27" IPS 2560x1440 monitor~90hz <$400 FS

silent-circuit

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 18, 2005
Messages
16,136
I searched this thread but couldn't find if this monitor has HDCP. Do these monitors scale correctly if I use an HDMI -> DVI cord to connect my PS3?

They support HDCP but do not have a scaler except for the multi-input version. I don't know if anyone has attempted to connect a PS3 directly to one of the non-scaler versions yet, but as others have suggested it might not work.
 

Sn0_Man

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
778
any word on the 120Hz models yet?

www.120hz.net

Alternatively, www.OverlordComputer.com

Both are run by the same people, and they are essentially the only way to get the Overclockable 2B PCB models any more. Or you could try ebay but I'm not sure very many are still around on ebay. Note that if you find a 2B on ebay, make sure its not a multi-input variety since those "overclock" but really just frame-skip and show 60Hz.
 

nintari

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
1,792
I thought there was supposed to be a native 120Hz in the works (it was quite a few pages back)

I ask as I love the 2560x1440 rez... but game motion leaves a lot to be desired... I get what I would describe as stutters of an image or trails when I turn around in games...kind of nauseating to me. I have stuck with the S23A750D for now but really want 27" and 2560x1440 :D
 

Sn0_Man

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
778
Monitor makers have no incentive to advance in technology when they can up the model number by 2-3 and sell pretty much the exact same monitor as 5+ years ago for the same price. It's kind of disgusting really.

Also, 1440p@120Hz is only supported by Kepler GPUs out of box, so no monitor makers are really inclined to make such things. And AMD/Nvidia don't have much incentive to support it because no monitors exist to use it. Plus its not a sexy resolution. "Supports 4K resolution" is sexy marketing so they are all over that even though there really isn't much in the way of 4K monitors out there, but there isn't a gimmick term for 1440p@120Hz so they don't bother :p

Don't forget, 120Hz is only "3D ready" (and 3D is pretty niche), while 1080p is "Full HD", 27" is "Massive, Immersive display" and TN is "Blazing fast response times, no blurring". No need to actually advance when you can just blab marketing words to make sales.

EDIT: since I noticed you posting on 3D elsewhere, these overclockable monitors don't like 3D from what I can tell. So I understand why you wanted native 120hz not overclocked. Nobody is working on it as far as we can tell (at least, at resolutions above 1080p).
 
Last edited:

nintari

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
1,792
I mainly wanted 120Hz to see if it provided better motion since I don't like this monitor in 60Hz mode for games (I got a Shimian non overclockable one). I don't know if it is the limitations of the IPS panel or it not being 120Hz, or what... but the effect I am seeing above made me not use it for games :( but I never thought about the card possibly not doing 120Hz at that rez.... I am running a 690 now, where before I was running CFX 6970s
 

Sn0_Man

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
778
I know what you are talking about but to be honest I think that what you are describing is ghosting and it is kinda a part of IPS technology, because the pixels just can't change as fast as TN ones can. Bumping up to 120Hz smooths it out a bit in my experience, but it really isn't the same as my 120Hz TN panel (1080p). I still game on the big guy, including CS:GO which is the twitchiest shooter I play. There just isn't enough reason not to game on the huge display, at least for me. Especially since I'm crummy at twitch shooting anyways :p

For games like Starcraft 2/ Dota 2 I don't notice any kind of blur, and the colours are much better so yeah.
 

amd4life

Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
533
can someone help me out

I want to run three of these, two pivoted portrait-one per side, and one standard landscape

so I am planning, three crossover 27" with the pivot stands

what video cards do I need to run? I do primarily video, web, and movie...not much gaming

I currently have a 460 SE (not that great I know lol), but do I just buy another one and SLI them, or do I need three separate DVI-D cards

thanks
 

Reimu

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2009
Messages
1,626
Running 3 of these will require some monster card at full rez and with the eye candy turn on. I think 3-way SLI GTX 670/680 is needed if you hardcore game.

You do need 2 cards I think. You can use a Displayport to DVI-D adapter to make it work. Not really sure if HDMI to DVI-D will actually work.
 

Tytalus

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
4,257
Running 3 of these will require some monster card at full rez and with the eye candy turn on. I think 3-way SLI GTX 670/680 is needed if you hardcore game.

You do need 2 cards I think. You can use a Displayport to DVI-D adapter to make it work. Not really sure if HDMI to DVI-D will actually work.

Why would it require this? I run two 27" 1440p monitors on a single GTX 680, and even that is overkill. My GTX 560 Ti 448 was doing just fine before I decided I wanted a 600-series card.
 

Sgraffite

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
4,407
Why would it require this? I run two 27" 1440p monitors on a single GTX 680, and even that is overkill. My GTX 560 Ti 448 was doing just fine before I decided I wanted a 600-series card.

Were you getting 90+ fps with that card at that rez?
 

Tytalus

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
4,257
Were you getting 90+ fps with that card at that rez?

...when did 90 FPS become some sort of standard to achieve? Getting over 30 FPS is more than acceptable in the games I play. I don't play BF3 and I haven't played Metro 2033, but in Counter-Strike, WoW, RIFT, Tribes: Ascend, SpyParty, Unstoppable Gorg, Super Monday Night Combat, Team Fortress 2 and others I easily surpassed 30 FPS, and in many cases had performance in excess of 60 FPS at 1440p.
 

silent-circuit

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 18, 2005
Messages
16,136
60FPS I can get behind so long as it's a minimum or near-minimum number. If 30FPS is acceptable... well, that's not very [H]ard to say the least, and can be downright painful at times.
 

Sgraffite

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
4,407
...when did 90 FPS become some sort of standard to achieve? Getting over 30 FPS is more than acceptable in the games I play. I don't play BF3 and I haven't played Metro 2033, but in Counter-Strike, WoW, RIFT, Tribes: Ascend, SpyParty, Unstoppable Gorg, Super Monday Night Combat, Team Fortress 2 and others I easily surpassed 30 FPS, and in many cases had performance in excess of 60 FPS at 1440p.

As soon as you have a monitor capable of 90hz+ refresh rate
 

Z06

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
1,546
I have had my Yamakasi since march. Still working flawlessly. :D I need two more... but my 460 would be a hurting unit!
 

amd4life

Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
533
Why would it require this? I run two 27" 1440p monitors on a single GTX 680, and even that is overkill. My GTX 560 Ti 448 was doing just fine before I decided I wanted a 600-series card.



okay , so a multu screen noob out

i dont game, i want three for multitasking and increased productivity.

can i just double up my 460se and use a diaplay port adapter or some othervway?
 

AliceCooper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,476
So tempting to buy one of the Yamakasi Catleap Q270 27" for $320 shipped especially since you can up the refresh rate. Need to get moar money :rolleyes:. How are your guyses experiences with these? I've been reading some posts, but how are they for FPS? I own an ASUS VH238H so I hope it looks just as good, but bigger :D.

Are there any issues with input lag on this specific model?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2012
Messages
38
The responses really want me to just buy one of these on ebay. First can someone help me out and explain the reason why Catleap screens don't support ATI 5970s? Second from what I understood so far not all Catleaps are made the same so it will be a lotto if you get a monitor that supports 120hz

Thanks in advance
 

one swell foop

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
1,091
If you want one the will do 120hz you have to go to overlord computer. You will not get one that will do that otherwise unless you buy a used one from someone who got in on these when they first came out.
 

SJetski71

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 6, 2002
Messages
15,542
One Fell Swoop is right, there is no more lottery, you can only buy 120hz models from one or two places. The Catleap supports all modern video cards, just certain models won't display the bios/post screen.


The Catleaps and Shimians have dropped in price since the last round of discussions in this thread, you can now get them for $285 shipped, or even $275-$280 shipped if the merchant accepts Best Offers.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2012
Messages
38
Thanks for the info. Think I'll get at 120hz TN panel for the time being and when mainstream 120hz IPS brand panels come about will do the jump.
If I have some spare cash left end of the month will just grab a cheap catleap of ebay :)
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,442
Up to 15 dead pixels, holy crap. I would pass, and if you can afford it go for a perfect pixel model. Most sellers sell them, meaning if you don't buy one the chances of getting a monitor with defective pixels is pretty high.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
763
Why pay for pixel perfect? From what I've heard, the sellers just send the monitor out anyway without careful inspection and refund the difference if it has dead pixels.

Plus, if a panel has no dead pixels, presumably it was binned lower for other reasons(like bad back-light bleeding).

I'm considering ordering this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CROSSOVER-2...961?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e72c45b69

Is astrobile a decent seller? It seems they have the most strict non-pixel perfect policy(max of 4 dead pixels, 1 in center, vs a max of 20 I see from other sellers) and they claim to inspect all of their monitors to ensure they meet these requirements.
 

Xonim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
1,035
Spent a good chunk of the day looking at these & researching these, I just can't bring myself to do it without some sort of warranty support / acceptable RMA process. $300-350 is a pretty big gamble considering it'll cost you $100+ to ship it back if there's problems. I can't bring myself to do it.

Put me in the "chicken" pile :(
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
763
Spent a good chunk of the day looking at these & researching these, I just can't bring myself to do it without some sort of warranty support / acceptable RMA process. $300-350 is a pretty big gamble considering it'll cost you $100+ to ship it back if there's problems. I can't bring myself to do it.

Put me in the "chicken" pile :(

Then buy the one from Microcenter for $399.


http://microcenter.com/product/384780/EQ276W_27_IPS_LED_Monitor

It's a B&M store in the US, if you get a dead pixel just exchange it.
 
Last edited:

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,442

That seems better. When I ordered my first Korean monitor it had an annoying stuck pixel and 2 dead pixels. then I ordered a perfect pixel monitor and it's prefect.

Why pay for pixel perfect? From what I've heard, the sellers just send the monitor out anyway without careful inspection and refund the difference if it has dead pixels.

Plus, if a panel has no dead pixels, presumably it was binned lower for other reasons(like bad back-light bleeding).

I'm considering ordering this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/CROSSOVER-2...961?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e72c45b69

Is astrobile a decent seller? It seems they have the most strict non-pixel perfect policy(max of 4 dead pixels, 1 in center, vs a max of 20 I see from other sellers) and they claim to inspect all of their monitors to ensure they meet these requirements.

That makes no sense from a business standpoint. If you can charge $80 more for a monitor with no dead pixels, you're going to pile all the perfect ones into this section. All the rest with defects will sell for normal price. They say themselves they test every monitor(perfect pixel and regular) to see if it meets the standard. I'm sure the sellers don't want to pay return shipping for something with defects.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
763
In addition to my previous question, what brands (if any) of these monitors use PWM for brightness control of the LED back-lights?
 

Vicinity

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Messages
3,198
That seems better. When I ordered my first Korean monitor it had an annoying stuck pixel and 2 dead pixels. then I ordered a perfect pixel monitor and it's prefect.



That makes no sense from a business standpoint. If you can charge $80 more for a monitor with no dead pixels, you're going to pile all the perfect ones into this section. All the rest with defects will sell for normal price. They say themselves they test every monitor(perfect pixel and regular) to see if it meets the standard. I'm sure the sellers don't want to pay return shipping for something with defects.

But they don't check them. They just offer a refund or return if it's bad enough. It's always a crap shoot, but if you pay more, it's a crap shoot that's tilted in your favor.
 

Z06

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
1,546
I finally found a dead pixel on my monitor. Its blue and can ONLY be seen when playing DayZ.


I'm honestly not affected by it at all. This monitor has been simply amazing for me. Love it.
 

flyingears

Weaksauce
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
104
When will the big companies finally start dropping their prices to meet these monitors price points?
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
763
When will the big companies finally start dropping their prices to meet these monitors price points?

Honestly, the demand isn't that high and (most) factories are tooled to mass produce 1080p TN panels, they have no incentive to re-tool. 1920x1200 faded to the wayside in the wave of 1080p full-hd buzzword hype, not because it's really more difficult to produce. They still exist, but are expensive because the market is relatively niche.

Big name manufacturers, between putting in more features(scalers, multi inputs, full OSD circuitry), and getting their profit margins in line, would drive the costs up to some midpoint between korean monitors and the real deal A+ panel models. I dunno about you, but I wouldn't be too interested in forking over that much.
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
So, which is best for money/quality/connectors?

Seems the Achievia Shimians(spelling?) are the cheapest but also lowest quality, Catleaps seem a bit better but more expensive. I kinda wanna get one for Christmas, not sure yet though.
 

MasonD

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 6, 2012
Messages
1,031
Are any of these monitors that people are linking to on the last couple pages as potentials for their purchase the ones that were running up to 120Hz?

I just wouldn't even consider any of these monitors without the 120Hz option myself since I already own a 3008WFP that is about as good as it gets for browsing the net. However 120Hz for gaming is the best current options for FPS gaming so just thought
I'd verify this.


Thanks
 

Krazypoloc

Gawd
Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Messages
759
Spent a good chunk of the day looking at these & researching these, I just can't bring myself to do it without some sort of warranty support / acceptable RMA process. $300-350 is a pretty big gamble considering it'll cost you $100+ to ship it back if there's problems. I can't bring myself to do it.

Put me in the "chicken" pile :(

Square Trade. Its $50 and if the monitor has any issues they will ship you a box with prepaid shipping and you send them the monitor - if they can't fix it they will send you a new one or reimburse you.
 
Top