32GB Laptop DIMMs Start Showing Up at Retailers

AlphaAtlas

[H]ard|Gawd
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
1,713
While some modern consumer platforms theoretically support high capacity sticks of DDR4, actually obtaining unregistered 32GB sticks has proven to be a challenge. Samsung's 32GB unregistered desktop DIMM that was spotted back in September is still MIA. In fact, I can't find a single 32GB unregistered DIMM that appears to be in stock. But some eagle eyed users on the NotebookReview forums noticed that laptop SODIMMs with 32GB of memory crammed into them are starting to show up at a few retail outlets. Joedoewoe already bought some and confirmed that they work in in a Coffee Lake based laptop, but as far as I can tell, no one has tried them inside SFF PCs like an Intel NUC or Zotac Magnus yet.

The sticks I see on Amazon right now (which were listed just a few days ago) are ridiculously expensive, but searching for some of their model numbers turns up listings on other sites that appear to be more reasonably priced, and in stock. These new listings mean that 32GB desktop DIMMs might not be far behind.
 

The Mad Atheist

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2018
Messages
1,315
Looking to the day of a 128GB laptop.
$485 for 32GB (edit, that's for 4x sticks)..... :( , fuck that idea. EDIT: AMAZON LINK IS FOR 4X 8GB STICKS, NOT SINGLES.
 

AlphaAtlas

[H]ard|Gawd
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
1,713
Looking to the day of a 128GB laptop.
$485 for 32GB (edit, that's for 4x sticks)..... :( , fuck that idea. EDIT: AMAZON LINK IS FOR 4X 8GB STICKS, NOT SINGLES.

Yeah, I accidentally linked to those Corsair sticks, but the first Amazon link should've been fixed a couple of seconds after the article went up. As far as I can tell, the DataRAM and Samsung sticks are 32GB SODIMMs.
 

AlphaQup

Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2014
Messages
577
I have guys at work that will want to jump on these 32GB DIMMS immediately after they surface, 64GB isn't enough for some of the simulation/handy scanner CAD stuff they're doing in the lab.

Can't wait for these to be more widely available.
 

pingjockey

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
173
This would be awesome for a NUC esxi host for my home lab! You can jam a bunch of virtual machines into 64GB.
 

DNMock

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
399
I have guys at work that will want to jump on these 32GB DIMMS immediately after they surface, 64GB isn't enough for some of the simulation/handy scanner CAD stuff they're doing in the lab.

Can't wait for these to be more widely available.
https://store.supermicro.com/memory/ddr4/64gb-ddr4-2133-mem-dr464l-sl01-lr21-493.html

Help me out here, but I have a really tough time envisioning who and why anyone would need to run such heavy tasks on a laptop rather than on a server or at least a desktop.

edit: I can totally see the use for it for networking and running VM's on the fly, but for CAD and simulations, trying to even work on them on a laptop seems like it would be hell.

edit 2: To me it just feels like a professional phtoographer using a cell phone to take pictures because they don't want to be encumbered by their big camera and tri-pod. Right tool for the job and whatnot. But again, I have no idea so if you would be so kind as to educate me, I would appreciate it.
 
Last edited:

coynatha

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
505
https://store.supermicro.com/memory/ddr4/64gb-ddr4-2133-mem-dr464l-sl01-lr21-493.html

Help me out here, but I have a really tough time envisioning who and why anyone would need to run such heavy tasks on a laptop rather than on a server or at least a desktop.

edit: I can totally see the use for it for networking and running VM's on the fly, but for CAD and simulations, trying to even work on them on a laptop seems like it would be hell.

edit 2: To me it just feels like a professional phtoographer using a cell phone to take pictures because they don't want to be encumbered by their big camera and tri-pod. Right tool for the job and whatnot. But again, I have no idea so if you would be so kind as to educate me, I would appreciate it.

I'd imagine when you're on-site at the customer. We'd use it for 3D laser scanning machinery and production lines. (or, I think we would if we actually had that tech at my job)
 

DNMock

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
399
I'd imagine when you're on-site at the customer. We'd use it for 3D laser scanning machinery and production lines. (or, I think we would if we actually had that tech at my job)

That actually makes a ton of sense.
 
Top