390.65 drivers hosed my 4K display!

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by piratepress, Jan 10, 2018.

  1. piratepress

    piratepress [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,385
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    FYI: Never had a problem running Nvidia drivers for the past 20 years, but these borked my video card!

    After installing them I couldn't select 4K no matter what I tried. I finally did a clean install of 388.71 and it fixed it.

    Just a warning to those who are considering installing them!
     
  2. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,550
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Yeah I just tried the newest 390 drivers this evening and it to was the first time I've had a bad experience Installing nvidia drivers in many years! Epic fail!

    I also have a 4k screen. Had no problem in 4k mode. It it lost the color profile of 4:4:4. Only could select 4:4:2 I believe it is.

    Screen was all darkish before changing the selection.

    I used ddu before and both times I tried to reinstall them and the same.

    Also at first the screen was totally hosed.. white/grey streaks or lines.. barely make out where the windows start button was to reset the pc.. thst happend both time on first boot up after installing it. Removing the monitor cable and reinserting seemed to fix it.

    Installed the 388.71 drivers and it was fine.

    So much for getting the new security fix!
     
  3. Lmah2x

    Lmah2x Gawd

    Messages:
    587
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Did you happen to check if you had "Dynamic Range" set to full on the resolution section of NVCP? I know there's been issues with that in the last few drivers. 390.65 is working great for me, but I'm at 3440x1440.
     
  4. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,550
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Nope.. always limited and I checked it.
     
  5. Riccochet

    Riccochet Necrodancer

    Messages:
    23,886
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    No issues on my 1440 display. Drivers working normally.
     
  6. piratepress

    piratepress [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,385
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Mine worked fine at 2560x1440 too, but the problem was that it was my maximum resolution, and not the 3840x2160 it should have been.
     
  7. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    10,955
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    I had that typical problem where the colors keep or resetting washed out so I uninstalled Geforce experience and that worked. After like 20 seonds the colors would return to default for some reason I think Geforce experience was loading a color profile for a game or some bug.
     
  8. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ardOCP Motherboard Editor

    Messages:
    53,579
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I installed the 390.65 drivers and I haven't had any issues. In fact, Battlefront II was practically unplayable on the last few releases, and it's better now. HDR was totally broken in Mass Effect Andromeda for the last 5 or 6 driver revisions. 390.65 fixed that too. I'm at 4K and I've been very pleased with these drivers.
     
  9. Dullard

    Dullard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    I run a modded BIOS on my Titan X Maxwell cards, the newest drivers pop an error if they have anything other than stock BIOS. So last night I finally let the fall creator's update come through, but didn't let it install any drivers, so it just wiped me back to VGA res on my 4K screen and no video driver. Re-installed the older (don't recall the number, it was the one that unlocked the Xp compute or whatever - run the same driver on my Xp rig) and was back in business.

    Not the issue you guys are having, but Nvidia and Microsoft seem to be working together to try to bust my chops. I accidentally let Windows install new Nvidia drivers on my HTPC with a W10 update and it busted my HDCP, I might try rolling back those drivers but I already re-wired stuff now.
     
  10. jacuzz1

    jacuzz1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,811
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    normal here except every once in awhile, my screen goes black for a few seconds and then comes back.
     
  11. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Similar problem for me too on my 4K Sony TV.

    Had to roll back to 388.71 as it kept resetting my colour output to limited from full on every boot.

    First time I've had to roll back a driver in over half a decade!
     
    revenant and eclypse like this.
  12. JCNiest5

    JCNiest5 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,607
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Has this been fixed, anyone knows? Also, is it only a problem on the 4K display? Or even at 1080?
     
  13. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,985
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    I'm going to hold off on updating my gaming rig vid drivers me thinks. ;)

    (thanks for the heads up... I run a 4K tv off my gaming rig too)
     
  14. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    390.77 Release notes:

    [GeForce GTX 1070 Ti][NVIDIA Control Panel]: The NVIDIA Control Panel->Output Dynamic Range setting does not persist but switches from Full to Limited after rebooting the system. [200378878]

    ...and resolved.
     
    AlexisRO and pendragon1 like this.
  15. eclypse

    eclypse 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,550
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Can only get the nvidia color profile 4:4:2 this time on my Samsung 4k screen.. last driver set messed the whole screen up.

    Hopefully maybe on the next release I'll be back to 4:4:4. :/