3700+ SD or 3800+ NC?

Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
888
i know that one's 90nm while the newcastle's 13 micros. newcastle cores are older... the cache is different, and operating speeds differ by 200mhz. but other than that, what's the big difference for $40?
 

neubspeed

Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2005
Messages
518
You would be much better off getting the SD 3700+ because you can always OC to compensate for lack of clock speeds but never for a lack of cache. The SD overclocks much better in the right conditions and performs better in most applications with the extra cache. I've seen people hit 2.8 ghz on this forum on air with SDs. The newcastles have a pretty low ceiling comparitively.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
888
yeah i had heard that the nc's were plagued with low oc's so i wanted to make sure i heard right.
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
bored-sarcasm said:
yeah i had heard that the nc's were plagued with low oc's so i wanted to make sure i heard right.
yes and no. some are awesome, some suck. the same thing goes for the 3700+ though, but i think the san diego will hit higher speeds on average.

but, if you're gonna overclock, why not just get the 3200+ venice?
 

FadedSpark

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
7,560
(cf)Eclipse said:
yes and no. some are awesome, some suck. the same thing goes for the 3700+ though, but i think the san diego will hit higher speeds on average.

but, if you're gonna overclock, why not just get the 3200+ venice?

i have to agree with eclipse, for ocing, get a venice...
 

XSNiper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Messages
1,372
Also you won't have to worry about memory configurations as much with the SD. Still the biggest factor to chose the 3700 over the 38 is because of the cache.
 

texuspete00

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 9, 2002
Messages
5,587
SD piece of cake.... at least per the topic. Want to save a bunch get a 3200+ or 3000+. Don't spend $350 plus on a 512kb chip.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2003
Messages
888
well its for college, so i'm not looking to oc until i bring it home for the summer. i know its rare, but i dont want some freak accident to fry my proc.

besides, im going up from a 1.1 celeron...
 

mikelz85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
1,342
this is getting to be cliche, but are you aware that a 3000+ or a 3200+ will OC extremely well, without extreme vcore/cooling issues? I mean they are a throwback to the old 300a in my opinion. Another less expensive option would be to go with one of those, it will do 2.4 out of the box without issue, and 2.6-2.8 is common as well. Just throwing it out there in case you didn't know what these Rev. E's do, and are looking for extra cash for a better video card, etc.
 
Top