2600K can't move past 4.5G, high temps?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by alkemyst, Jul 31, 2018.

  1. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    I have a Thermalright 120 Ultra with a pair of Gentle Typhoon D1225C12B5AP-15 120mm (Nidec D1225C12B5AP-53) (58.3 cfm / 28 dBA / 1850 rpm) in Push/Pull. For intake I have a 140mm Noctua NF-A14 FLX (1200 rpm, 19.2 dB/A, 68.0 cfm) and exhaust my Corsair CMPSU-750HX PSU and a Noctua NF-A8 PWM (2200 rpm, 17.7 dB/A, 32.68 cfm). I imagine the 750HX is about 40-50cfm.

    My home is in S. Florida and my room temp is probably 78F usually. My baseline temps are 35C-40C for the CPU. Under Prime95 it will hit 98C on two of the cores and one stays as cool as 90C with the other around 94C.

    Trying to go past 4.5G will give Prime errors (+.005 volt offset and +.004 volt Turbo), I have not tried to up voltage further due to the temps.

    Despite the temps 4.5G was 24+ hours stable under Prime95 with only a couple throttles to 4.3G which I can accept.

    However is there something wrong/something to correct? I know I could use a better case, but I will soon inherit a HAF 932 and a H100i as well (I had built my dad a 1200W 3770K 32GB rig a couple years ago and he just passed away :( ) so I don't want to invest in more gear I won't need.

    I thought the TRUE would give better temps.

    My full rig specs are at: http://30moons.com/pc_chiapet.php

    Thanks
    Å
     
  2. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    670
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Sorry to hear about your father. I think you won't realize much to gain after 4.5Ghz on SB anyway. The actual improvement in speed would be negligible. Also, 98C is too hot. 78F ambient room is a little warm but it sounds like your case ambient temps are much warmer. Also, have you double checked your TIM and application?
     
    Armenius likes this.
  3. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    I am using MX4 and I rechecked and it looked fine and my mounting of my TRUE seems solid. I am not sure if possibly it's misreporting temps or maybe something else. Day to day temps outside PRIME95 max out at around 60C.

    I agree on not moving past 4.5G, even if I could get 5G out of this chip...the returns are minor for the added stress and risk of BSOD's.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2018
  4. Dougie

    Dougie Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Whats your actual voltage at load as reported by CPU-z? Temps seem high, I remember getting 4.6 on my Sandy with a 212, or a very similar cooler, maxing temps out in the 80s. Some boards will overvolt your CPU by insane amounts if you leave some voltages on auto.
     
  5. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    My HWMonitor screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Furious_Styles

    Furious_Styles Gawd

    Messages:
    882
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Your offsets seems insanely low for those high voltages. With SB/Ivy I had to have +.005 and +.1XX turbo to get to 1.40V.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  7. NoOther

    NoOther [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,096
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Not all chips are alike, some will not be able to overclock as much, but I would think you could at least get to 4.7/4.8 with a 2600k. I would say double check your mounting and TIM, make sure you aren't using too much or too little, but it seems you did that. Also verify your mounting block is using the maximum surface area and is not too convex/concave. If I remember correctly, when I was using a TRUE, it had a slightly curved base and I did a little lapping on it to get a more even smooth surface.

    After that, check the flow in your case, you want to make sure you are exhausting enough heat/air compared to what you are pulling in. It seems like you have a lot of air being pulled in, but not enough being pulled out of the case.

    The highest I think I achieved on my SB was 4.9 on water. It was not particularly fully stable at that speed either. Right now I do have it on 4.6 stable at max 60c temps.
     
  8. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Somehow "Level 1" calibration got ticked on. I am probably over-volting. I am testing with Level 3 and temps are much much better. Testing stability now at different speeds.
     
  9. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    434
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    To get 5.0 I had to push 1.42v on mine, I dropped it to 1.38v for 4.8 as it was just too much. I believe they’re “rated” for up to 1.52v if I remember intels documentation correctly, but I wouldnt go over 1.5. (I had a very good custom loop wc though so it never went above 60c)

    Many recommend 1.35 or less for 24/7.

    Edit: Found the old info: Intel's specification voltage range rate the 2500k/2600k from 0.5v-1.52v *see below source*
    Page 80 7.10.1
    Table 7-5

    https://www.intel.com/content/dam/w...eets/2nd-gen-core-desktop-vol-1-datasheet.pdf
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
    FlawleZ likes this.
  10. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,182
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I was running my 2500K at 1.42V water cooled to get 4.6GHz, keeping temps in the low 60s.
    After a bios update that enabled LLC setup it was left on max by accident and pumped around 1.5V into it.
    I was prime testing and after it would no longer do 4.6GHz.
    It degraded over the next couple of years until it couldnt run faster than 4.3GHz.
    It now runs in my Dads machine on air cooling at 4.1GHz.
    fyi
     
  11. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    670
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Is there an equivalent PDF for SB-E?
     
  12. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    4.7 wouldn't go without BSOD's. I tried upping turbo boost quite a bit, but it's not worth it IMHO. My temps under Prime95 at 4.5GHz are nice (my case temp is 35C at idle in this office), I don't get past low 80's
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Spartacus09

    Spartacus09 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    434
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    There should be, use the document title to correspond and google search.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
  14. slunge

    slunge Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    I had a 2500k on a TRUE 120 - and I could never get that beyond 4.5 @ 1.4v ish - that said my temps topped out at like 75 degrees.
    Now running 2700k @ 4.7 / 1.38V for 24/7 usage, but that is on a Arctic Freezer 240 AIO, never really breaks 65 degrees now.
     
  15. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    I debated whether to try something like a Noctua U14s to see if I can get a bit higher, but even if I could get 5G...I don't think it'd be worth it. I have 4.5G stable so I am happy until my next upgrade.
     
  16. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,875
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    4.5 is usually the sweet spot for most 2600Ks. Diminishing returns are in play after that.

    You do have all the realtime OS dynamics turned off right? No need for turbo or bouncy voltages/multis when pushing the OC. Lock everything in, RAM timings and all. Disable all the garbage, Virtualization, power managment and everything, you want all cores locked in from 0%-100% load.
     
  17. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    I am not that gung-ho on just OC. I need some of the extras and want the others (I need virtualization and I want the power savings for throttling).
     
  18. psy81

    psy81 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    464
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    My 6700K won't overclock anymore either. Was steady @ 4.6GHz for a year but became unstable, so added more voltage for stability until it got the point where it wasn't even worth it anymore. Running too hot for not much gain. Sadly it runs at stock now. Meanwhile my AMD system has been steady overclocked for 5-6 years.
     
  19. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Gawd

    Messages:
    670
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    It is interesting how theres evidence of degradation in some chips while others there is not in seemingly the same environments and usage. I keep my 3970X @ 4.4Ghz as I found it was the best blend of speed and temps/power. It will do 4.7Ghz and I've benched it at that but it just runs way too hot.

    Sitting right next to that system I have a Phenom II 980 BE that's been at 4.4Ghz rock solid for over 6 years.
     
  20. horrorshow

    horrorshow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,240
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    I doubt anything over 4.4 wouldn't yeild noticeable improvements on SB anyways....
     
  21. alkemyst

    alkemyst Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    I am happy with 4.5G right now, my wife's laptop has a 8700K in it and I can see on paper how that would be a better chip than my 2600K, but I really don't do things where it'd excel right now.
     
  22. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,300
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    SB it's so weak right now that it needs between 4.8 and 5 ghz to be able to properly handle 60fps minimums.. and that's even for 4c/8t yes we are right now in a time where older chips are needing a lot of speed to keep up with modern games.. or they become a stutter mess specially at 1080P. I remember a time when my 3770k at 4.8ghz bottlenecked severely my old 980ti on some high profile games heavy dependant on CPU it was even unable to achieve constant 60FPS minimums. .. so yes, there's a noticeable difference between 4.4ghz and 4.8ghz+ on older chips.
     
  23. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,875
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Depends entirely on the game, GPU, settings, and resolution.
     
  24. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,300
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    it will happen even on some ganes at 1440P... watch dogs 2, hitman absolution, crysis 3, shadow of mordor, shadow of war, mass effect andromeda, GTA V, dragon age inquisition, Battlefield Tittles (from 3 onwards), fallout 4, rise of the tomb raider, far cry 4, KCD, should I continue? with those tittles I have first hand experience with a large variety of systems and with anything older than haswell 4c/8t haswell at 4.5ghz will have serious issues even at 2560x1440 to sustain 60FPS, way worse at 1080P you may have acceptable "average" but average FPS means shit really, minimums it's what matter for a smooth gameplay and at less than 4.6ghz they fail to offer that experience.
     
  25. vick1000

    vick1000 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,875
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Haswell is hardly better than Sandy Bridge clock for clock with games, and they both clock about the same on quality setups. The issue is not IF you can getter higher framrate, but rather IF the frames you are getting is sufficient for your personal preferences. I get 60fps constant on lots of DX9/10/11 titles with my setup, vsync enabled, sacrificing only AA on most, at 1080p.
     
  26. Organik

    Organik n00bie

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    The bridge is sandy, therefore it will collapse. That Sandy chip is special,, 8 threads built in GPU which Ive seen with my own eyes what it can do while you still use your video card and what not. He has never complianed about speed and its about a 8 year old system. Just put in SSDs and recently a 1060 6GB for his video editing and what not. This guy does soo much behind the pc,, quicken of course,, but like these wierd programs,, visual program,, adobe ,, premiere Vegas,