3rd gen Threadripper chips

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by gigatexal, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,155
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    im hoping that hey come out soon so I can cop a 2920X or 2950X for cheap. The chips are reasonably priced I guess but the motherboards are so expensive
     
  2. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Gawd

    Messages:
    695
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Current best guess is July 7th (7/7 for Ryzen 7)
     
    gigatexal likes this.
  3. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,583
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    I wouldn't expect next gen tr until fall. Likely October - in the meantime the 1st gen tr are a good deal - 1950x is same price as a 2920 and you get 4 more cores at only ~250mhz lower speed.
     
    STEM and gigatexal like this.
  4. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    20,988
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    I'd guess fall as well to give aibs time to work on the pcie 4.0 boards for TR.
     
    gigatexal likes this.
  5. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,155
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Does the 1950X have the XFR and PBO overclocking? I like the idea of not having to mess with it but put a fat cooler on it and let it run with the added thermal headroom
     
  6. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    XFR - yes. PBO, no.

    The Gen2 Ryzen/TR chips use a more aggressive version of XFR though.
     
    gigatexal likes this.
  7. STEM

    STEM Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    The Threadripper 1950X at $600 is probably the best deal ever for a 16 core CPU. There is no reason to get the 2950X unless you want automated overclocking. Still, I would save $300 and invest it in a good motherboard. The ASUS Zenith Extreme is still an excellent motherboard, and ASUS actively supports it with new firmware updates. I don't see why anyone would get something like a 9900K over this unless you play games all the time and don't multitask.
     
    gigatexal likes this.
  8. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,786
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    2950x I have supports XFR and absolutely has PBO
     
  9. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,739
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    He was asking about 1st gen TR.
     
  10. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,786
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Oh the way it was written misled me no worries
     
    gigatexal likes this.
  11. Jandor

    Jandor n00b

    Messages:
    52
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Take care. There is a whole post about a guy who says his computer was DOA and tried several X399 boards with 2950 and later 2970 Threadripper. Finally sent everything back and went Intel. I've seen all suppositions about his problem except the BIOS, which is the more obvious.You may need to update the BIOS to make the Threadripper 2000 compatible with the X399 board. The chipset hasn't changed and many boards may be sold with quite an older BIOS.
     
  12. gigatexal

    gigatexal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,155
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
  13. STEM

    STEM Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    It is most likely the lack of an updated BIOS with the correct AGESA version that supports Threadripper 2. That can happen on X299 as well if you get a motherboard that was manufactured prior to ~October 2018 and you try to install a 9th Gen Skylake--X CPU (though it's just a 7th Gen with soldered IHS and Intel is now using the HCC die for all Skylake-X 9th Gen models).

    Don't bother, it's not even entertaining. But if you must, here: https://hardforum.com/threads/friend-building-new-ryzen-2950x-system-doa-no-matter-what.1977602/
     
  14. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,786
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    There's more to that story than the OP is admitting. Use a huge grain of salt when reading.
     
    alxlwson, N4CR and gigatexal like this.
  15. STEM

    STEM Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    I've built a bunch of Threadripper systems, and they all work fine to this day. I used Gigabyte and ASUS motherboards. If you could please point out what I'm missing, I would be very grateful because time is limited for me today, and if you already caught it then there is no point in me looking for it. Thank you.
     
  16. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,786
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I'm not gonna go and reread the whole thread but OP reported using like 3 different mother boards and 3 different cpus. Nothing worked. The OP wouldn't admit or deny that he/she/they or whomever is the person having problems if it was user error installing. I've built literally hundreds of PCs. In high school in the 90s I was an employee that mass built systems. And to this day I've built countless others. I've built at least 4 threadrippers and 3 x299s. Not a single issue. So I'm not sure what the true story underlying the OPs thread really was but it stinks of builder error somewhere in the process. No one tries 3 chips and motherboards without success even admitting they changed power supplies etc without some installation error.

    So there is some salt in the thread but not sure where.

    I am adamantly opposed to some claim of bios updates when concerning that thread.
     
    STEM likes this.
  17. STEM

    STEM Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    I concur.

    The entire thing sounds fishy indeed.
     
  18. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    20,988
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    except that most x399 come with the option to update the bios without a cpu even installed so that wasn't even the reason.. the problem lies in the fact that it was required to installed a bridge bios before the actual TR2 bios.. most people that screwed boards up are due to failing to install the bridge bios first.

    that persons issues weren't due to bios and most likely were due to user error.
     
  19. STEM

    STEM Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    How can you tell which one is the bridge BIOS? I notice on the Zenith Extreme that BIOS Flashback would work only with certain versions of the BIOS.
     
  20. sirmonkey1985

    sirmonkey1985 [H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010

    Messages:
    20,988
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008

    usually when you go to the bios download page it'll say "must be installed after so and so bios" or it'll just say bridge bios but looks like asus doesn't do that. i'd probably say install the bios where 2nd gen TR support is added then update to the latest bios. i know for sure asrock uses bridge bios. if you go look at the x399 taichi bios page you'll see what it looks like.
     
    STEM likes this.
  21. STEM

    STEM Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Thank you for the info.
     
  22. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    5,547
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    On that thread, he did update(still locked though) and say he had to change the ram out due to compatibility issues with the i9. Sounds to me the RAM was the problem all the time.