4 Weeks with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 SLI @ [H]

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by FrgMstr, Oct 30, 2014.

  1. 1o57

    1o57 Gawd

    Messages:
    847
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Just bought dual GTX 980s for a 4K SLI build (a Christmas gift to my girl)-

    I wound up going with the GIGABYTE GV-N980G1 version of the card.

    I've always used AMD for my builds, so this will be my first foray into the world of NVidia-

    Other than the flexible SLI bridges that come with motherboard purchases, I've only been able to find two, one from EVGA and one from NVIDIA. Any thoughts on these or others?
     
  2. Fort_Major

    Fort_Major Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    425
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    I am curious if anybody knows whether the HDMI 2 on these video cards actually output HDMI 2 at 17.x GBs as opposed to the 10.x GBs that a lot of HDMI 2 solutions that are coming out.

    It seems like, according to reports that almost everybody that is advertising HDMI 2 solutions are even advertising that they're doing 4k @ 60 but don't bother to mention that their HDMI output is still limited to 1.4x speed and they're using the software trick of downsampling the color space to accomplish said task.
     
  3. 1o57

    1o57 Gawd

    Messages:
    847
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Update on the SLI bridges from Nvidia-

    If anyone is interested, the SLI bridges that are listed on Nvidia's page as OUT OF STOCK aren't actually out of stock. I ordered a few last week, and they just got here.

    As far as SLI bridges go, the only one's I've found are the EVGA, NVIDIA, and the flexible ribbon type that come with motherboards.

    You can see the official NVIDIA bridges here
     
  4. Relayer

    Relayer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Leave it to nVidia to turn a negative into a positive. SLI bridges need to go the way of the dinosaur and they need to move up to a system like AMD has with XDMA. nVidia puts lipstick on them though and cons people into paying extra for them.

     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2014
  5. lundrog

    lundrog [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,234
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    I'm liking my New cards in SLI thus far, Day 3.

    :0)
     
  6. shadow85

    shadow85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Hey guys I have 2x MSI GTX 980 Gamings and I was gona sell them and hold out for possibly 2x AMD 390X but it seems that is even further away now.

    So I was thinking of just grabing another GTX 980 Gaming and run it 3-way SLI, as I need a lil more power to run games at good frames @ 4096x2160 on my LG 4K monitor.

    But I have a Corsair AX860 PSU, was wondering is this enough juice for 3x 980's or should I upgrade to atleast AX1200i?

    Also running a i7-5930K @ 4.2 GHz is this enough to releave any bottleneck?

    All this is inside a Luxe case, will I experience any heating problems with a 3x MSI 980 gaming setup?
     
  7. Quartz-1

    Quartz-1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,257
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    860W is more than enough for tri-SLI.
     
  8. shadow85

    shadow85 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    489
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Are you sure? Most review sites use atleast 1000W for 3 way SLI GTX 980.
     
  9. DejaWiz

    DejaWiz Oracle of Unfortunate Truths

    Messages:
    18,962
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Who gives a shit, honestly? AMDs solution works, nVidias solution works. I find the new reference style HSF and matching SLI bridges aesthetically pleasing when integrated into a system chassis with similar design themes. Downside is, yeah, there's an added cost to it all. Not something I'd ever spend the extra money on (never mind the red and black themed Asus and Corsair parts in my sig :p ), but to each their own. If I were the CEO of a tech company, I'd sure as hell be doing similar shit to make extra revenue. Like branding mediocre SSDs and RAM modules then tacking on a price premium because customer mindset "ooh all my shit is matchy-matchy".
     
  10. ghostyclaw

    ghostyclaw Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Thank you for the sweet review Kyle, is the 970 SLI next! :)
     
  11. datap1mp

    datap1mp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    They are all functionally the same, just aesthetically different
     
  12. w00t69

    w00t69 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    The only reason the price is what it is is because of the 980 gtx. So give it some thanks :D
     
  13. DooKey

    DooKey [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    The only reason the price of the 290X is so low is because AMD is conducting a fire sale.
     
  14. DejaWiz

    DejaWiz Oracle of Unfortunate Truths

    Messages:
    18,962
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Fixed that for ya. ;)
     
  15. datap1mp

    datap1mp Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Competition is a wonderful thing.
     
  16. kierwest

    kierwest n00b

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    I dont see how this is worth the 4k setup
     
  17. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,168
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Good review, thanks Kyle.

    I recently picked up a 980 in preparation for Witcher 3. I'm contemplating swapping my 30's out for Phillip's up-coming 40" 4k monitor, but honestly am hoping something curved with a better refresh rate comes along first. Either way, I think SLI is once again in my future and this article was helpful.
     
  18. Liquid_Static

    Liquid_Static Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    We'll really need big maxwell for a solid 4k experience. Good to know.
     
  19. dscherf

    dscherf [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    I've played with two WoW clients open if I need to trade something with my wife's toon and she doesn't feel like playing or use one of her high-level toons to run one of mine through a dungeon (with mine on auto-follow, of course). If I happen to have a lull in the game I can fire up MoO ][ in DosBox for some empire building. :D (Not that MoO ][ would even stress the system at all at that point, but I don't think playing more than two games is unheard of.)