3800+ Windsor (65w) or 3600+ Brisbane

laptop

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Messages
247
I have a 3800+ Windsor and was wondering if a 3600+ Brisbane would be better.
My 3800+ (65w) will oc to 2.8 on air but I am worried about the volts (1.7v).
I have a 3600+ on the way for my friends build and plan to test its OC on my board.
If the 3600+ will go to 3.0 like I have been reading will this outperform the 3800+ at 2.8 by a margin I will notice in the real world? Also what voltage is to high for the 65w proc?
I also noticed my 12v rail dips to 11.8v when under load. Is this a big deal?
My system is as follows.
Tforce 550
3800+ Windsor (65w)
a-data pc2-800 2x512
GeForce 7600gt
Ultra v series 500w FAR Fry's deal.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
30,104
I run a TForce550 board and only can get 2.4Ghz-2.6Ghz out of my Brisbane 3600+ FWIW. Personally, I think 1.7V is a little high for a 90nm CPU on air. I think 1.55V is about all I'd give it. I would probably keep the 3600+ as they seem to OC further on less voltage. I'd give the 3800+ to my friend (as long as the voltage hasn't killed it). I'd probably shoot for the same 2.8Ghz just without the excessive voltage.

11.8V on the 12V rail isn't too bad.
 

BigMacAttack

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
1,563
Well, being on a different socket altogether it may be a moot point but my s754 3000+ Venice (90nm SOI) runs at 1.7v with no issues whatsoever (1.4v stock) with a really good hsf. If your stock voltage is somewhere in the 1.3-1.35v range then yes, I'd say 1.7v is a bit much. I'd say max it at 1.65v for the 3600+. If your 3800+ runs fine up there then what's the injury? Enjoy the power.
 

firewolf

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
389
1.7V will kill your CPU. 1.55V should be the max for dual core, especially the newer AM2 chips. Brisbanes can usually hit 2.8GHz on stock or close to stock volts.
 

laptop

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Messages
247
I droped my volts to 1.4 and lost 200mhz. Default is 1.25 (low watt cpu).
I tightened the timings up a bit though. I guess I will see what I can get out of the 3600+.
If I get more I will keep it. If not then he gets it. Glad to hear 12.8 is ok. I never woried about it before.
I had a TTGI that just died. Great power supply but quite old.
 

Deliximus

2[H]4U
Joined
May 29, 2001
Messages
4,072
if you can find a F3 stepping of 3800+ EE than do that instead.
F3s are getting around 3.1-3.4ghz on stock or near stock voltage. it's the same stepping as the 6000+
 

quadnad

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
7,656
if you can find a F3 stepping of 3800+ EE than do that instead.
F3s are getting around 3.1-3.4ghz on stock or near stock voltage. it's the same stepping as the 6000+

Yes sir. However, it look as though he made his choice already.
 
Top