3070 FE w/12 pin dongle

DarkSideA8

Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
612
Just got mine today - TYVM, BB - and noticed it has a 12 mini-pin dongle that attaches to a standard 6 pci +2 pci (aka 8 pins) lead from the psu.

What is the purpose? Feeding power to different channels?

Why not just feed the 8 standard directly from the psu?
 

cdabc123

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2,883
The purpose is for fun. All those pins are tied together on the card. 6+2 is only 3 12v pins and 5 ground pins. A 8 pin would be preferable as its 4 12v and 4 ground and is rated for more watts as a result
 

Sir Beregond

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 12, 2020
Messages
108
Just got mine today - TYVM, BB - and noticed it has a 12 mini-pin dongle that attaches to a standard 6 pci +2 pci (aka 8 pins) lead from the psu.

What is the purpose? Feeding power to different channels?

Why not just feed the 8 standard directly from the psu?
On the 3070 it doesn't serve a damn bit of purpose.
 

t2uciet

Scalper in FSFT
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
651
No purpose lol. I ordered a replacement to make the cables cleaner. For the 3070, it isn't so bad though. The 3080/3090, it's a Y adapter though so it's gets ugly.
 
Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
26
No purpose lol. I ordered a replacement to make the cables cleaner. For the 3070, it isn't so bad though. The 3080/3090, it's a Y adapter though so it's gets ugly.

I ordered a new power cable from Corsair.

Edit: My Zotac card in pic comes with ugly adapter.
 

Attachments

  • 0111211603.jpg
    0111211603.jpg
    181.3 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

DarkSideA8

Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
612
Total side-bar question (but still about the 3070)

-- Since installing this, whenever I am in a game, I get a constant small FPS counter. Green. It's not the one that you can select in the GeForce Experience overlay; that one is much bigger. This is like a small, 14 point font distractor that I can't figure out how to make go away. Way up in the upper left corner. Disappears in desktop mode (web browsing, word, email) but when I initialize a game, there it is.

Ideas on what setting I may have hit?
 

DarkSideA8

Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
612
Is it MSI Afterburner's? DarkSideA8
I don't know. Don't think so. I used to have a MSI card on the system - but I haven't used AB in years. Did a clean install for the 3070 driver yesterday.

The big change, aside from the new card, was going to the NV Experience (free year with card) where previously I just used the free app and manually updated drivers. Also went from dvi to DP.

I half wonder if I accidentally pressed something on the monitor (it displays a steady 60 fps) - but AFAIK, the HP ZR24w does not have an FPS function.

It's weird
 

[L]imey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
2,031
I don't know. Don't think so. I used to have a MSI card on the system - but I haven't used AB in years. Did a clean install for the 3070 driver yesterday.

The big change, aside from the new card, was going to the NV Experience (free year with card) where previously I just used the free app and manually updated drivers. Also went from dvi to DP.

I half wonder if I accidentally pressed something on the monitor (it displays a steady 60 fps) - but AFAIK, the HP ZR24w does not have an FPS function.

It's weird
Afterburner will run no matter brand card you have.

Make sure it's not running in the system tray.
 

legcramp

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
11,263
I got a 3060 Ti FE that has the 12-pin also... have to use the adapter to plug in an 8-pin 😅
 

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,474
Total side-bar question (but still about the 3070)

-- Since installing this, whenever I am in a game, I get a constant small FPS counter. Green. It's not the one that you can select in the GeForce Experience overlay; that one is much bigger. This is like a small, 14 point font distractor that I can't figure out how to make go away. Way up in the upper left corner. Disappears in desktop mode (web browsing, word, email) but when I initialize a game, there it is.

Ideas on what setting I may have hit?
sounds like Steam FPS counter
1610570101130.png
1610570076405.png
 

Attachments

  • 1610570024929.png
    1610570024929.png
    64.8 KB · Views: 0
Top