2x3090 NVLINK Owners: How do you enable SLI these days?

BusyBeaverHP

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
432
Two Asus Strix RTX 3090's with an NVLINK on an MSI X570 Godlike
Hardware-wise no problem, it's all detected
I got this far, where NVIDIA Control Panel gave me issues

1619885026091.png


Everytime I apply "Maximize 3D Performance, it reverts back to "Disable SLI"

Researched the problem, and it looks like Implicit SLI disabled:
https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads/2x3090s-cant-turn-on-sli-nvlink.3697423/post-22291166

1619885252344.png


According to this passage, DX12 and Vulkan games should still leverage 2x 3090's... but my EVGA Precision monitor only shows 1 GPU active for RDR2 and 3DMark Port Royal...

2x3090 owners: what's the trick and how do you currently make it work?
 

The Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
2,972
MGPU will work if SLI is "Disabled" in DX12 games (If that game has mgpu supported) That was the whole point of DX12, moving it to the game developer. MGPU does have support in most of the major game engines, but the devs just don't code it into the game.

SLI/Crossfire support has really fallen off off a cliff otherwise. It first started in 2016 when both SLI and Crossfire really became "glitchy" and performance suffered. However, there are games that still fully support it The Witcher and Tomb Raider both explicitly support DX12/SLI/Crossfire/MGPU in both games with Tomb Raider supporting DLSS and raytracing as well across SLI/mgpu. Someone over on guru3d had a YouTube video up of his 2080s in SLI and got some really impressive numbers at 4k with all the eye candy turned on.

It's a shame really. I ran both SLI and Crossfire all the time up until I ditched my Vega Frontier Edition cards. Hardocp is the reason I went out and got an AMD R9-295x2 and an R9-290x and ran Tri-Fire just to play Battlefield 4 since it scaled so well in both DX11 and Mantle. EA actually cared back then and really eeked out performance with dual setups or more. I can't even google the original article where Kyle and company put those cards thru the ringer.

As I multi-GPU enthusiast, I wish I could run a second 6900XT in my machine if SLI and Crossfire weren't such trouble and hardly any support anymore IMHO, just isn't justified. But I still like your setup!!!!
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
5,670
Dead tech. Devs are not supporting SLI and it’s no secret. Only a small handful of games have any level of support for SLI.
 

schizo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
1,687
Yeah. Unfortunately nobody seems to be supporting explicit multi-GPU either. Which is a shame as it's pretty cool tech and given how difficult it is to drop process nodes and how expensive huge GPU dies are to produce, GPUs with multiple "chiplets" linked together may actually be the future.

On the bright side, you can sell one of them and likely get more than you paid for it.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
4
Not everyone uses these cards to play games. I have Dual Asus Strix 3090s with NVLink 4 slot bridge, I use them for GPU rendering (Cinema/redshift) NVlink is only really handy for sharing memory. but i am having trouble getting my system to recognize that they are connected.
 

The Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
2,972
Yeah. Unfortunately nobody seems to be supporting explicit multi-GPU either. Which is a shame as it's pretty cool tech and given how difficult it is to drop process nodes and how expensive huge GPU dies are to produce, GPUs with multiple "chiplets" linked together may actually be the future.

On the bright side, you can sell one of them and likely get more than you paid for it.

I believe the new Radeon will have the "Dual GPU" chip built into the next card and we may finally see SLI/Crossfire on a single card without the two chips in them like the old 295x2 series or the old Nvidia Z series.
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
24,053
Not everyone uses these cards to play games. I have Dual Asus Strix 3090s with NVLink 4 slot bridge, I use them for GPU rendering (Cinema/redshift) NVlink is only really handy for sharing memory. but i am having trouble getting my system to recognize that they are connected.
That's great and true, but has nothing to do with the thread....
 

neopill

n00b
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
7
Hello Yall.. I am curious. Would SLI work with Video editing? As of right now I have ROG Strix 3060 running. But I will save for 3090 or 4090... If I get 3090 in SLI mode.. would that work with video editing to blast through rendering? I am using Black Magic resolve and it is very impressive where I'll render the large video files in short time even on 3060 so I cannot imagien what it must be like with 3090 or 4090 or even running both video cards together?

Either way I will be getting 3090 or 4090 so the question remains is should I get SLI hooked up so I can video edit. I'm not aiming for gaming rig. I'll be fine running one card just for gaming but SLI for video edit...
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
24,053
Hello Yall.. I am curious. Would SLI work with Video editing? As of right now I have ROG Strix 3060 running. But I will save for 3090 or 4090... If I get 3090 in SLI mode.. would that work with video editing to blast through rendering? I am using Black Magic resolve and it is very impressive where I'll render the large video files in short time even on 3060 so I cannot imagien what it must be like with 3090 or 4090 or even running both video cards together?

Either way I will be getting 3090 or 4090 so the question remains is should I get SLI hooked up so I can video edit. I'm not aiming for gaming rig. I'll be fine running one card just for gaming but SLI for video edit...
Yes, you can link multiple cards for 3d rendering, video processing, etc so long as the application supports it. Check yours to be sure... It isnt called sli for those uses just FYI :). It's NVlink.
 
Top