3800x + Corsair 32GB Kit Latency?

supra21

n00b
I have a Gigabyte Aorus Master x570 (F34 Bios), 3800x in PBO mode and 32GB of Corsair CMT32GX4M4C3200C16 (4x8gb) ram.
I only use this pc for gaming at 1440p@120hz / 4K@60hz, so did not see the benefit in going to 3600mhz with looser timings.

I have been tightening the timing of the ram at 3200mhz to as low as they can go in order to reduce latency. This is the best I've gotten them to:
Zen-Timings-Screenshot.png
With the XMP profile running the latency test in AIDA64 a few times lowest I get is 76.4ns. With the timings above its around: 73.7ns. Is there anything else I can do to get the latency lower or is this normal / expected?

I would try loosen timings and see what frequency you can get it up to as it may do 3600+ just fine depending on what chips it has.

tRFC can come down. Probably a lot. tRTP also looks too high, especially since you tightened tRAS so much. Half of tWR is the rule of thumb for that one. You can try 4/6/24 or possibly 4/6/16 for tRRDS/tRRDL/tFAW. Good kits can do 4/4/16 easily at 3200/1.35V, but yours is C16-rated, so who knows.

Your tRC value is invalid. It can't be less than tRP+tRAS.

Anything else will probably need more vDIMM.

Last edited:
tRFC can come down. Probably a lot. tRTP also looks too high, especially since you tightened tRAS so much. Half of tWR is the rule of thumb for that one. You can try 4/6/24 or possibly 4/6/16 for tRRDS/tRRDL/tFAW. Good kits can do 4/4/16 easily at 3200/1.35V, but yours is C16-rated, so who knows.

Your tRC value is invalid. It can't be less than tRP+tRAS.

Anything else will probably need more vDIMM.

Thanks for the tips, I managed to tighten the timings more with your advice but latency result is still 73.7ns. For some reason even though I set tRTP to 7 it just sets it to 8, no idea why. I think I can set it to 6 and that sticks.
If I lower the tRFC any lower than 408 I get BSOD.
ZenTimings_Screenshot new.png