31.5" 2560x1440 165 Hz VA G-Sync - LG 32GK850G

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Vega, Nov 9, 2017.

  1. amd7674

    amd7674 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Amazing display indeed. Picked it up from newegg.ca (FEB 2018 build). I upgraded this from LG 32LD450 (32" IPS 1080P 60Hz). No dead pixels, dust etc... :) I've used settings from another forum I loved them (used gamma 3), o/c to 165hz, I did set digital vibrancy to 60% and videos to 60%. The contrast is amazing, it helps with editing pictures I can see highlights/shadows more now.. Although the colors are a little better on IPS.

    I've tried few games last night Doom, Fifa 18, GTA V and fortnite. All working butter smooth. I guess I wish I had 1080TI, because that thing is bringing my 1070 to its knees LOL... If you looking for big 32" gsync 16:9... and have the $$$ ... I totally recommend it. :)
     
    NukeDukem likes this.
  2. NukeDukem

    NukeDukem 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,094
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Nice to see it's finally available in Canada. I'm a stone's throw from the Ontario border; for a while there I thought I might have to start smuggling them in for you guys :LOL:
     
  3. amd7674

    amd7674 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    No kidding :)
     
  4. Fuzzy_3D

    Fuzzy_3D [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Has anyone tried overclocking this display past 165hz, is that even possible? If push button OCing gets you from 144->165, would 180+ be feasible with some fine tuning?

    Also, anyone have DP cable problems? The 6ft cable that came with the monitor works fine, but the 16ft cable I got off amazon only works with one of the 3 DP ports on my card, the other two give constant black frames/cutting out.
     
  5. Will0w

    Will0w n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Response times are optimal below 165 so no point in ocing further. Also there is very little difference ocing 165 to 180+ compared to say 60 to 70+.

    DP cables differ. You need a quality one for 165hz and especially if it's longer. (I don't have anything to recommend)
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  6. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    5,924
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    I don't have any specific product to recommend either; the cable that Acer shipped with my Predator was effed up and had some really goofy issues that were resolved with a replacement, but that was just 2m/6'. Might want to verify actual bandwidth needs with cable suppliers like Monoprice to ensure that the length needed can actually handle the signal.
     
  7. HPM

    HPM n00bie

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Hi there,

    I recently bought the LG32GK850G. It's an amazing monitor which I (plan to) use as a daily driver and for gaming. The first one I got had 3 defective pixels so I returned the monitor. The second and current one seems to be perfect, except for some glow in the lower left and the upper right corners (see picture). It's definitely different from the image in the review on Tft central. I set the brightness to 20 in order to compare it to the review. For normal use I set brightness at 30/40 and the glow is probably more visible.

    To be fair, due to the large size of the monitor there is a minor shift in color anyway. Besides, during day-to-day usage and gaming it's not a real problem and definitely not as bad as the glow on some IPS screens I tried before.

    Should I worry about it at all? Realistically, what's the chance of getting one that has no glow at all (besides the possibility of getting bad pixels, scanlines and/or other problems)?

    Thanks in advance!

    PS: photo is taken with my iphone. With my DSLR the glow was even more visible, but I was not sure about the settings (shutterspeed) for a realistic image of the problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Lepardi

    Lepardi [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Looks fairly good compared to mine. But do you see it in normal usage (daylight conditions, room light on)? Mine was just inky black that way.

    But really watch for those vertical lines in bright graphic games. I had to send mine back but I noticed them too late, so I lost 20% of my money.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. HPM

    HPM n00bie

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Thanks for your reply! In normal conditions it's indeed hardly visible. Besides ambient light and brightness of the screen it's of course dependent on the content you're watching.

    Is there a way to test for those vertical lines? I haven't noticed any lines yet.

    I ordered and returned a lot of monitors in the past years, mostly IPS screens. All had problems with excessive IPS glow or backlight bleed. Some of them had bad pixels. The problem with monitors in general seems to be the overall lack of quality control. As a result I get very very picky and anal about (little) flaws in monitors. The LG is certainly not perfect, but the problem in general is that when you look hard enough you will find something. And when you know it's there... :)
     
  10. ors

    ors [H]Lite

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    That is almost as good as it gets. If you don't have dead pixels, vertical banding, color tint changes on white or other issues that screen is a keeper. There is a very slight chance to get one that's even better but a much greater chance to get one which is much worse so I wouldn't gamble :) Ultimately the only person that can really decide is you.
     
    HPM likes this.
  11. HPM

    HPM n00bie

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Thanks for the reply.

    Fortunately the screen doesn't have other issues. There is one little speck of dust behind the panel in the upper right corner but it's not a big deal so I'm probably keeping the LG. It does need to get used to coming from a 24 inch 1080p monitor. This monitor is absolutely huge!

    Gaming is amazing. I play a lot of Battlefield 1 and Assassins Creed Origins and it looks great. However, even with a 7700k and 1080 Ti the screen seems to show when games are poorly optimized. Battlefield, even with high fps, doesn't feel as smooth as it should (micro-stutters) and AC suffers from major fps drops in certain parts of the map, even with G-sync enabled. Maybe I need to change some settings in nvidia control panel, but I think it's mostly caused by the (updates of the) games themselves. Other games such as DOOM and Hitman are smooth as butter.

    PS: what is the best way to use g-sync? what settings are important in the nvidia control panel and what settings do I need to adjust in-game? V-sync on/off?
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2018
  12. amd7674

    amd7674 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    I'm very happy owner too. It is not perfect monitor with some known VA panel issues. Also it is pushing my gtx1070 to the limits... (time to upgrade next year LOL) I'm glad you like yours.

    I'm not gsync expert, but in general I have Vsync on via nvidia panel, then in game I have vsync on as well if I remember correctly. I'm new to gsync too, so I'm still learning.

    There is a good read by blur busters I recommend reading.

    BTW: I got i1 Display Pro and after quick calibration was RGB set to 48/42/49 with brightness/contrast 22/70 and gamma 3.

    The quick check gave me:

    Device: 32GK850G @ 0, 0, 2560x1440
    Instrument: i1 DisplayPro, ColorMunki Display — LCD (generic)
    Correction: None
    Display profile: 32GK850G #1 2018-05-23 22-51 2.2 F-S XYZLUT+MTX
    Display profile luminance: 117.7 cd/m²
    Display profile whitepoint: xy 0.3129 0.3284 (XYZ 95.25 100 109.21), CCT 6500K
    Measured luminance: 118.9 cd/m²
    Measured whitepoint
    : xy 0.3128 0.329 (XYZ 95.07 100 108.88), CCT 6499K
    Assumed target whitepoint: 6500K daylight, xy 0.3128 0.3292 (XYZ 95.02 100 108.77)
    Measured black luminance: 0.0498 cd/m²
    Contrast: 2388.7:1

    Testchart: verify.ti1
    Simulation profile: None
    Gamma mapping: N/A
    Whitepoint simulation: N/A
    Chromatic adaption: Bradford
    Devicelink profile: None
    Evaluation criteria: RGB
    Date: 2018-05-23 23:18:19
     
    Hansen and HPM like this.
  13. HPM

    HPM n00bie

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Thanks for the suggestions!

    Based on the information and recommendation on the blur busters website I followed the optimal G-Sync settings on the last page:

    - Nvidia Control Panel: g-sync and v-sync on;
    - Windows energy settings: high performance
    - In-game: v-sync off

    I took BF1 and AC for a quick spin and it did seem to make a difference. I will try again later.
     
    DG25 and IdiotInCharge like this.
  14. HPM

    HPM n00bie

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Btw, is there a way to get rid of a speck of dust underneath the panel? I have a black dot in the upper right corner (1 to 1.5 centimeters from the bezel) of the screen and its not a bad pixel. When I put my mouse pointer above it and change my viewing angle it seems to be half a centimeter underneath the actual panel. It's mostly visible on bright backgrounds but it kinda spoils the fun of having a "perfect" unit now I know it's there.

    Is there something I could do about it? Or live with it or return? I am thinking of buying a second one in order to keep the best one, but it's quite a hassle.
     
  15. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,852
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    https://www.howtogeek.com/270672/how-to-enable-optimize-and-tweak-nvidia-g-sync/


    Or use msi afterburner~ rivatuner to limit your framerate to your max hz minus 1.

     
    Last edited: May 26, 2018
  16. bigbluefe

    bigbluefe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Here's my review of this monitor.

     
    Lepardi likes this.
  17. thecold

    thecold [H]Lite

    Messages:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017

    While I can understand being frustrated about the pc monitor market. This review is almost useless.
     
  18. VoodooNinja

    VoodooNinja n00bie

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  19. bigbluefe

    bigbluefe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Other than not working, I pretty much liked everything about it. It had a good image (when it was on). I totally would have kept it if it hadn't been DOA.
     
  20. Greyson

    Greyson n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Did you return it and try a replacement?
     
  21. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,589
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Is there a way to turn off the information screen on power up?
     
  22. Fuzzy_3D

    Fuzzy_3D [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Wow, ok :ROFLMAO:. Check the cable before you blow a gasket.

    Had the same issue with amazon.ca's "CableCreation 16.5 Feet DisplayPort to DisplayPort Cable", it flickered to black every other second using the top two display ports on my 1080Ti. Ran pretty good on the bottom DP but still got the odd flicker every few hours.

    Ordered the "Rankie DisplayPort to DisplayPort Cable, 15 Feet, Black" and that's been working perfectly since last Friday.
     
  23. amd7674

    amd7674 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    +1,

    Also I would try hdmi cable/port @60Hz.
     
  24. bigbluefe

    bigbluefe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Already sent it back. I think I'm going to wait until either the 4k IPS 31.5" 144hz monitors come out next year or possibly the 165hz (no OC) variation of this one comes out in December before I dip my bill again.
     
  25. sparks

    sparks 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,106
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    why do you need a 16.5 Feet DisplayPort to DisplayPort Cable?
     
  26. AngryLobster

    AngryLobster Clueless

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    That guy aboves issue is exactly what happened with mine when paired with a shitty DP cable.
     
  27. bigbluefe

    bigbluefe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    I used the one that came with the monitor. You're telling me that LG is shipping these monitors with cables that don't work?
     
  28. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    5,924
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Many people have had issues with the shipping cables on these higher-performance monitors, including myself.

    It's baffling, but it's also real.
     
  29. linuxdude9

    linuxdude9 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    463
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    I'm using the included DP cable with my 1080Ti and I've had no issue. I also have a couple of Accel cables, but the one included was actually thicker than them.
     
  30. zpackrat

    zpackrat Gawd

    Messages:
    625
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Mine should be showing up from Amazon in the next 2 days, can't wait! Coming from an LG 27UD68 (4K IPS 60Hz) that I love, I feel this will be a great compromise between refresh rate and color accuracy. I tried the Dell S2716DG about a year ago and returned it the next day, could not get decent colors and the banding was awful. I loved the smoothness that g-sync added and I don't care for the flashy gaming monitors out there from Asus and Acer so I never replaced the Dell after I returned it.
     
  31. Decibel

    Decibel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,730
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2000
    Anyone else having the menu pop up without touching the buttons?

    It's very infrequent, but kinda annoying...

    *

    And yeah, the Display Port cable in the box works fine for me.
     
  32. Seyumi

    Seyumi Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    I have the same issue. Just got my monitor a few weeks ago. Possible culprit is the included DP cable. I think we see the pop up because the monitor loses signal for a split second so you see the signal popups. I remember this happening quite frequently when 4K 60fps first came out and upgrading to a better cable did not remedy this but made it less frequent.
     
  33. Fuzzy_3D

    Fuzzy_3D [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    May 27, 2007

    Same, even with a new 15ft DP cable, every over day the screen controls pop up while I'm mid game (for a few seconds), no idea why.

    But didn't happen with the black screen flashes on the crappy 16.5ft DP cable...
     
  34. MistaSparkul

    MistaSparkul Gawd

    Messages:
    854
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    The 32GK850G is about as good as it gets without going for the $2,000 gsync monitors. Just keep in mind that VA panels have weaker viewing angles and it'll be even more noticeable on a 32 inch display. Also PPI will be significantly lower than a 27 inch 4k.
     
  35. linuxdude9

    linuxdude9 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    463
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
  36. zpackrat

    zpackrat Gawd

    Messages:
    625
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    somewhat used to both, I use 2 x 27" 1080 dell va panels at work, but good insight none the less.
     
  37. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    5,924
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    To add to this: I have a 27" 1440p next to a 31.5" 4k, and the low PPI of the 4k monitor is still annoying- I'd want a minimum of ~35" 16:9 for 4k for comfortable daily use.

    27" 4k would be scaling at a minimum, and scaling is still goofy- I turned it off on my 31.5" 4k. It works, but the comfortable scaling levels are blurry.

    I think that a 31.5" 1440p monitor would be just about perfect.
     
  38. zpackrat

    zpackrat Gawd

    Messages:
    625
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    That is the one thing about the 27UD68 that I don't like, and while scaling for the most part is OK, when it doesn't work it's a PITA.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.