4GHz on AMD's 65nm process!

Willsonman

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2005
Messages
1,195
I just got my opty 165 pas 3.1. Makes me feel like a little girl again. haha! Way to go! I already congratulated you in your own forum. Feels good to associate with famous people:eek:
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
i'm not famous :ninja:

I would like to point out though that while your chip is doing 4.0ghz x2, your bus speed is still low

cold bug. when you chill these chips, the maximum HTT you can do drops DRASTICALLY. plus, HTT and HT link speed have no effect on performance whatsoever, so it's all cool. just raise the multi and giggle at the results :D
 

BigMacAttack

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
1,563
That's what I call kickin' it! Way to go! Now I'm salivating...wanting one of these little beasts.
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
That's what I call kickin' it! Way to go! Now I'm salivating...wanting one of these little beasts.
then pick one up, while impractical in the face of the blue team, it's not really that expensive :p

congrats on that beast of a cat, be sure to keep the dry ice away from him.

i was worried about that actually, but he was smart enough to realize that it's dangerous. i think the co2 fumes gave it away :p

since everyone seems to love him.. ;)

DSCF7547.jpg

DSCF7418.jpg
 

zoom314

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
173
This is madness!

I agree, This is a Fantastic Overclock, But while Some may not care this could have been done with refrigeration instead I'd have thought, As Dry Ice turns into Carbon Dioxide Gas(a Greenhouse Gas or the atmosphere of Venus and this equals Extinction if there is too much of this gas), This gas is public enemy No1 as this Gas is responsible for making our planet very much hotter. :(
 

zoom314

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2004
Messages
173
then pick one up, while impractical in the face of the blue team, it's not really that expensive :p



i was worried about that actually, but he was smart enough to realize that it's dangerous. i think the co2 fumes gave it away :p

since everyone seems to love him.. ;)

DSCF7547.jpg

DSCF7418.jpg

Yep the Kitten is cute, But no Cat, Human or any animal can breath CO2 gas, So keep the Cat away as It's a heavy gas. :eek:
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
I agree, This is a Fantastic Overclock, But while Some may not care this could have been done with refrigeration instead I'd have thought, As Dry Ice turns into Carbon Dioxide Gas(a Greenhouse Gas or the atmosphere of Venus and this equals Extinction if there is too much of this gas), This gas is public enemy No1 as this Gas is responsible for making our planet very much hotter. :(

Yep the Kitten is cute, But no Cat, Human or any animal can breath CO2 gas, So keep the Cat away as It's a heavy gas. :eek:

yeah, i put him in the dry ice box to see what he would do! :confused:

come on, give me a break, i'm not stupid. :p

1. dry ice is made from the carbon dioxide in the air. take it out, put it back in. no difference aside from the energy used to compress and cool it into a solid. it doesn't "turn into carbon dioxide", it IS carbon dioxide all along, just in a solid when i put it in the tube.
2. i am very well aware of the dangers of dry ice and ln2, and had that all sorted out before hand. windows were open with a ventilation fan in one of them.

that said, let's not soapbox my thread with insinuations of animal neglect and rantings about global warming, k? ;)
 

Duster

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
5,838
I agree, This is a Fantastic Overclock, But while Some may not care this could have been done with refrigeration instead I'd have thought, As Dry Ice turns into Carbon Dioxide Gas(a Greenhouse Gas or the atmosphere of Venus and this equals Extinction if there is too much of this gas), This gas is public enemy No1 as this Gas is responsible for making our planet very much hotter. :(

well by using dry ice your not releasing any more CO2 into the air. dry ice is made by taking CO2 from the air and compressing it until it becomes a liquid then freezing. So no CO2 is gained or lost here just states are changed. You make more with breathing

As for the OC very very nice... would like it to be done with water or air but still cool

EDIT: got beaten to the punch it seems oh well
 

mrkram

Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
564
grats man...... nice to see you pushed this chip that far! i read a couple of your guides when i was first getting into overclocking.... maybe one day ill step up too the d-ice level(im on a pretty nice wc setup now.) Grats again
 

ClariorHincHonos

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
1,972
Eclipse=the shit

Question for you. Should I push my Opt 170, or grab one of these and push it on an Abit NF-M2 nView?
 

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
Eclipse=the shit

Question for you. Should I push my Opt 170, or grab one of these and push it on an Abit NF-M2 nView?

You'll probably get higher clocks out of the 5000+ BE. The only problem I see with this is that the NF-M2 nViews are hard to find, they are little beasts though mine hit 390FSB. =)
 

ClariorHincHonos

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
1,972
You'll probably get higher clocks out of the 5000+ BE. The only problem I see with this is that the NF-M2 nViews are hard to find, they are little beasts though mine hit 390FSB. =)
hehe. Well, I've got one, so that's covered. I also have two 3600 Brisbanes...just wondering about the cache mostly.

*Edit-I'll post my own thread on this. Don't want to take anything away from the achievement.
 

Ace123

Anal Rooter
Joined
Oct 3, 2003
Messages
404
Holy crap, your cat looks EXACTLY LIKE MY CAT! Even the black markings on the head.

2427045850101286714S600x600Q85.jpg

2374702250101286714S600x600Q85.jpg
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
Eclipse=the shit

Question for you. Should I push my Opt 170, or grab one of these and push it on an Abit NF-M2 nView?
push the 170 and grab an agena later ;)

Holy crap, your cat looks EXACTLY LIKE MY CAT! Even the black markings on the head.

wow, he does. that's awesome. we have twins! is he totally affectionate and generally an attention whore as well? :D
 

N_Raged

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
446
Way to go Eclipse! It's been two years since my first build, and I you are still my #1 source of OC information.
 

APOLLO

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2009
Joined
Sep 17, 2000
Messages
9,089
I agree, This is a Fantastic Overclock, But while Some may not care this could have been done with refrigeration instead I'd have thought, As Dry Ice turns into Carbon Dioxide Gas(a Greenhouse Gas or the atmosphere of Venus and this equals Extinction if there is too much of this gas), This gas is public enemy No1 as this Gas is responsible for making our planet very much hotter. :(
Zoom is that you? I'm Apollo from 2CPU.com. I remember your trials and tribulations with the SM H8DCE from the summer/fall of 2005. I didn't know you're here as well. :)

NO....

THIS IS HARD|OCPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!:eek:
MOΛΩN ΛABE!!!



 

Simpson5774

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
2,937
The kittens are cute..., but I mean like 90% of them are, and they can be used in almost any way to promote anything on the internet. I know AMD has spent a lot of money on marketing as of late (atleast I think so), and I know they have the ultimate weapon to promote their chips, by unleashing the (teh) kittens, I mean how can you say no, HOW CAN YOU!?.

With all of that being said congrats on getting 4ghz on 65nm.

Let me ask this just to judge how far 65nm has come. When was the first time a 90nm x2 has broken 4ghz? (also has any 939s hit 4ghz? on an x2?), I ask both of these questions because its late, and searching through xtremesystems.org isn't the easiest task.

Dispite the above remarks, I am an avid fan of kittens, unforunatly im also allergic.
 

el rolio

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Messages
2,495
great job mane!
kittens, dfi mobos and WR from the bastard child amd chips. ahhhh, thats eclipse-OC for ya.

fitting reason for my first post in months! so as the guys say, new post with some high benches. i mean it might make us cry to see that 4ghz or 3.8 or whatever you can get it to superPI at still returns funky times, but we wanna see it!

congrats again. tsue is gay
euro-roli
 

AtkinS

Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
811
Nice OC man, Amd's go far, but the limit of the cpu's are kinda like this

on my cpu 2.9 ghz fine. 2.91 ghz... full windows CRASH!.

i got a 939 4400+ 2mb cache 110 watts, running on water. i can tell ya, i prolly know what ya mean about the last 10 mhz.

I hope the phenom doesnt have locked multipliers as well. would be overkill :D
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
What breed is your cat?

no idea. his mom is a mix of stuff and the father is unknown

Let me ask this just to judge how far 65nm has come. When was the first time a 90nm x2 has broken 4ghz? (also has any 939s hit 4ghz? on an x2?), I ask both of these questions because its late, and searching through xtremesystems.org isn't the easiest task.

the first amd chip ever to hit 4ghz was a 130nm clawhammer in april of 2005
first 90nm was a san diego also in 2005, either in may or june.
65nm has been suckage up until G2 was released, so it took a few years :p

Intel better buck up...

intel is fine for now. even if i could get it stable at 3.5ghz, it's no match for a conoe based system at a similar speed, which isn't too uncommon.

fitting reason for my first post in months! so as the guys say, new post with some high benches.
i'll work on it.
i agree about jimbo btw ;)
 

Arcygenical

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
25,068
Major grats to you Eclipse. That's so awesome, that I used the word "Grats" when I don't even play WoW, and despise it dearly.
 

Simpson5774

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
2,937
I know we hit 4 ghz on 130nm SC's, I was talking about dual cores.

Intel doesn't need to buck up for shit, when you got 2 cores at 4ghz (which was basically for a pic) of AMDs, then you got these new QX9650s going up to 6 ghz, on 4 cores, that tells you how behind AMD really is. I don't think anyone is going to get a phenom to 4 ghz, not intil they run thru a stepping first.
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
ah, first duals to hit 4ghz... hmm, that's actually a really good question. i'm not sure exactly, but i feel like it was late last year. i can't find anything though
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
2,957
first dualy to hit 4ghz was a 6000+ on vapochill. marky, you shoulda known this! and it happened a few weeks after the 6000+ launch.

but lets be serious, if i hadn't murdered my 4200, that woulda been the first 4ghz dc. =[ im still bitter about that.

PS! I FOUND THE UNDOCTORED VERSION OF THE PICTURE OF VIKING ABOVE!!

viking.jpg


roflcrapterz!
 

alg7_munif

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
5,862
first dualy to hit 4ghz was a 6000+ on vapochill. marky, you shoulda known this! and it happened a few weeks after the 6000+ launch.

but lets be serious, if i hadn't murdered my 4200, that woulda been the first 4ghz dc. =[ im still bitter about that.

The 6000+ is not a 65nm CPU...
 
Top