3 Slot "MATX" motherboard in Ncase M1

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by CrazyRob, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Not so glamorous, but here are some pics of the inside.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. vipz

    vipz Gawd

    Messages:
    818
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
  3. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Added, but I couldn't find the exact size of the Asrock Z97M Anniversary on Asrock's site. I'm assuming it's also 226mm x 193mm but couldn't see this for sure.
     
  4. How come you can't edit the sheet? I have it so that everybody can edit it.. or at least I had it like that some time ago, and haven't bothered to change anything...

    Jeeez, didn't see anything until you pointed it out xD
     
    broddy likes this.
  5. nVIDIASLiRig

    nVIDIASLiRig n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Nice info about motherboard with 3 slot, I find nice gigabyte b85m Gaming 3 motherboard for cheap and wonder is there any other case offer with 3 slot fit that kind motherboard for cheap? So far I think CM Elite 110 case will fit this kind motherboard but only 2 slot.
     
  6. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Unfortunately I don't think so! I think the 3 size is something that's unique with the M1.
     
  7. nVIDIASLiRig

    nVIDIASLiRig n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Find other case w 3 slot from Hong Kong here
     
  8. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Those will also fit normal 4 slot ATX motherboards, right? (with the fourth slot being unusable of course)
     
  9. nVIDIASLiRig

    nVIDIASLiRig n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Maybe, but not full size wide Micro ATX for sure.
     
  10. nVIDIASLiRig

    nVIDIASLiRig n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
  11. w9gb

    w9gb [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Asus is continuing to release 3-slot motherboards, now under Skylake H110/B150 chipsets.
    You have to wonder if these are designed for the new 3-slot JONSBO cases.
    Unfortunately, these offerings won't fit (183/185/201mm) with SFX in NCASE.

    Asus H110M-K D3 motherboard
    8.9 inch x 7.2 inch ( 226mm x 183mm )
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/H110M-K-D3/specifications/

    Asus H110M-A D3 motherboard
    8.9 inch x 7.3 inch ( 226.2mm x 185.5mm )
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/H110M-A/overview/

    Asus B150M-A D3 motherboard : Good selection for HP Slimline s5000 cases (not NCASE)
    9.2 inch x 7.9 inch ( 234mm x 201mm )
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/B150M-A-D3/gallery/

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  12. w9gb

    w9gb [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Gigabyte has also "jumped" into the 3-slot mATX/FlexATX form factor with H110 chipset.
    These motherboard should fit the NCASE !

    Gigabyte GA-H110M-A motherboard (DDR4 RAM) - true bare bones/entry level.
    Form Factor; (226 mm x 174 mm)
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5589#ov

    Gigabyte GA-H110M-S2H motherboard (DDR3 RAM)
    Form Factor; (226 mm x 174 mm)
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5606#ov

    Gigabyte GA-H110M-S2HP motherboard (DDR4 RAM; USB 3.1 Type A; New USB Type C, USB 3.1 support)
    Form Factor; (226 mm x 170 mm)
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5618#ov

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  13. cltang

    cltang n00b

    Messages:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    I guess these are meant to be entry level low cost boards; from the photo, there's only 2 memory slots like ITX, and not even additional PCI-E x1 slots to use.
    From a feature perspective, disregarding cost, there's no reason to use these mATX boards over current Skylake ITX offerings.
     
  14. zoob

    zoob Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Any word of 'non-Z' overclocking on Skylake? :D
     
  15. w9gb

    w9gb [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Intel has always designed the H61, H81, and H110 PCH for usage on entry-level motherboards.
    The Asus B150 has 4-slots (RAM), but doesn't fit NCASE with SFX power supply -- but likely fits the JONSBO case.

    Dell, HP, and other case makers (Taiwan) often use these motherboards for their economic consumer builds.
    For HP and Dell, their Slimline tower cases use these boards or the AMD equivalent.
    ---
    The ITX boards that I have seen, so far, are just quick Z97/H97 design refreshes from Taiwan,
    adopted for Skylake PCH.
    In fact looking at Gigabyte, you can step back to the H77N/Z77N mini-ITX era --
    not much has changed in desktop mobo features/layout since 2010.

    GA-H77N-WIFI (2010)
    http://www.gigabyte.com/microsite/318/7-series-mini-itx.html

    GA-H170N-WIFI (2015)
    http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5552#ov

    The Skylake PCH offerings have the USB type C connectors, as a feature,
    BUT are only tied to a USB 3.0 or 3.1 port (limiting performance) -- So Far.
    Some mobo support DDR4 memory, but DDR3 is common.
    ---
    It is still early in the Skylake product release cycle.
    As Intel releases more processors in 2016, we should expect to see a wider selection of mobo features/offerings in 2016.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  16. Meaker

    Meaker Official representative of powernotebooks.com!

    Messages:
    924
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    No as there are no such "value" boards. There is the ITX asrock.
     
  17. w9gb

    w9gb [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Asrock "Z-series" mITX desktop boards, same as Gigabyte,
    not much has changed in features/layout since the Sandy Bridge/Ivy Bridge ("7") era.
    Just changes in Intel's PCH architectures over past 5 years.

    Asrock Z77E-ITX (2011/2012)
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77E-ITX/

    Asrock Z170M-ITX/ac (2015)
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z170M-ITXac/

    Asrock offers a series of 3-slot H110 desktop boards, but no measurements.
    IF Asrock is such a great company,
    why can't they publish the dimensions (measurements) of their 3-slot Flex desktop boards?

    H110M-GL/D3 3-slot desktop board (Fit?, no measurements in manuals or spec sheet)
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/H110M-GLD3/
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2015
  18. iFreilicht

    iFreilicht [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Just send them an email and ask them.

    Nope, that won't fit. It's so wide it could fit a fourth slot.
     
  19. w9gb

    w9gb [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    The release of Skylake motherboards has just started. 3Q 2015 were largely ATX-sized boards. Now that we are in 4Q 2015, I am starting to see wider variety of mATX and mITX boards -- but the full Skylake processor portfolio is Not Yet on store shelves.
    ===
    I do know that some desktop builders are experiencing shortages of cases and some parts (Backlog of Chinese shipping containers/logistics?).
     
  20. w9gb

    w9gb [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
  21. annilation

    annilation Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006

    Does this mean I could use a ASRock Z97 Anniversary in a mini itx case?
     
  22. Necere

    Necere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,733
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    It means you could use that board - the ASRock Z97M Anniversary - in the M1, with the limitation vipz mentioned (must use the ATX bracket instead of the SFX bracket). The ASRock Z97 (non-M) Anniversary is an ATX board, which obviously won't fit.
     
  23. fminus

    fminus n00b

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Does anyone know if the ASRock Z97M Anniversary or any other 3 slot matx will fit in the ncase with a 980ti?
     
  24. Renard

    Renard n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Hi everyone!

    Just registered on the forum. I've been reading this thread and there is a lot of great information on it. I'm essentially trying to find information on a SSF build I plan on doing in the upcoming months, and have narrowed my choices to either a Dan A4 case or this Ncase M1. The computer will be made for VR (likely HTC Vive) - I want to carry it around for demos and the likes easily, and it needs to pack a punch.

    While the Dan A4 is great, I'd like to be also be able to add in my current video capture card (PEXHDCAP). It's currently in use with my main desktop, but I plan to sell its guts (and the FX8320 is limiting for realtime h264 encoding of even SCART RGB captures). This is where the M1 might shine: it would allow me to maybe throw in this card in addition to a powerful GPU and CPU, but also spacious hard drive(s) providing a SFX PSU can still fit in.

    This thread has a lot of motherboard recommendations, but unfortunately it's not up to date (little information about Intel Gen 6 motherboards) and the Google Doc link is apparently broken.

    So I'm now looking for a mystical unicorn, and would love to have some help/feedback with it. The general idea would be to find a compact motherboard that would fit in this case and
    - has at least 2 USB3 ports, driven by a microcontroller compatible with a Rift (see: Rift compatibility tool)
    - has a 1151 socket (for a i5-6600 or better)
    - has one PCIe x16 connector for a dual-slot GPU (GTX970 or similar, or Pascal later on)
    - has one PCIe x1 connector for the additional capture card
    - allows for a SFX PSU to be used so the 3.5" HDD side bracket can still fit

    At this moment I couldn't find anything. Going the Intel 1150 route wouldn't bother me that much, but it's very likely that a higher number of these motherboards wouldn't pass the Oculus tool test regarding USB3 port compatibility. Any idea?
     
  25. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    I would look around for B150 and H110 mATX motherboards that have only 2 ram slots–– these are the ones that tend to have the right dimensions to work in the M1. Of course, not all that have 2 ram slots will work–– some are too wide or too tall still.

    MSI has these two:
    http://us.msi.com/product/motherboard/H110M-PRO-D.html
    http://us.msi.com/product/motherboard/B150M-PRO-VD.html

    However, I couldn't find exact dimensions on them so you may want to email MSI and find out.
     
  26. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Update:
    The two I posted above are too wide, I can tell by the mounting hole position.

    I think the boards below will fit and meet all of your criteria:

    Biostar:
    H110MHV3
    http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=832#spec
    H110MGV3
    http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=831#spec

    ECS:
    H110M4-C3V
    http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Pr...oryID=1&DetailName=Feature&MenuID=228&LanID=0
    (this one unfortunately the video card would cover the extra PCIe slot, you'd have to use an extender)

    Also, another option would be to use a normal mITX board with a mini PCIe slot and then use a mini PCIe to PCIe adapter and then have a ribbon cable that would allow you to place your capture card in the third slot position.
     
  27. Necere

    Necere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,733
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Try this link.
     
  28. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Looks like there are plenty of options that are better than what I posted, check Necere's link!
     
  29. Renard

    Renard n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Wow, nice! Thanks a lot, both for looking into it, and for the link.
    I'm going to need a bit of time to review all these.
     
  30. Woxys

    Woxys [H]Lite

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
  31. jb1

    jb1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Looks like those models are a little too big.
     
  32. chx

    chx Gawd

    Messages:
    697
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
  33. Necere

    Necere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,733
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    It's probably slightly too tall, since 22.6cm motherboards practically touch the floor of the chassis. It's also too deep to be used with the SFX bracket (have to use the ATX bracket instead).
     
  34. akhilv1

    akhilv1 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    You might even be able to fit a standard width, short length mATX if you use a SFX PSU, but orient it like an ATX sideways. Mounting would be interesting, but theoretically an adapter bracket from ATX to SFX should work.
     
  35. Necere

    Necere 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,733
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    The case isn't really deep enough for it. There's not enough room between the board and the inside of the chassis for the PSU, so it could only be done by having about 10mm of the PSU overhanging the front of the board. It would cut into the motherboard height keepout zone by about 20mm, which doesn't leave much room for e.g. the 24 pin power connector.
     
  36. chx

    chx Gawd

    Messages:
    697
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    So you are saying ASRock Rack > E3C224D4I-14S fits then? 21.3 cm x 17 cm . That's a whole six millimeters narrower :D four DIMM slots!
     
  37. Phuncz

    Phuncz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,630
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    It's a server board (x minutes boot time, most basic set of ports) focused on storage, if RAM is the only limitation you have, it's a lot of compromise just for that.
     
  38. BenWah

    BenWah [H]Lite

    Messages:
    68
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    When people say bigger motherboards don't fit with SFX bracket, they only fit with ATX bracket, that obviously means it will only fit with ATX PSU?

    But how can that be when SFX PSU is much smaller? Or am I misunderstanding something basic. I'm thinking of buying ncase.
     
  39. vipz

    vipz Gawd

    Messages:
    818
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    The SFX bracket has the PSU parallel to the mobo. Meanwhile the ATX bracket has the PSU perpendicular to the mobo.

    SFX PSUs are wider (125mm) than ATX PSUs are tall (80mm).