3733 DDR4 16gb kit $93 on Amazon

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by TheHig, Jun 14, 2019.

  1. TheHig

    TheHig Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    SamirD likes this.
  2. DTN107

    DTN107 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,781
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Timings: 17-21-21-41
     
    jmilcher, arnemetis, Jim Kim and 2 others like this.
  3. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    6,261
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I wonder how well Zen+ would fare with these
     
  4. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    54,634
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I've got some 8GB DDR4 4000MHz modules with even worse timings than those. 19,23,23,45. :eek:

    I'm in the process of answering that question for an article. The idea is to see how AMD and Intel CPU's respond to low latency RAM at lower clocks vs. higher latency RAM at higher clocks.
     
    Phattio, F.E.A.R., Anh N. and 5 others like this.
  5. TheHig

    TheHig Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Read something somewhere that said cas16 3733 may be a sweet spot for Ryzen 3000. Looking forward to seeing what you find.
     
    pfc_m_drake likes this.
  6. BrotherMichigan

    BrotherMichigan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Should be Hynix CJR with those timings, so should fare pretty well even on current-gen Ryzen parts.
     
    N4CR likes this.
  7. Mav451

    Mav451 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,528
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    TheHig You're probably thinking of about this slide. F0C5g6o.jpg
     
    Phattio, SolidBladez, N4CR and 4 others like this.
  8. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Saw this earlier, but don't recognize the seller. Buyer beware. ;)
     
  9. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,885
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Thats exactly what my Corsair 3000 C15 clocks to in my Intel board, 3733MHz C17.
    Question is, will it do the same in an AMD board?
     
  10. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    54,634
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Not necessarily. You can't know without trying.
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  11. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    I really want to know how Ryzen 3 is going to react to having 4 DIMMs speed wise. I have 16GB of 3200 now that I would like to bump to 32GB...

    ADDING another 16GB kit is the cheapest way to go but if 4 DIMMs limits the speed then I would just get a 32GB 3600 kit and call it a dsy....

    While prices are in a nice decline, I think the launch of Zen2 is going to cause retailers to add a price premium on higher speeds kits... I would buy this kit now but it would be out of the return window before Zen2 launches.
     
    N4CR likes this.
  12. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    6,261
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    N4CR likes this.
  13. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Also, I am curious if that AMD slide applies to Zen 2 (reguardless of the x370/470/570) as a whole on any platform or if it only applies with a paired x570 board.

    I am not spending $300-500 on a x570 board when I have a fairly decent x470 board.
     
    TheHig likes this.
  14. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,590
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I'd go with any of the ones that can get you at or sub 69ns latency. Thats gonna be the sweet spot. The rest is just raw data transfer rates which mean NOTHING in gaming and not much at all in productivity at these speeds already.
     
  15. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,116
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    anyone tried these on the old ryzen 1700x ?
     
  16. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    True that
     
  17. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    And by decent you mean ?
     
  18. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,715
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Let’s click on the seller first. You may not recognize it but always helps to click on the name and see reviews. How about 100% 4900+ reviews. Sounds good to me and it’s handled by amazon.
     
    Jim Kim and alxlwson like this.
  19. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,885
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    We all trust Amazons review system lol.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  20. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,885
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Therein lies the problem unless I sell my ram and pay more for new.
    It would be really handy to see this covered, perhaps on your new site ?? https://www.thefpsreview.com/
    :)
     
  21. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    54,634
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Memory compatibility will be a topic of coverage on X570. However, on existing AM4 motherboards, I wouldn't get your hopes up. For one thing, I don't have that specific RAM. X370, B350, X399, X470 and B450 aren't generally known for clocking RAM all that high.
     
    TheHig likes this.
  22. TheHig

    TheHig Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    505
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    I can try the latest bios— but my CH7 and 2600 is humming with 4x8 c14 at 3200 b dies all day but is really flakey over 3200 even when timings are relaxed. Could be the Cpu of course.

    I have a 2400g on the AsRock b450itx that runs 3600 ram kind of —but again— not reliably. Settled on 3200 rock stable there too.

    Really think 3000 CPUs at least is needed for these speeds reliably and maybe x570 boards too.

    Lastly. X470 with a Ryzen 3000 cpu. What can that do? A great may people want to see that for upgrades to existing systems or getting cheaper 400 series boards.

    Edit: for example — could the really nice ram I already have open up to cas16 3733 with a 3900x on my existing board? That might get me to spend some money. :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
    kirbyrj likes this.
  23. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    It's in my sig, I have an Auss x470 Prime Pro.


    As far as the differences of ram speed, in theory the only issue should be the quality of the IMC and the AGEA code for x370/470. Unless X570 has improved trace lengths, or AsMedia totally botched their design (doubtful since the Zen+ revision offered much better ram speed/stability over Zen 1)...
     
    TheHig likes this.
  24. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Well bro Asmedia has nothing to do with the x570. I know they had been designing the chipsets all the way but x570 is an inhouse build from Amd. And according to them it has improved stability as compared to previous chipsets. But we all have to compromise with the high TDP of it. Im concerned about its potential and uncompromised heat issue.
     
  25. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,607
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Should note that the memory controller is on the CPU, in the socket, and the traces are between the memory slots and the CPU. The physical chipset is not involved, just the BIOS.

    As for stability, this has never been a feature of AMD's own chipsets in the consumer space, so we are all crossing our fingers that they get everything lined up and their driver guy has been working overtime ;)
     
    Alienslare likes this.
  26. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,715
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    High TDP is mainly because of all the bells and whisltes it has. Sure they could have cut it down. But I think in a case with good airflow the fan will likely not spin much given they have some sort of auto off feature. I don't see why they wouldn't.
     
  27. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,607
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    It's really the PCIe switching capability- which constitute the 'bells and whistles'. This is something that AMD is still working to catch up to Intel on, and it's a good move on AMD's part as it allows them to bring more flexibility to their consumer platform.

    Also, I agree that 15w at most isn't a big deal. What matters is how board makers handle it, and what end-users have to do if they handle it poorly, i.e. swapping out fans and so on.
     
    Mav451 likes this.
  28. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    54,634
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    The high TDP shouldn't be much of an issue. We've seen chipsets with this high a TDP (and probably higher) in years past. What it will mean is that we'll probably see more chipsets with heat pipes and even fans. Hopefully the former more often than the latter, but dealing with 15w TDP really isn't that big of a deal.
     
    Jim Kim likes this.
  29. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    It was a kind of surprise because the fan and heat pipes were extinguishing.
     
  30. Alienslare

    Alienslare Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Well in that case there could be heatsinks with coper pipes all the way upto vrms but i dont think any vendor did that or may be the fan sink could save couple of bucks as coper comes expensive.
     
  31. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    Thanks for answering what he was asking in a roundabout way for me. When I first read it I was "Does he really think I do not know the IMC is on the CPU OR what traces are?" Lol.

    I'd be happy running 32GB of 3600-3733 at 3200-3400 with nice timings on x470 for a year and then moving it over to the refreshed x570/590(?) boards.

    I just dropped a pretty penny on a shiny hunk of metal and precious stones so I'm stuck with a CPU+RAM only this round. I have pushed the 6+2 VRM setup on my board with 130%+ overcurrent with a hex and then octcore running 100% 24/7 mining Cryptonight when I'm not gaming and the board has handled it like a champ.

    I think I'm just grabbing an 8 core again this round and seeing if I can hit the silicon lottery for my 30th time lol.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
Tags: