3600 mhz cl18 or 3200 mhz cl16 ddr4? for Ryzen 3600 build

biggles

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
2,006
I am leaning toward the following Ryzen upgrade system:
Ryzen 3600
Asus Prime x570-p motherboard

Then keep rest of components of current system (Corsair H60, gtx 1070, etc).

After some research it appears that (2x8 GB 3200 mhz cl16) or (2x8 GB 3600 mhz cl18) ddr4 kits are popular choices in order to balance price and performance. Price is about the same for either. Despite the latency advantage of the 3200 mhz cl16 ddr4, it appears 3600 mhz cl18 ram is slightly faster.

The Asus motherboard does not officially support anything above 3200 mhz. But it seems plenty of folks can achieve this on other boards.
 

MAG0N3X

n00b
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
9
I personally dont see any reason. if the bus bandwidth is limited to 3200, your 3600 will not work at all.
motherboard will only squeaking and not work at all. or if it works, then only at the bus frequency ... 4sure
 

MAG0N3X

n00b
Joined
Apr 22, 2020
Messages
9
i check some more nfo bout it here
and I think that exposing the chip timings to a smaller bus you will even lose in performance than if you took it directly under the bus
 
Last edited:

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,902
3600 CL16 is no longer expensive.

If your board/CPU won't run 3600 CL16 it will probably do 3200 CL14 no problem.

EDIT: Yes my vote is for 3600 CL16
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
10,944
either way ... you'll be happy.
I run some Hynix chipped Hyper X Predators 2 x 16GB 3200mhz CAS 16 stuff at 3800mhz CAS 18 with fclk 1900 (1:1) ...
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,676
Love the Samsung CL14 bdie 3200 stuff. Easy 3600@CL14 with a little bump on the ram voltage. Could do higher, but this 3950s IMC is a bit flaky over 1866 1:1, so it's fine.

3600@CL16 is definitely not a bad route though, especially if the price is there.
 
Top