problems? Both require me to use displayport to get 4k at 60hz.
 

stewartjm

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2003
Messages
400
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15650 Is reported to work well, it should let you connect 2 cables for a 20-30' run.

I have also had some luck with: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M65D1PF Which should be able to achieve similar 2 cable run lengths. I tested it with a 6' and a 10'. It adds the feature of edid emulation, but requires power.

There are also various active cables, I don't know of the top of my head which are good.

Oops, I missed the displayport part, sorry about that.
 
Last edited:

Brian_B

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
3,356
The design spec for DisplayPort was built around 2 meters, and the maximum cable length that can be "certified" is 5 meters, which is a bit more than half the distance you are looking for. And it explains why you aren't finding anything longer than 15'.

You can run 2 DP cables with an adapter, but your almost certainly going to see some image degredation/signal loss - especially if your trying to drive 4K with some decent refresh rate.

If you drop to 30Hz you could run it over HDMI or DP->USB
 

Jeffman

Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
917
Great, thanks guys!

I assume using a mini DP to DP adapter won't cause any issues?
 

baii

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
165
Plain passive 25ft will not work unless they put some magic in it, hard lesson and shipping cost buying them at monoprice.

15ft is the max for passive.
 

Jeffman

Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
917
Try using HDMI instead of DP for long runs.

The problem with that is I need 4k at 60Hz, and both the card and the monitor only support this through DisplayPort.

Does anyone know if using DisplayPort to HDMI adapters on both ends will work? Or is there an active cable that isn't super expensive that I could run?
 

cirthix

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
223
The problem with that is I need 4k at 60Hz, and both the card and the monitor only support this through DisplayPort.

Does anyone know if using DisplayPort to HDMI adapters on both ends will work? Or is there an active cable that isn't super expensive that I could run?

It isnt a matter of hdmi cables being better, because they aren't, they are built basically the same. The point is that DP is less tolerant of failures because it tries to be too smart. If you need DP at that length, your only options are redrivers or active cables.
 

Jeffman

Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
917
It isnt a matter of hdmi cables being better, because they aren't, they are built basically the same. The point is that DP is less tolerant of failures because it tries to be too smart. If you need DP at that length, your only options are redrivers or active cables.

Bummer. I'll see if I can make 15ft work, and if not, I guess I'll look into active cables.

Thanks for the help!
 

cirthix

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
223
Bummer. I'll see if I can make 15ft work, and if not, I guess I'll look into active cables.

Thanks for the help!

You could also move the computer closer to the display and use longer usb/network/whatever cables.
 

Jeffman

Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
917
You could also move the computer closer to the display and use longer usb/network/whatever cables.

I've thought about doing that. The way our desks are set up, it won't allow us to do that easier. But we're likely remodeling in 6 months, so it's going to be taken into consideration for the new layout.
 
Top